1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Unsolved question list

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Arkhos94, Feb 4, 2019.

  1. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    913
    The idea here is to put all subject that are in need of CB weighting in because rules are “grey” providing CB with a description of the problem and the possible options defend by the community. This way CB just has to choose between options to put it in the FAQ (and the subject does not go down the topic list to come back a few month latter)

    The idea here is not to answer this question (they have been debated enough as it is) so please do not rediscuss each rules topic here. I will link the original topic if you want to continue the debate.

    I put here the ones I remembered. If you find one I missed, please post it here and I will edit the original post. If possible, follow the same “template” as the one I use : link to the original topic, description of the problem then possible options (as impartially as I could).

    Also, please tell me if you think I should correct one of the description

    (click on spoiler to see problem description, original topic link and a summary of the main possible answers)

    Smoke ARO against impact template weapon
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/using-smoke-to-protect-against-blast-damage.26006/

    Situation : an hardcase is active and shoot an antipode K9 with a shotgun. The Devil Dog is hit by the shotgun template. Devil Dog wants to use his smoke grenade to protect himself from the template. There is no LoF between harcase and Devil Dog, only between hardcase and Antipode.

    Answer :
    1 : Devil Dog can use his smoke grenade to “special dodge” and save his ass if he block the LoF between Hardcase and Antipode

    2 : Devil Dog cannot use his smoke grenade to “special dodge” and save his ass because there is no LoF between Hardcase and Devil Dog in need of blocking

    Spearhead Antipode in CC
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/antipodes-suprise-attack.26741/

    Situation : an antipode pack move in CC with a Marut. All 3 antipodes are engaged. Antipode A is spearhead. Marut declare CC ARO against antipode B. Antipode declare CC attack as a second action, which one can do it ?

    Answer :
    1 : Only Antipode A can roll CC because he is the spearhead. There is two “unopposed” CC roll (one for the Marut, one with 3 dice for the Antipodes)

    2 : Anyone of the Antipode can roll CC. Antipode B choose to do it ending up in an opposed roll between Antipode and Marut

    Prone state and Cautious Move (and movement skills other than move)
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/cancelling-of-prone-state-by-cautious-move.26545/
    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/can-you-go-prone-during-a-dodge-or-cautious-move.33784/

    Situation : trooper A is prone and declare a cautious move. Can he cancel prone as part of his cautious move ?
    (Same question can apply to non-move movement skill such as jump or climb)

    Answer :
    1 – Yes he can. A trooper can change to or from the Prone state whenever declaring a skill or ARO that uses the General Movement Rules. (old rulling in need of confirmation by CB)

    2 – No he can’t, only the short skill move allows to go prone or to get up and cancel prone

    Same question regarding a trooper who wants to go prone.

    Dodge allows to use the move skill so there are no doubt dodge allow to go prone/cancel prone/ Still a global answer including prone would be appreciated

    Repeaters and ZOC delay (sixth sense)
    Original Topic: https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/repeaters-vs-stealth.22609/

    Situation: Kerr-Nau is in a 5 man fireteam granting him Sixth Sense lvl 2. An enemy hacker move in one of Kerr-Nau repeater zone of control. Can Kerr-Nau use Sixth-Sense lvl 1 to delay is ARO ?

    Answer:
    1) Yes, repeaters zone of control are treated by hacker "as if it was their own”. Hacker with sixth sense lvl 1 and above can delay in their hacking area (this answer create a problem with reset declaration that also need answer if 1) is right, see topic)

    2) No, a repeater only allows you to use hacking program in their zone of control

    Gut rolls, falling prone and facing / Gut rolls, religious troop and facing
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/guts-rule-discrepancy-spanish-v-english.26397/#post-198577
    (follow up of @HellLois answer)
    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/guts-roll-prone-and-change-facing.2021/page-2


    Situation 1 : a trooper fall prone after failing his guts roll, is he allowed to change facing ? Same situation for a religious trooper who pass his guts roll and fall prone.
    Answer :
    1 : Yes
    2 : No

    Situation 2 : same question for a religious trooper : a religious trooper is shoot from his rear arc. He survives and fails is WIP roll to take cover. Is he allowed to change facing ? Same situation for a non-religious trooper who survives and pass his guts roll and choose not to move.
    Answer :
    1 : Yes
    2 : No

    CC and Sixth sense (when attacked from the back)
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/sixth-sense-clarifications.27078/page-4#post-210984


    Situation : Ajax is moving out of a Chasseur line of Fire and reach base to base with him. the chasseur (sixth sense lvl 1) delays their ARO. Ajax then declares CC Attack as his second short skill. Can the chasseur declare BS Shoot as their ARO?.

