1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

ITS 9 Question and Answer

Discussion in 'ITS' started by locksmith, Nov 28, 2017.

  1. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,509
    Likes Received:
    4,748
    We know for a fact that Targeted works differently because they've both been explicitly answered by rules authorities.
     
    inane.imp and chromedog like this.
  2. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,585
    Likes Received:
    4,443
    That's circular reasoning.
     
  3. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,509
    Likes Received:
    4,748
    I utterly fail to see what's circular about saying that we should follow the rulings given to us by CB reps. It doesn't matter if you feel like the rulings should be different or not; the question has been answered and thus has no place in an active discussion on a FAQ thread.
     
    Bobman, inane.imp, colbrook and 2 others like this.
  4. Alphz

    Alphz Kuang Shi Vet. Retired.

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Why TF are we arguing about rules in a question and answer thread.

    Way to make a dumpster fire and dance around.
     
  5. DukeofEarl

    DukeofEarl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    1,171
    Sorry for the delay in responding. You can Target scenery, but since scenery can not have states it has no effect.
     
  6. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,585
    Likes Received:
    4,443
    Scenery can definitely have states; see "damaged" and "destroyed."
     
    xagroth likes this.
  7. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    4,222
    Find another state that doesn't say that it only applies to 'Troopers'.
     
  8. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1,638
    Damaged and Destroyed are the only states applicable to scenery items.
    If you read their description, they are the only ones related to Scenery and not to Troopers.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  9. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,585
    Likes Received:
    4,443
    @inane.imp @tox And Martial Arts only applies to troopers as well. Weird, that.
     
  10. DukeofEarl

    DukeofEarl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    1,171
    chromedog likes this.
  11. Marduck

    Marduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    871
    For what it's worth, here is how we treated the antenna in the grid in our last tournament :
    - not a trooper, so you are not considered engaged even if in contact with it
    - can't shoot at it and catch some troopers in the blast
    - can use MA skills against it.
    - can choose to use a D charge both way (land it and detonate, or CC attack with -3. NB it's different to looting and sabotage where you have to CC)
    - can "target" it with a FO allowing the use of smart missile against it (but designated and targeted are different states. So you have to designate first and target after, or the other way, but you can't do both with one FO skill)

    Our TO said he has CB's staff blessing to rule it that way. Not saying it's official, but that could be a way to rule it.

    Anyway I guess they should clarify it or remove this mission next season
     
    xagroth likes this.
  12. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,485
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    Aren't we more than half-time into season 9 and only now there's some hidden "unofficial" ruling from CB ?

    Srsly the missions are not that different and usually 1-2 weeks after releasing them we have questions which are left unanswered for more than half of the year ;/
     
    Hecaton likes this.
  13. Marduck

    Marduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    871
    One way to deal with it if you running a big event is to have a kind of local faq. The TO ask to the players prior to the event if they have questions and settles it for good before the game start.
     
    eciu, chromedog, Hecaton and 2 others like this.
  14. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,585
    Likes Received:
    4,443
    It's legitimately CB/Infinity's biggest flaw. The unwillingness to make a coherent ruling on something as fundamental as intent play is downright puzzling, almost like they think that's a sportsmanship issue we should resolve ourselves.
     
    xagroth likes this.
  15. cannibal commando

    cannibal commando New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question on Biotechvore that I'd appreciate an answer to: Does AD count as 'deploying outside the deployment zone' and require a PH-3 roll as per the Confused Deployment rule? I suppose it probably does, but I don't know if there is a difference between 'deploying' as a pre-turn-1 thing and an AD trooper entering the board.
     
  16. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Confused Deployment applies to all methods of placing a trooper on the table outside of your deployment zone. This would include impersonation, infiltration, mechanized deployment, or airborne deployment.
     
    Hecaton likes this.
  17. cannibal commando

    cannibal commando New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Clear enough then, thanks.
     
  18. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    In some missions (example in supremacy), objectives can be targeted and destroyed. I have some questions regarding that :

    - In supremacy : do you need to control a console to destroy it ?
    => Nothing written so I would say no but I would like a confirmation

    - In supremacy : is a console still controled if destroyed ?
    => It works like this in the grid but only because it's written in the mission. Nothing written in supremacy so I would say no but I would like a confirmation

    - In supremacy : could you hack a console if damaged ?
    => I'm not sure (but I don't see anything forbidding it)
     
  19. gregmurdock

    gregmurdock Extremely Beloved Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    890
    In missions where you have to kill the designated target what do you do about classifieds that require you to interact with the hvt?
     
  20. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    512
    if you end up being forced to take one (in your choice of two cards) you make sure to accomplish it while he's alive; and knowing that you cannot swap it for Secure HVT (unless you failed to kill him, then as a consolation you could attempt Secure HVT).

    edit: assuming we are talking about a mission where you need to kill him and which did not already have a provision for removing HVT related card from the classified set.