1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

What exactly is the FAQ relating to Hack Transport Aircraft supposed to mean?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Hecaton, Oct 26, 2018.

  1. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    1,449
    Nope :

    Breaking ties
    Face to Face Rolls can result in a tie. In the event of a tie (Criticals or not), both rolls cancel each other, no effects are applied and the Order is spent.​

    No effect are applied (no limiters), and dropping in the table is an effect of the AD order. Nothing happen in case of a tie is the way it works for each and every FtF roll (BS attacks, CC attacks, hacking, dodge, special dodge...) except this one (and some mission related FtF where we reroll in case of a tie).

    In case you suggest the FtF roll is only about dispersion (one trying to prevent it, the other to create it), CB rulling make even more sense : the effect you are rolling about is dispersion, no effect are applied mean no dispersion => quite logic


    Plus, as said above : the resolution you suggest, "tie mean we make a dispersion roll" means the hack transport effect is applied => same thing as hacker winning FtF. It take the exact same stance (just on the opposite side) as what CB did in its rulling.
     
    DukeofEarl and A Mão Esquerda like this.
  2. Bobman

    Bobman MERC
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    541
    How has this got to 3 pages??
     
    toadchild likes this.
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    9,699
  4. C0MR4DE

    C0MR4DE Malfunctioning Unidron

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    75
    Thx god you are rly far from me, and i do not have to play againts you :)
     
    A Mão Esquerda likes this.
  5. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    2,364
    Which would mean, in this case, that either the AD trooper doesn’t come on or doesn’t come on in the intended place, which means the hacker has succeeded, despite tying. Thus, the modification to the FtF results.
     
  6. C0MR4DE

    C0MR4DE Malfunctioning Unidron

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    75
    The main problem is, that cb uses rules, where they do not have to. What would change, if say ad troop roll a normal ph for the jump, and the enemy hacker make a normal wip roll -6. If the hacker roll higher than the jumper, apply disp.
    The same with btb. There is no such thing in infinity as Base, there is only sh....
     
  7. Bobman

    Bobman MERC
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    541
    A Mão Esquerda likes this.
  8. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    2,326
    [​IMG]

    Why is it that you literally ask a differently worded but exactly the same question as the Q in the Q&A, yet you adamantly deny the answer provided and even question the validity of the authors themselves, and somehow you're the only one who reads the answer diametrically opposed to how it's worded.
    It's like your purposefully baiting...
     
  9. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    9,699
    Yeah you're right they aren't the same question, but both are clearly answered by the FAQ document itself and about the same skill, yet amazingly keeps on trucking.
     
    A Mão Esquerda and Bobman like this.