    Answer :
    1 : Yes. SSL1 let's your respond to attacks regardless of facing. The attacker counts as attacking for the entire order so the defender can ARO at a point prior to the attacker reaching B2B and so BS Attack would be valid.

    2 : No. SSL1 let's you respond to attacks regardless of facing, however the attacker only counts as attacking once they reach B2B and so BS Attack would not be valid at that time.

    Is Smoke BS attack an attack ? (and follow up consequences)
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/impetues-order-and-smoke.26383/

    Subject : in a previous discussion (https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/hvt-and-smoke.24760/#post-145549) we were told Smoke BS attack doesn't have the attack label (but no CB validation) so question : A) Does the smoke ammo remove "attack" label from the skill ? B) Is smoke grenade toss allowed if trooper is in Stunned state ? C) Is smoke grenade toss allowed during Impetues order ?

    Immobilized and ARO only skills
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/immobilized-and-change-facing-what-is-a-short-skill.26997/

    Subject : Change facing, counterstrike and Hack Transport Aircraft only have the ARO label, not the short skills label. Imm-1 prevent to declare long skills and limit short skills to reset/regeneration/sensor/automedikit. Can these ARO only skills be used while under the Imm-1 status ?

    Impetuous question (who is the closest target, movement question)
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/impetuous-move-direction-questions.27092/
    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/dismounting-during-impetuous-order.25688/

    During an Impetuous Order;
    Q1: Can an Impetuous Trooper choose to move towards a target that is equal amount of orders, but further away?
    Q2: Can an impetuous Trooper choose to move towards a target with a sub-optimal expenditure of orders (dismount from bike)?
    Q3: Can an Impetuous Trooper freely choose which type of movement order from the list of legal orders e.g. in order to avoid having to take fall damage?

    Isolated Antipode and G:Sync
    Original topic for Antipode : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/cancelling-retreat-for-antipodes-how-many-tokens.23735/
    Original topic for G:Sync : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/g_synchronised-isolate.26150/#post-187451

    Situation : One Antipode from a pack of three get isolated. What happens if you activate the pack:
    1. The Antipode that's Isolated won't even be activated (unless you're using their own Irregular order)
    2. The Antipode that's Isolated will activate but be forced to Idle (unless irregular order).
    3. As long as at least one Antipode is not Isolated, the pack can receive orders and work as usual.

    An Auxilia Auxbot is isolated. What happens if you activate the auxilia ? (same answers as above)

    LoF and order timing (with camo revealing itself in ARO)
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/lof-and-order-timing.27265/#post-215054

    Situation : A trooper walks to gain LoF to a large camouflage token, such as a Sphinx and an S2 trooper/target behind it (in this case it was an Ímetron). In ARO, the Sphinx reveals, firing a weapon at the active trooper. Can the active trooper target the Ímetron with an attack, if at no point during its movement it has vision to the position of the Ímetron that isn't blocked by the Sphinx's current position?
    1. Yes, the trooper had LoF on the Imetron at one point of the order so he can target it
    2. No, the sphinx is considered revealed during the whole order, blocking LoF on the Imetron

    Hack Transport Aircraft and ARO choice for hacker vs AD
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/explode-lx-timing.26092/ (topic related to ARO timing vs AD Combat Jump)

    Situation : Diomedes use AIRBORNE DEPLOYMENT LEVEL 4. COMBAT JUMP to land near an interventor. The interventor can use Hack Transport Aircraft to ARO. Can he forego Hack Transport Aircraft to use another ARO once Diomedes final position is determined ?

