1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

To go Sectorial or not for newbie?

Discussion in 'Yu Jing' started by madcore, Feb 17, 2019.

1. madcore

madcore Member

Hi all,

I am very new to the game and I have only played ISS so far but I am wondering if I am not limiting myself by not playing vanilla. I know there are great advantages in fireteams but I am wondering if the sectorials are not limiting me while learning the game. Would like to get the opinion of more experienced players....Should i just drop ISS and play Vanilla?

2. Triumph

Triumph Well-Known Member

On paper Sectorials are easier to work with for a new player due to fireteam bonuses. They're static, you can't really fuck up the application of +1 Burst or +3 BS it's literally point and pull the trigger.

Vanilla's strength is tailoring a list. That requires more indepth knowledge of how units work together and how to get the most out of units for a specific mission. That kind of knowledge is usually what a new player lacks the most as it's accumulated over time.

With that said the difference in strength isn't that great. Play what you think is cool and it'll work out.

ObviousGray likes this.
  3. Stiopa

Stiopa Trust The Fuckhead

My personal experience is that starting with sectorial works well. It allowed me to learn the game without getting too distracted by different options. Once I felt comfortable with my first army, I could branch out.

Barrogh likes this.
  4. Sedral

Sedral Jīnshān Task Force Officier

This is not true for all sectorials but there are some aspect of the game you can barely play as ISS, so i think it's fair to say they are indeed a bit limiting.