1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

When can you cancel a Fireteam?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by daszul, Aug 15, 2019.

  1. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    870
    The Fireteam Cancellation rules state:
    The Fireteam can be cancelled voluntarily by the player, with no expenditure of Orders or Command Tokens.

    But when can you do so?
    Even after the first short skill of an order spent on the fireteam?
    Even in the Tactical Phase, to gain the impetuous orders of impetuous fireteam members?

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Fireteam_Cancellation
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,950
    Likes Received:
    8,642
    Yes. At any time, though juggling Impetuous cancellation through command token use is just about the only practically applicable case for it.
     
  3. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    870
    So, if you cancel the fireteam after the first short skill of an order,
    does every former member still have a second short skill, or noone?
     
  4. Cartographer

    Cartographer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    1,121
    Well, that's an excellent question.
    I think, much like dismount not bring usable on the second short skill, you'll have to accept that once an order has been spent on them, you can't cancel a fireteam until you've finished that order, for the sake of your sanity if nothing else.
     
    DukeofEarl likes this.
  5. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,950
    Likes Received:
    8,642
    Mechanically they are still activated by the order but no longer part of the Fireteam. The Leader in this case would keep activating while they will not. For purposes of ARO this doesn't matter since any Delay will still be functional to declare after the Leader's second short skill. All you're really doing is hurting your own chances here by robing yourself of the bonuses, so the big question is:
    Why would you?

    P.s. Remember that All At Once applies to everything in the order, including skill validation.
     
  6. spears

    spears Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    373
    Out of interest why would you want to do this?
     
  7. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    870
    Came up in my meta. I think it was because of Exile.

    And if all still would have their second short skill,
    it would be a 5-man coordianted order with full burst.

    But keeping only the former leader activated sounds reasonable.
     
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,950
    Likes Received:
    8,642
    I thought you were ;)

    I asked this question myself two weeks ago and IJW had to remind me what the All At Once rules actually does - i.e. you can't escape Exile if you started the Order as a Fireteam, you have to cancel it before spending the order.
     
    DukeofEarl likes this.