    1. No. The following sequence must be applied so the hacker who forgo the use of Hack Transport Aircraft cannot AOR
    a.Declare AD: Combat Jump and the desired location.
    b.'First' ARO step, Hackers that have the right Program can declare Hack Transport Aircraft.
    c.Make the PH Roll for Combat Jump (as a Face to Face if there are any Hack Transport Aircraft AROs).
    d.Determine actual landing position of the AD trooper, and place the template for Explode X.
    e.'Second' ARO step, AROs are now generated for everyone else, based on the trooper's actual landing location.​
    2. Yes

    Assault and Surprise Attack
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/pavel-assault-natural-born-warrior-surprise-attack.27659/

    Situation : Pavel MacMannus is camouflaged. He is performing the assault skill. Does he benefit from the surprise attack and inflict -6 to his opponent ?

    Answer :
    1 : Yes. Pavel is camouflaged at the start of his order and Surprise Attack is a type of CC Attack and so can be performed as part of an Assault.

    2 : No. Surprise Attack lacka the CC attack label and can't be performed as part of an Assault.

    "Hackable" trait, repeaters, and holoprojector
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/hackable-trait-repeaters-and-holoprojector.28135/
    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/hacking-device-holoprojector-l1-hackable-characteristic.1944/

    Situation : A hacker disguised using Holoprojector 1 as a non-hacker (and therefore who doesn't have the hackable trait on their true or apparent profiles) moves into an enemy repeater zone in their active turn. Am I required to inform my opponent of anything?

    Answer :
    1 : No. I have no obligation to reveal anything.

    2 : No. Only the hackable trait must be revealed when an holo 1 trooper enter an enemy hacking zone and hacker are

    3 : No. Both the hackable trait and the program that can affect the target must be revealed when an holo 1 trooper enter an enemy hacking zone

    Follow up : In the above situation, assuming that you don't have to reveal anything, since the reactive player doesn't think they have any AROs available, if they don't take any after the first short skill where the enemy moved into their repeater area, are they unable to respond if the hidden hacker declares a hacking program against them?

    Answer :

    1 : Yes, they already lost their chance to ARO

    2 : No, they can no ARO as usual

    Surprise shot + Triangulated Fire
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/surprise-shot-triangulated-fire.25564/

    Situation : A zulu-cobra sensor in camouflaged state declare triangulated fire to shoot an enemy trooper. Does he benefit from the surprise shot effect ?

    Answer :
    Surprise Shot is a short skill and Triangulated Fire is a long skill who has as a part of the skill an Attack so :
    1 : Yes.

    2 : No.

    When to choose Parachutist trooper segment during deployement ?
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threa...the-last-miniature-for-your-deployment.28759/

    Question : Can you choose the segment that Parachutist later use to deploy during your 'last figure' step? Even if your last figure is not a Parachutist?

    Answer :
    A. Yes. The last figure step is part of the deployment phase so it is valid to wait until this step to make your decision
    B. No. You must write down which segment your Parachutists will deploy via unless your last figure is a Parachutist. If your last figure is a Parachutist you may make this decision during the last figure step.
    C. No. You must write down which segment your Parachutists will deploy via unless your last figure is the only Parachutist in your list. If your last figure is your only Parachutist you may make this decision during the last figure step. If you have other Parachutists in your list you must make this decision during the main deployment step.
    D. NO, you must set landing segment for ALL of you parachutist during your main deployment step, despite the number of your parachutist in the list or holding some of them in reserve.

    AI Beacon during deployement
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/equipment-vs-troopers-and-states.28165/

    Situation : Do AI Beacons count as troopers for deployment, except when noted otherwise? Do scenario deployment restrictions that indicate "troopers" apply to them (as per the definition of deployable equipment) ?

    Answer :
    1 : Yes.

    2 : No.

    Equipment vs. States
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/equipment-vs-troopers-and-states.28165/

    Situation : When does deployable equipment count as a trooper for the purposes of States? The examples indicate that AI Beacons can be isolated, and Perimeter weapons can be Disconnected, as per their own rules text.

    Answer :

    Total immunity and fire sensitive equipment
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/nanoscreen-total-immunity-and-fire-ammunition.28874/

    Situation : A trooper with total immunity and a fire sensitive equipement (example : Rasails with Symbiomates) is hit by a weapon with fire amunition (example : heavy rocket launcher). Does the total immunity prevent the fire sensitive equipement from getting burnt ?

