1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Template vs own Holoecho

Discussion in 'Rules' started by daszul, Sep 27, 2019.

  1. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    816

    Can you use a Template Weapon if one of your own Holoechos
    (a decoy) would be hit by the Template?

    So RAW it is not stated that a Holoecho is considered a real trooper
    in regards to declaring an Attack with a Template Weapon against it.

    But does that mean that the Holoecho is not considered a real trooper in regards to Templates,
    or did I overlook a ruling that clearly states this anywhere?

    Maybe this:
    If you read this as 'all three Holoechoes together represent the trooper',
    does this mean that of those three must be treated as a friendly trooper?
    Or is this "represent" weaker, and not the same as "are"...?
     
    #1 daszul, Sep 27, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2019
  2. Ayaxs

    Ayaxs Crane agent, Yuandun division.
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    203
    If the Trooper declares an attack, it Is considered revealed for the whole order and there will be no holoechos to affect.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,292
    Likes Received:
    7,846
    It's not that easy, I'm afraid.

    • Anytime a holographic decoy cancels its Holoecho state the player must remove its Holoecho from the table at the end of the Order that happened.
    • An exception to this rule is made when the Holoecho fails a Coherency Check, then the player must remove the Holoecho immediately, before measuring movement, if he has declared any.

    Just remember that Holoechoes are not troopers.
     
    Ayaxs likes this.
  4. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5,935
    Likes Received:
    9,337
    I'd honestly say that you cannot Template one of your own Holoechoes, but I don't have a rules reference for it.
     
  5. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    4,591
    I would say that you cannot (even the owner of the skill templating his own decoy), because all cancellation clauses say to remove the markers at the end of the order, and you cannot affect friendly troops with your templates... and the Holoechoes are considered a friendly trooper (all three a single one, in short) in order to generate AROs and detonate mines, etc...
     
  6. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,292
    Likes Received:
    7,846
    I think I have asked this question before and got told by IJW that echoes aren't troopers. I wouldn't give that answer much credence, though, it was some time ago on the old forums if memory serves.