1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Vulkan Jackbot activation/Burst question

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Chikahiro, Jul 20, 2019.

  1. Chikahiro

    Chikahiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    125
    We got Master of Puppets and are looking the rules over before playing them. We're pretty good about embarrassing ourselves on-stream, but we don't want to look TOO foolish this time ;)

    So, right now we've got a situation regarding the Jackbots and Burst. There are two interpretations of how things can work:

    First interpretation is:
    • Controllers may deploy minions on their turn.
    • Controllers may remove ONE Minion per turn.
    • Controllers may activate Minions on their Turn.
    • Burst on the jackbots has no Energy Cost.
    Therefore, Fiddler could deploy 2 Jackbots, activate them to perform Burst, remove 1, deploy 1 more, and Burst again. This would result in three attacks. Paying for Remote Activation gives you the attack plus a chance for the Switch potentially allowing for up to 5 attacks.

    The second interpretation is:
    • Controllers may deploy minions on their turn.
    • Controllers may remove ONE Minion per turn.
    • Controllers may activate Minions on their Turn.
    • Burst on the jackbots may only be triggered via Remote Activation which costs 2 energy. So Fiddler could normally only have up to 2 attacks via Jackbots and Burst, but get up to 4 via Switches.
    Additional point of concern is there's not a mentioned limit on how many activations a Minion can have. While this was presumably so a Jackbot Vulkan could be Remotely Activated twice, this assumes the second interpretation is correct. Otherwise, it would be severely OP.

    Clarification would be appreciated! I'm assuming something didn't quite make it over from the Spanish cards.
     
  2. Kelthret

    Kelthret Usuario

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    249
    This is the correct one.
     
    -V- and AdmiralJCJF like this.
  3. CAnon

    CAnon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    48
    Yeah, you MUST Remote Activation to Burst, but each time you do so you guarantee one Burst and have a chance at a second.
    Subsequent Bursts can be performed by the same Jackbot, provided it wasn't destroyed.
     
    AdmiralJCJF likes this.
  4. AdmiralJCJF

    AdmiralJCJF Heart of the Hyperpower
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2,791
    Likes Received:
    3,757
    Of course, Jackbots are going to get taken out on their own activation A LOT.
     
  5. Chikahiro

    Chikahiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    125
    Thank you everyone! :)