    Answer :
    1: No, because Fire is treated as Normal ammo by any model with Total Immunity.
    2: Yes Burnt describes that if a trooper 'receives a hit' fromFire ammunition, their Fire-Sensitive equipment enters the Burnt state regardless of the outcome of ARM roll. Note that Burnt state does not reference being affected by the ammunition, it refers to receiving a hit.

    Non-Lethal Ammo vs Symbiomate
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/flash-pulse-knock-off-symbiomates.28254/

    Situation : A trooper with a symbiomate is hit by a non lethal ammo weapon that forces an ARM or BTS Roll (flash pulse). Is the symbiomate expanded by this hit ?

    Answer :
    1: No, because total immunity prevent the ARM/BTS roll so the symbiomate is not expanded
    2: Yes, total immunity is granted per use of the symbiomate so the symbiomate is expanded

    Jammer against a target in CC (+follow up question regarding visual mod)
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/jammer-into-cc.30287/

    Situation : A viscious Heckler try to use his jammer to hit Achilles. Achilles is currently engaged with a morlock.

    Does the heckler's jammer ignore the -6 mod for BS attack into CC ?

    Answer :
    1: Yes. The -6 mod for BS attack into CC is a visual mod so the jammer ignore it
    2: No. The trait that seems to give Jammers the ability to ignore mods is 'No LOF'. Since there's nothing in either the Jammer or BS Attack into Close Combat rules that indicates LOF is a factor in why the MOD is applied ergo it LOF is not a factor and the MOD should be applied as normal.

    Follow up question : can we have a more detailed explaination of what is a "visual mod" and how "No LOF" weapon are allowed to ignored them

    Berserk vs Martial Art and I-Khol
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/berserk-vs-i-kohl-example-contradicts-rules.32034/

    Situation : A Makhaul (Martial Art lvl 2, I-khol lvl 1) is fighting an highlander (Berserk) in CC. The Makhul declare the use of MA lvl 1 and I-khol lvl 1, the highlander declare the use of Berserk

    What is the final modifier to the highlander CC roll ?

    Answer :
    1: +6, Opponents MODs for CC Special Skills explicitly apply to Face to Face Rolls. Nothing in either MA or I-Khol main rules text says otherwise.
    2: +3, Opponents MODs for CC Special Skills explicitly apply to Face to Face Rolls. Nothing in MA main rules text says otherwise but I-khol example says it works on berserk. (mainstream understanding)
    3: 0, Opponents MODs for CC Special Skills explicitly apply to Face to Face Rolls. I-khol example says it works on berserk. MA and I-khol rules are written in a similar way so should work the same way.

    Lieutenant lvl 2 and Chain of Command/Executive order
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/executive-order-and-lieutenant-level-2.26179/

    Question :
    Can a trooper with Executive Order or Chain-of-command spend Lieutenant special orders generated by a different Lieutenant? How does this interact with Lieutenant 2?

    a) Yes. They can use both Lieutenant special orders, provided the original Lieutenant Level 2 hasn't expended them already that turn.
    b) No. They can't use any Lieutenent special orders until they generate their own.
    c) Yes. However, troopers with Executive Order and Chain-of-Command become Lieutenant Level 1s and may only spend a single Lieutenent Special Order per turn.
    d) No. Rather a trooper with Executive Order or Chain-of-command has their own LT special order, so that trooper will get a brand new one to spend on assuming the role of Lieutenant.

    Does your opponent know which model/group an Irregular order belongs to (when the model come from a camoed trooper) ?
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threa...ch-model-an-irregular-order-belongs-to.33668/

    Question :Player A libertos is in camouflaged state. The libertos irregular order has not been used yet. Does player B know which group the libertos order belong to ?

    Answer :
    a) No, irregular orders are not part of the order pool (and so not identified as part of a group) and the camo marker irregular status is private. As long as the order is not spent, player B does not know which trooper and which group it belongs too
    b) Yes, the 'status' part of "The status and expenditure of Irregular Orders is Open Information. Players must place their Irregular Order Markers where all players can see them." would include Combat Groups. Although this would mean that the Lieutenant Order's Combat Group is also known, as it uses identical wording. (thanks @ijw)

    Stratocloud : can it be reactivated once cancelled ?
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/stratuscloud-clarification-question.33675/

    Question :
    The last cancelation clause of Stratuscloud (Once this state is cancelled….) is creating doubts about the RAI of this state and the equipment that trigger it. So, how is this equipment and state intended to work:

    State:
    a) Once the state is cancelled in one of your models, you cannot activate it in any of the other models.
    b) Once the state is cancelled in one of your models, you cannot activate it that same model.
    c) You can activate the state any number of times.

