1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Wildcards (not) replacing all Fireteam core Troopes

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Hachiman Taro, Jun 2, 2019.

  1. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    3,269
    Yup. As far as I know, they both still stack. If someone at CB wants to do something about it, they should do something about it.
     
    Ginrei likes this.
  2. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    1,441
    Well, that and the skill description in the wiki.
     
  3. psychoticstorm

    psychoticstorm Aleph's rogue child
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    5,200
    Usually people are happy when they get previews of coming changes, usually...
     
    AdmiralJCJF and A Mão Esquerda like this.
  4. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    3,269
    There's no reason to suspect this is a "preview" rather than the change entire.
     
  5. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    3,269
    What skill?
     
  6. BLOODGOD

    BLOODGOD Vampire Hunter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    167
    Totally agree.
     
    Hecaton likes this.
  7. BLOODGOD

    BLOODGOD Vampire Hunter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    167
    Have we really gotten a "preview" of a rules erratum like this before?
     
    Hecaton likes this.
  8. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    1,041
    Usually when a game company previews an upcoming rules change, that game company identifies it for what it is. :-/

    If you make an announcement on a podcast that results in a thirteen page thread trying to figure out what the hell is going on, that's generally a sign that the person making the announcement messed up. Usually.
     
    BLOODGOD, Bobman, Zewrath and 3 others like this.
  9. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4,307
    Likes Received:
    8,644
    For what it’s worth, that’s because Full Auto was updated in Daedalus’ Fall, which means that the only printed book containing the rule, the DF new rules PDF and the wiki all say that it doesn’t stack. So it’s not a great example to use.
     
  10. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    7,520
    Agreed.

    GW came out with a big change to the Bolter rule a while back, it's technically in Open Beta. It's even called Beta Bolter Rules! And it was announced on the Warhammer Community blog. It's even noted that it may change when finally officially released.
     
    SmaggTheSmug, Hecaton and Ginrei like this.
  11. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    3,269
    They could use the front page of their website for this kind of thing, instead of just copy/pasting Google translated fluff from other sources.
     
  12. Armihaul

    Armihaul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    94
    Cb needs to differentiate between faqs and errata, and anybody else who is working with them should do the same, and tell them to do so. Is very confusing having explanation-like-faq changing the ruleset. A faqs should be an answer based on the ruleset, and errata or updates should be the ones changing the ruleset.

    Full auto was a good example of a bad performed change. It appeared, we knew of its combination with suppression fire the first day (really, we were discussing it in the old forum the same day we got the pdf), and what we got from some people from inside was "yup, that's how it is supposed to work". Months later we get a comment in the forum, and later a faq+errata document (for the interplanetary) with no mention about that comment or change, and then the change in the book. All that with an fluf-explanation for those rules interaction that was absurd once we got the second troop with FA2 (if feverbach can not enter suppression fire, how can be explained can it have the -3 from FA as beig the same malus as suppression fire?)
     
  13. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4,307
    Likes Received:
    8,644
    ?
     
  14. Armihaul

    Armihaul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    94
    Before last year interplanetary we got an updated faq document, and in it there was no mention to FA
     
    ijw likes this.
  15. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4,307
    Likes Received:
    8,644
    Ah! I thought you were talking about some document that was specifically for the Interplanetary.
     
  16. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    896
    I'm thinking of adding this to the unsolved question thread, could you confirm me I have everything summed up :

    Question 1 : can all troopers in a core fireteam be replaced by wildcard trooper :
    1- Yes no limitation
    2- No at least 1 trooper must be a non-wildcard

    Example: is this Ghulam core fireteam legal (Qapu Khalqi) ?
    HAFZA Heavy Rocket Launcher / Assault Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 18)
    HAFZA Lieutenant Spitfire / Pistol, Knife. (1 | 22)
    LEILA SHARIF Hacker (Killer Hacking Device) Shock Marksman Rifle, D-Charges / Breaker Pistol, Knife. (0 | 20)
    Open in Infinity Army

    Question 2 : can a wildcard Harris replace the harris model of an harris fireteam ? (same question for a wildcard duo in a duo fireteam)
    1 - Yes no limitation
    2 - No the harris trooper must be a non wildcard

    Example : is this Harris Djanbazan fireteam legal (Qapu Khalqi) ?
    ODALISQUE (Fireteam: Haris) Rifle + Light Shotgun, Nanopulser / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 25)
    ODALISQUE Rifle + Light Shotgun, Nanopulser / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 24)
    DJANBAZAN HMG / Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 35)
    Open in Infinity Army
     
    #256 Arkhos94, Jun 12, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
  17. Armihaul

    Armihaul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    94
    Maybe the wildcard rule could be changed to something like "this trooper counts as any other trooper when forming fireteams", if the intent is for them to substitute even the mandatory troopers for thar fireteam
     
  18. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4,307
    Likes Received:
    8,644
    @Arkhos94 @Armihaul

    Reminder - the official current rule for Wildcards and Fireteams: Core is:

    When creating a Fireteam: Core that includes Wildcard troopers, you must include at least one trooper from one of the units listed for that Fireteam in the Sectorial chart, or a trooper who counts as one of those units.

    So question 1 is not unsolved, and and they are not supposed to count as any other member.
     
    Arkhos94 likes this.
  19. Armihaul

    Armihaul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    94
    Yes. I know, but at the same time that answer can bring new doubts or problems. Can the wildcard be a substitute for a mandatory trooper for a special fireteam? Does this only applies to core, but not to duo, haris or any other?
     
  20. SmaggTheSmug

    SmaggTheSmug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    661
    The ruling is pretty explicit about it applying to Core only.
     
    ijw likes this.