1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Template weapons and F2F

Discussion in 'Rules' started by SuperD, Jul 8, 2019.

  1. SuperD

    SuperD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    289
    I know I've seen this answered before but couldn't find anything with some searching. Anyways...

    It's my active turn, I have two troopers (A & B) in a link. A is link leader. I move them up close to each other with the first short skill.

    I'm surprised by an ARO from a helot with a rocket launcher (neurocinitics for B2 in ARO). He targets trooper B with both shots. The troopers are close together so the template will certainly hit both.

    Trooper A as link leader elects to shoot back with the second short skill.

    Trooper B certainly takes 2 unopposed shots. But what about trooper A? Does he...

    1.) Have unopposed shots against the helot, and then takes "splash" damage from the shots hitting trooper B.
    2.) Are his shots against the helot F2F versus the template hits, regardless of the impact to trooper B.
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,264
    Likes Received:
    7,612
    Face to Face, against the Helot's rolls.
     
    NorthernNomad and ijw like this.
  3. NorthernNomad

    NorthernNomad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    86
    Somewhat related question, about Impact templates.

    Say troop B (the one getting shot at) has ODD but trooper A didn’t. Would the Helot still be at -6 to hit in its face to face with Trooper A?
     
  4. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,121
    Likes Received:
    10,439
    From the Effects for Impact Template Weapons:
    • The attacker must designate a main target, from who all MODs applied to his Roll will be determined. As stated above, this Roll will be compared against each enemy trooper affected by the Template.
    In other words, always shoot the target with the lowest BS MODs...
     
  5. NorthernNomad

    NorthernNomad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    86
    That is how I thought it worked, but the other week I had a game where I had positioned my troops so that I had 2 troops in suppressive fire watching a corner, one with ODD in front and one with mimitism behind. My opponent shot the front one with a shotgun, hiting the other with the blast, and his roll missed by 2 on the ODD troop but said it should hit the mimitism troop. We quickly searched the wiki and didn't find anything so just played it as a hit, to not slow things down.

    Good to know the correct ruling going forward though.
     
  6. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,121
    Likes Received:
    10,439
    Your opponent got mixed up - you only roll to hit the main target, applying MODs for that target. Any actual success is then compared separately against the Rolls by each target, not applying new MODs to the success.
     
    NorthernNomad likes this.