    Equipment:
    d) As it has the disposable trait you can reload and use it any number of times. But if a or b are true then the equipment won't activate the state.
    e) As it has the disposable trait you can reload it and it will override the cancelation clause, letting you activate the state.
    e) The cancelation clause of Stratuscloud prevents you to reload the equipment.

    Coordinated BS attack including a deployable weapon
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threa...ith-increased-burst-coordinated-orders.33866/

    4 troopers are coordinating a BS attack on Joan of Arc. Trooper A of them is using a BS weapon that can deploy a deployable equipment (pitcher, drop bear, mine dispenser). Trooper A pass his BS attack roll.

    Question A : Joan of Arc is killed by trooper B, C and D attacks, is the deployable equipment placed in her previous location ?

    Answer :
    A1 : Yes, the deployable equipement is placed at the end of the order and Joan is not here at the end of the order
    A2 : No, order expenditure sequence says step 8 "Effect" apply the effect of the roll (placing deployable) before the ARM roll. So Joan is still alive when the deployable should be placed, blocking its deployement

    Question B : Joan survive but choose to fail her gut roll and flee 5cm away. Is the deployable equipment placed in her previous location ?

    Answer
    B1 : Yes, the deployable equipement is placed at the end of the order and Joan is not here at the end of the order
    B2 : No, order expenditure sequence says step 8 "Effect" apply the effect of the roll (placing deployable). Joan fleeing happen at step 9. So Joan is still here when the deployable should be placed, blocking its deployement

    Mine AROs Overlapping with Movement Declarations
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threa...with-movement-declarations.25662/#post-171879 (solved question by helllois)
    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threa...ith-increased-burst-coordinated-orders.33866/ (new question : what happen if the "blocking" trooper die/move)

    A Krakot is declaring move in view of a sin eater and a zero. The zero is declaring "laying a mine" as his ARO. The sin eater is declaring BS attack. The Krakot is declaring move as his ssecond short skill and end up 0.0001 mm away from the zero base, at the spot where the mine should have been layed.

    Based on the solved question by @HellLois, the mine cannot be placed because the Krakot is in its location.

    Question A : The Krakot is killed by the Sin Eater BS attack ARO. Is the mine placed in his previous location ?

    Answer :
    A1 : Yes, the deployable equipement is placed at the end of the order and The krakot is not here at the end of the order
    A2 : No, order expenditure sequence says step 8 "Effect" apply the effect of the skill (placing mine) before the ARM roll. So the krakot is still alive when the mine should be placed, blocking its deployement

    Question B : The Krakot survive but fail his gut roll and flee 5cm away. Is the mine placed in hisprevious location ?

    Answer
    B1 : Yes, the deployable equipement is placed at the end of the order and The krakot is not here at the end of the order
    B2 : No, order expenditure sequence says step 8 "Effect" apply the effect of the skill (placing mine). The krakot fleeing happen at step 9. So the krakot is still here when the mine should be placed, blocking its deployement
     
    #1 Arkhos94, Feb 4, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2019
    Ogid, Azuset, Jonno and 19 others like this.
  2. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    913
    Solved or Deleted

    Symbiomate and Guts roll (Solved by new rule with Daedalus Fall, change on Symbiomate rules make the question irrelevant)
    Original Topic: https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/do-symbiomates-prevent-guts-completely.568/

    A consensus seems to have been reached here but the question is recurring so official answer + putting it in solved question and/or FAQ would be nice

    Situation: A tohaa use his Symbiomate to avoid taking damage. Is he allowed to perform a guts roll (should he want to)

    Answer:
    1) No, using Symbiomate force you to avoid guts roll (the consensus)

    2) Yes, avoiding the guts roll is optional. It works like courage.

