Unsolved question list

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por Arkhos94, 4 Feb 2019.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.336
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.985
    A decent issue that that thread raises is "So what do you have to reveal when a camo'd Sensor prevents recamouflage? Do you have to identify the camo marker that prevented it (it stays a camo marker), or just say that it was prevented?" It has the potential to get really awkward, since you may or may not have had to double check that the camo marker was within ZoC to prevent it.
    "Hold on a sec, I need to measure to see whether this camo marker is within ZoC for no particular reason... And your recamo fails."
    With bonus rules question points because Sensor is labeled as Optional, so are you supposed to have the option of opting out (don't measure or check) if you don't want to give away that your camo'd Sensor trooper is there?
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    ZoC measuring will always be a matter of best judgement whether it needs to be checked or if it's clearly outside of range, and yes this may reveal your trooper's secret identity without managing to deny the re-camo attempt.

    As Solkan points out, Sensor is Optional and when reading Camouflage and Sensor, it's clear that the re-camo denial is an effect of the Sensor skill and can thus be waived prior to measuring if you don't want to give your opponent any information.
     
    A BLOODGOD le gusta esto.
  3. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    5.750
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.521
    Oh yeah that's the same question
     
  4. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.708
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.086
    Not really. Even the issue @solkan points out seems to fall in line fairly well with already established rules. You measure to see if someone skirting your mine is actually within the trigger area, which effectively reveals the fact that you have a mine even if they end up being outside the trigger area after measuring.
     
    A Mahtamori le gusta esto.
  5. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    The only sane way to measure ZOC is that at Resolution the ZOC of all active Troopers can always be measured if either player desires it.
     
    #85 inane.imp, 13 Feb 2019
    Última edición: 13 Feb 2019
    A Section9, daszul y solkan les gusta esto.
  6. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    That is one mechanic to use for it, very Warmahordes 2nd Ed (if everyone was a 'caster), but I wouldn't go so far as suggest that it's part of the rules since it's clearly not allowed under the current version of the rules.
     
    A BLOODGOD y toadchild les gusta esto.
  7. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    If a mine is behind a waist-high barrier from a trooper with a direct template weapon, and said trooper successfully performs an Intuitive Attack on the mine, what happens? Does it make an armor roll (and thus reveal itself)? Nothing? Something stranger?

    When troopers move through each other, do they "vault" or simply phase through each other?

    When are mines removed? The rules say "after triggering" but when is this, explicitly? Immediately? At the end of an order?

    Can the hacking program Goodnight be used on a posthuman (who has Remote Presence) in NWI state? Ditto for Su Jians in NWI and Karakuris in Dogged.
     
    A radka le gusta esto.
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    As answered by IJW previously; no, you just inform your opponent that the trooper or device behind the Camo token is not S2, because the camouflage marker doesn't have any stats.
    Since the rules for moving through friendly troops never mention vaulting, you clearly do not vault over them.
    While this is hardly ever relevant (so why spend too much time on it), I'd say that yes it's explicit that it is removed as a direct and immediate consequence of triggering.
    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/in-extremis-recovery.26574/#post-198589
    And yes, it sucks.
     
    A toadchild le gusta esto.
  9. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    During an Impetuous Order;
    Q: Can an Impetuous Trooper choose to move towards a target that is equal amount of orders, but further away?
    Q: Can an impetuous Trooper choose to move towards a target with a sub-optimal expenditure of orders (dismount from bike)?
    Q: Can an Impetuous Trooper freely choose which type of movement order from the list of legal orders e.g. in order to avoid having to take fall damage?
    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/impetuous-move-direction-questions.27092/
    (More links to related questions in Solkan's answer to that thread)
     
    A radka y Vanderbane les gusta esto.
  10. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    @Mahtamori be that as it may, still worth getting official clarification. The "vaulting through models" is a mistake I've encountered in multiple metas, usually alongside people who insist that it's silhouette height and not silhouette attribute that determines who can move through who.
     
    #90 Hecaton, 14 Feb 2019
    Última edición: 14 Feb 2019
    A oldGregg y theradrussian les gusta esto.
  11. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.584
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.515
    Updated with :
    - CC when attacked from the back
    - impetuous movement questions
     
  12. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Regarding moving through friendlies: what makes you think they'll read the FAQ if they don't read the rulebook?
     
    Section9, Icchan, BLOODGOD y 2 otros les gusta esto.
  13. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    They claim there's ambiguity (troopers vault over "obstacles" and obstacles isn't defined in the rules) and removing that ambiguity would set them straight, I think.

    The reason I think it's FAQ worthy is I've encountered it in multiple metas, on opposite sides of the US. Clearly something is driving people towards that interpretation, whatever it is, and it'd be good to get it cleared up.
     
  14. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.268
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.102
    @Arkhos94, can you add another question about impetuous? In a recent thread @solkan put forth a good theory that while jumping may be mandatory sometimes for Impetuous moves, you only count it if you can actually land on the ground - falling does not create a “path” that impetuous can follow. This fixes some of the issues with impetuous troops suicidally leaping off of buildings instead of using the stairs.

    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/impetuous-move-direction-questions.27092/#post-210603
     
    A oldGregg y DukeofEarl les gusta esto.
  15. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    I think it's a common mistake to make, because it's intuitive to have one rule for all types of movement and leaping over your friendly four-legged REM is also intuitive, but simply reading the rules a second time solves it so I don't think an FAQ entry changes anything.

    Edit: I mean, we are both aware this FAQ is answering the frequently asked questions, but instead aims at the difficult ones.
     
    #95 Mahtamori, 16 Feb 2019
    Última edición: 16 Feb 2019
    A toadchild le gusta esto.
  16. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    I dunno @Alphz what do you think would solve it for your playgroup?
     
  17. Alphz

    Alphz Kuang Shi Vet. Retired.

    Registrado:
    25 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.458
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.949
    The only issue we have is the commonly mistaken height vs attribute which as mahtamori points out, could be solved with a decent second read if the game was hinging on it. It falls into the "nice to be clarified" but ultimately not that big a deal.
     
  18. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    809
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    630
    A reason why height vs attribute is a mess is because in English it is attribute, in Spanish it is height.
     
  19. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    It's based on the Attribute/Atributo in both languages.

    By the way, allied troopers, and only allied, whose Silhouette Attribute be equal or inferior to the trooper's Silhouette Attribute does not block his Movement.

    Del mismo modo, las tropas aliadas, y sólo las aliadas, con un Atributo de Silueta igual o inferior al Atributo de Silueta de la otra tropa tampoco obstaculizan su Movimiento.
     
    A split-infinity y A Mão Esquerda les gusta esto.
  20. Durian Khaar

    Durian Khaar It's clubbering time...
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    3 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    620
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    656
    This is interesting and a bit confusing because:
    A Silhouette 3 Remote can pass a S2 Human-sized Unit, but not the other way round. On the other hand, a S3 Scenery Object (most Objectives) is smaller than the S2 Silhouette and can be passed over by a S2 Unit
     
    A oldGregg y theradrussian les gusta esto.
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation