1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

ITS11 Questions & Answers

Discussion in 'ITS' started by ijw, Sep 6, 2019.

  1. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    10,424
    Please keep comments to questions and confirmed answers.

    Many thanks.

    Starting off with some bits from @Bobman's ITSX thread:

    LANDING ASSISTANCE

    Q. “Do Imetrons and Netrods benefit from ‘Landing Assistance?”
    A. Unanswered

    Q. “How does Landing Assistance affect coordinated AD.”
    A. “Coordinated AD still requires a drop zone.”
    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/its-x-questions-and-answers.24870/page-2#post-151876

    BRAVERY

    Q. “Can troopers failing deployment rolls take advantage of Bravery?”
    A. “No. Failed deployment rolls will result in usual effects.”
    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/its-x-questions-and-answers.24870/page-2#post-151876


    DATATRACKER/LIAISON OFFICER

    Q. Are you required to include a DataTracker/Liaison Officer in your Army List for missions that include these rules?
    A. Unanswered.

    Q. If your list includes a valid DataTracker/Liaison Officer option, are you required to deploy them in a way that allows you to declare a DataTracker/Liaison Officer?
    A. Unanswered.


    TACTICAL WINDOW

    Q. What counts as a 'trooper' for the fifteen-trooper limit in Tactical Window events?
    A. It's the same as the limit on 'troopers' in a Combat Group. So an AI Beacon will count as one of the fifteen, as would a Posthuman with 2-3 Proxies, as would a Chimera and Pupniks, as would a Doctor/Engineer with Servants.
    [Answer checked with HellLois, via IJW.]



    [work in progress]
    Countermeasures questions.
    Tactical Awareness and Hidden Deployment.
    Tactical Awareness Orders and Pilots/Remote Pilots/Operators.
     
    #1 ijw, Sep 6, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2019
    toadchild, Sven F., ZlaKhon and 7 others like this.
  2. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    4,494
    Add, for the Liaison list, the Kanren FO with Holoprojector in case we can get an official answer (I bet on all three echos get the Liason marker, the same Patroclus get 3 Duo Leader markers when linked to Achilles, but people are asking that).
     
  3. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    10,424
    There's no need to bet.

    "The trooper chosen must be always one of the models or Markers deployed on the game table."

    My emphasis.
     
  4. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    4,494
    Next question would be if applying it to an empty holoecho is ok... which the RAW you cited allows -.-
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    10,424
    No, because a decoy Holoecho is not a trooper.
     
  6. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    4,494
    "The Holoechoes are considered real troopers in regards to providing AROs, checking LoF, and activating enemy weapons or pieces of Equipment (Mines, E/Maulers, etc.), but since they act simultaneously, all three provide only one ARO to each enemy in LoF or ZoC."

    Considering the holoecho rules were written some time ago before the Liason officer came along, I feel like this issue should be asked anyway.
    Datatracker offers us no precedent since Markers can't be one, however.
     
  7. Willen

    Willen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    67
    But it is marker.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  8. ObviousGray

    ObviousGray Frenzied Mushroom
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    The Netrod-Tactical Window debate. We're prepping a tourney soon, and I don't think there will be zero AI beacon on the entry..
     
    xagroth likes this.
  9. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    10,424
    Request for @xagroth and @Willen - please start a new thread for discussing this issue.

    @ObviousGray yes, that's already in the WIP part of the post.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  10. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    10,424
    And is now answered in the first post.
     
    wildchevy, WarHound and ObviousGray like this.
  11. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    788
    @ijw are these questions already officially answered?

    Do Zondcats and the like need to make their own AD roll?
    Do they need a template like Coordinated Order ADs?
     
  12. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    10,424
    The first two have links to the official answer. The third is confirmed but not yet published in an FAQ etc.

    See the existing discussion (https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/delta-doctor-with-yudbot-b.34971/) yes and yes.
     
    daszul likes this.
  13. Wulverdron

    Wulverdron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    98
    I haven't seen anything official about it yet, so:

    For Concilium Watch, do combination weapons count if one of their component weapons is on the banned list? (Eg: Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower)
    This is only a question due to the FAQ stating that combination weapons do NOT count as their separate component weapons. The FAQ centers specifically on burst bonus, but the implication is that not counting them as their component weapons would hold for similar rules.
     
  14. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    10,424
    Please note that this is not what the FAQ says.

    Q: Can I apply the bonus of +1 to Burst for Twin Weapons, if my troop has a Light Shotgun and has used the Special Skill Scavenger to get a Rifle+Light Shotgun?
    A: No. To be able to apply the bonus for Twin Weapons, both the weapons must be exactly the same. The weapons with the symbol “+” are a combined weapon.

    The FAQ just says that the entire weapon has to be identical to get the Burst Bonus, without saying that the Light Shotgun part is no longer a Light Shotgun.
     
  15. Sangarn

    Sangarn TRIUMcorp CEO
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    886
    prolly a stupid question but hvt are always used in ITS unless it says otherwise ?
    (for example frontline doesn't say we have to use a HVT)
    if yes why is there isn't a tag "hvt" below "Special Rules"
     
  16. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    10,424
    Yes. It's a default rule and is only mentioned in the summary when it's not used.
     
  17. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,844
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    But does is say "Rifle + Light Shotgun" has parts, rather than being a single piece of weaponry that can fire as if it was either Rifle or Light Shotgun?
     
  18. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    10,424
    What distinction are you making?
     
  19. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,844
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Same as that Twin Weapons FAQ does, essentially. While it only applies to Twin Weapons rule, I imagine the very reason that question was asked was that rules don't specify whether A+B is just a set of separate guns A and B (so no different from "A, B" unless stated otherwise, like in this FAQ) or yet another separate weapon called "A+B" that can shoot like two entirely different guns: either as A or as B.

    FAQ only solves this question for a specific instance of applying Twin Weapons bonus, but otherwise it doesn't seem to be resolved in general.

    A suggestion to use "common sense interpretation" is okay I guess, but so is "let's apply the same logic CB applied to TW" or "there should be a reason CB uses different symbols, namely commas and pluses, in unit profiles".
     
  20. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    10,424
    Thanks for the clarification. I've tried in the past to get CB to clarify "there should be a reason CB uses different symbols, namely commas and pluses, in unit profiles" in the rules text, but no go. :-(
     
    Xeurian and Barrogh like this.