    Stealth and Hacking ARO(solved by FAQ 1.6)
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/stealth-on-stealth-aro-option.25279
    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threa...h-stealth-hacker-combo.3163/page-2#post-42588
    Old forum thread : http://infinitytheforums.com/forum/topic/43541-non-leader-fireteam-members-and-stealth/ (old forum being closed you can use google cache : http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:CQzDQucDHLkJ:infinitytheforums.com/forum/topic/43541-non-leader-fireteam-members-and-stealth/+&cd=1&hl=fr&ct=clnk&gl=fr)

    Situation : a Santiago KHD and his paramedic order sergeant buddy are in a fireteam. Both enter a Naga KHD zone of control (but out of his line of sight). The Santiago use stealth and doesn’t generate an ARO. The order sergeant generate a ZoC ARO. Can the Naga hack the Santiago ?

    Answer :
    1 : An ARO can only be used against the one who generated it, so the Naga is limited to ZoC ARO (reset or change facing)

    2 : Once an ARO is generated, it can be used agains any active trooper. The Naga can hack the Santiago

    FAQ answer : If two or more troops, one with Stealth and the other without Stealth, were activated simultaneously within ZC and outside LoF of an enemy, troops without Stealth would granted to the enemy an ARO. Could the ARO be declared against the troops with Stealth?
    No, you can only ARO against the troop without Stealth. This does not prevent you from declaring Change Facing or Reset.

    If two or more hackable troops, one with Stealth and the other without Stealth, were activated simultaneously within Hacking Area, could I declare Hacking against the troops with Stealth?
    No, you can only ARO against the troop without Stealth. This does not prevent you from declaring Change Facing or Reset.

    Discover + Discover vs Imp marker (solved by FAQ 1.6, discover + discover on 1 target now forbidden)
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/discover-discover.26926/
    (or the last topic as the discussion has been going for a long time)

    Situation : a line kazak is trying to discover an Imp 1 marker. His first action is discover. The marker doesn’t ARO. The line kazak second action is also discover. The roll are made, one is a fail and one his a success. The Imp-1 marker is replaced by an Imp-2 marker. On his next order, can the line kazak try do discover the Imp-2 marker

    Answer :
    1 : the imp-2 marker is still the same impersonator so he cannot discover again as he has failed one discover roll

    2 : the imp-2 marker is a different marker than the imp-1 marker so he can discover again despite having failed one discover

    FAQ answer : Can I declare two Discover skill against same marker in one order?No

    Tactical awareness/NCO + fireteam interaction (solved by FAQ 1.6)
    Original Topic: https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/tactical-awareness-and-fireteam-leader.26085/

    Situation: Yan Huo, Zuyong Haris (TacSense), Pangguling link.
    The YanHuo is the leader, having spent some orders to shoot enemy troops. I decide i wish to reposition the link for better aro next turn.
    Can I activate TacSense, making the Zuyong the leader, to move the link using no orders from the pool?

    Answer:
    1) No, since the fireteam leader is designated after order expenditure you'd need to spend an order on the zuyong haris to make him the fireteam leader before you're allowed to use his tactical awareness order.

    2) Yes, tactical awareness only requires the model with this skill to be the fireteam leader when using his tactical awareness order.

    FAQ answer : How do you spend Orders on a Fireteam when using Tactical Awareness or NCO?
    The Tactical Awareness or NCO trooper does not need to be the Team Leader when spending the Order on the Fireteam, but they must be nominated as the Team Leader when declaring the first Skill of the Order

    CC in a smoke and Sixth sense (solved by FAQ 1.6)
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/smoke-and-sixth-sense.23551/ (page 4-6)


    Situation : A reactive chasseur (sixth sense lvl 1) is in a zero visibility zone caused by smoke. The active turn player spends an order to activate a trooper with move as the first short skill and move into base to base with the chasseur. The chasseur delays their ARO. The active player then declares CC Attack as their second short skill. Can the chasseur declare BS Shoot as their ARO?.

    Answer :
    1 : Yes, because sixth sense allow the chasseur to answer an attack (including CC attack) without needing LoF

    2 : No, he is engaged when he is allowed to ARO and is only allowed CC attack/dodge

    FAQ answer : A reactive trooper with Sixth Sense is inside Zero Visibility Zone. The active trooper moves into base contact with their first Short Skill and then declares a CC Attack. Can the reactive trooper declare a BS Attack?
    No. The active trooper is only visible when they are in base contact. As BS Attacks cannot be declared while in base contact, the trooper with Sixth Sense cannot declare a BS Attack.


    Critical and impact template (solved by FAQ 1.6)
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/impact-template-issues.25259/page-4
    More recently : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/shotgun-templates-and-f2f-rolls.26995/#post-208606
    Old forum post (using google cache) : http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:kmaT15m7q7IJ:infinitytheforums.com/forum/topic/31275-solved-impact-templates-other-troopers-and-the-effects-of-the-critical/+&cd=1&hl=fr&ct=clnk&gl=fr

    Situation 1 : a correguidor Bandit is shooting with his shotgun. The distance is 25cm. His main target is a Sukeul, his secondary target is an Ectros with a symbiomate. Both the Sukeul and the Ectros dodges.
    The bandit rolls a 18 (miss) and a 9 (which is a critical). The Sukeul rolls a 6, the Ectros rolls a 10.
    The Sukeul, being the main target take automatic damages. What happen to the Ectros ?

    Answer :
    1 : Critical count only as critical for the main target : the Ectros dodge of 10 beat the bandit shot of 9 so the Ectros is undamaged.
    2 : Critical is separated in 2 parts : it's a critical only for the main target for damages but count as a critical to hit (old rulling from the old forum) for everyone under the template.
    The Ectros dodge of 10 doesn’t beat the bandit shot of 9 so the Ectros take damage and need to roll his armor :
    2a : He can use his symbiomate and avoid rolling his armor
    2b : He can’t use his symbiomate (because critical) and so must roll his armor

    FAQ answer : What happens when a troop rolls a Critical with a Template Weapon that affects more than one troop?
    The main target of the attack suffers the Critical effects of the Special Ammunition, weapon, or rule, for example Normal Ammunition will cause the target to lose one Wound/Structure, bypassing the ARM or BTS Roll.The Roll will not count as a Critical against the other troops, instead counting as a success that can be beaten by higher Rolls.

    Data scan and face to face ARO (solved by FAQ 1.6)
    Original topic : https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/data-scan-aro.27434/

    Situation : A naga killer hacker is both in LoF and Zone of Control of a zero killer hacker. The naga first action is move. The zero then declare his ARO. Then the naga try to do the data scan ARO.

    If the Zero ARO is an hacking attack or a BS attack, is the roll a face to face or not ?

    1. No. Data Scan for 2 possible reason :
    - description of data scan only mention reset as a possible ARO
    - data scan doesn't affect the zero (as per face to face rules http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Face_to_Face_Rolls) so both roll are unopposed
    2. Yes. Data Scan target the zero so it affect him so the roll is a face to face

    FAQ answer : When I declare Data Scan, can the target declare an ARO other than Reset?
    Any possible ARO could be declared, but only Reset would be a Face to Face roll against Data Scan
     
    #2 Arkhos94, Feb 4, 2019
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
  3. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,699
    Likes Received:
    4,165
    Berjiz, Keyrott, chromedog and 2 others like this.
  4. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    913
    Urobros likes this.
  5. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,699
    Likes Received:
    4,165
    How does "can hack in the Zone of Control (8-inch radius) of the Repeater as if it was their own" actually work? Do you count the entire Hacking Area as your ZOC for the purposes of Hacking AROs (so you can Delay your ARO with SSL1, so long as it is a Hacking ARO) or do you only count your ZOC as ZOC? How does this interact with Silent weapons?

    A: Only treat ZOC as ZOC (for the purposes of delay and Silent weapons). If you allow delay in the whole Hacking Area, you can force normal roll hacking due to the restrictions of Reset.

    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/repeaters-vs-stealth.22609/page-2#post-84364

    What information are you obliged to tell your opponent when a Holo'd Hacker walks into an Enemy Hacker's Hacking Area (or vice versa)?

    A: You are obliged to tell your opponent what programmes are usable against that Holo'd Trooper.

    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/hacking-device-holoprojector-l1-hackable-characteristic.1944/

    Edit: I also recommend putting the answers in Spoilers, otherwise it'll get way too long.
     
  6. Sedral

    Sedral Invincible Officier

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    487
    Tactical awareness/NCO + fireteam interaction

    Original Topic: https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/tactical-awareness-and-fireteam-leader.26085/

    Situation: Yan Huo, Zuyong Haris (TacSense), Pangguling link.
    The YanHuo is the leader, having spent some orders to shoot enemy troops. I decide i wish to reposition the link for better aro next turn.
    Can I activate TacSense, making the Zuyong the leader, to move the link using no orders from the pool?

    Answer:

    1) No, since the fireteam leader is designated after order expenditure you'd need to spend an order on the zuyong haris to make him the fireteam leader before you're allowed to use his tactical awareness order.

    2) Yes, tactical awareness only requires the model with this skill to be the fireteam leader when using his tactical awareness order.
     
  7. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,699
    Likes Received:
    4,165
    3) It's even worse than you all thought. Since the fireteam leader is designated after order expenditure you'd need to spend an order on the zuyong haris to make him the fireteam leader before you're allowed to use his tactical awareness order but tactical awareness also requires the model with this skill to be the fireteam leader when using his tactical awareness order.
     
    oldGregg likes this.
  8. RobertShepherd

    RobertShepherd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    968
    This is a really good thread. Good work, OP.
     
  9. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    913
    @inane.imp : Good idea for the spoiler, I edited it

    I resumed the 2 topics you wrote about, please correct me if I made a mistake
     
    RobertShepherd likes this.
  10. Commoner1

    Commoner1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    300
    THIS is a approach I can get my head around. Thanks mate! :-)
     
    Hecaton, meikyoushisui and TJE like this.
  11. Sergej Faehrlich

    Sergej Faehrlich Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    287
    Thank your for compiling these questions. I like this approach a lot as it worls along official lines and leaves it up to the individual to decide.

    It might be helpful to link the relevant passages in the rules where possible, to give people to opportunity to make up their own mind easily.
     
    Nuada Airgetlam and TJE like this.
  12. Ben Kenobi

    Ben Kenobi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Could we add the Symbiomate / Guts Roll interaction too?
    For me the english rules are grey, with reasons for both interpretations.
     
  13. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    1,530
    Erh... Stealth and Hacking ARE actually solved and have RAW in it's favor, meanwhile all who opposes this view can be debunked via the rules. This is not so much "unresolved" as it is a RAI vs RAW issue.
     
  14. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    913
    I'm not familiar with this one, do you have a topic link to give me (so I can read it and resume) ?
     
  15. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,015
    Likes Received:
    6,076
    Ben Kenobi likes this.
  16. HarlequinOfDeath

    HarlequinOfDeath Tha Taskmastaaa
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    405
    While I support a compilated FAQ I have a certain opinion about it:

    First, we should wait for a CB statement concerning the events of the past days before starting another FAQ project.

    And second, in my opinion this should be arranged somehow differently. Maybe with the help of a tool @TheDiceAbide mentioned and/or with less spam in the thread to keep it clean and as a fast ressource for all players. At the moment especially new players have to search the old and this forum to find answers which can be annoying. As Infinity veterans we are used to it, but we should try to get the point of view of other players as well.
     
    TJE and coleslaw like this.
  17. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    913
    My goal is not to create an FAQ as much as bringing material to CB to improve their own as fast as possible

    For years now, I have seen unsolved important question be debated pages after pages until we agreed to disagreed, then the topic sunk in the depth of the forum (then a few month latter it come back and is debated again)

    By putting a list of them here (in a format as simple as possible), I hope @HellLois can put an end to the discussion by choosing one of the options and putting the post in the solved question sub-forum (which is a good idea by the way) then in the FAQ
     
    #17 Arkhos94, Feb 4, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
    Sedral and Mahtamori like this.
  18. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    Good to add to the list would also be activating multiple models with mixed Stealth, so that you’ve got an active model that didn’t generate an ARO and another that did.

    I think many of the applications involve hacking, although I'm sure there's sixth sense scenario in there somewhere too.
     
  19. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    3,752
    Q: Does the smoke ammo remove "attack" label from the skill ? Is smoke grenade toss allowed if trooper is in Stunned state ? Is smoke grenade toss allowed during Impetues order ?
     
  20. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    801
    coleslaw likes this.