1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Targeted State

Discussion in 'Rules' started by multor, Feb 6, 2018.

  1. multor

    multor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    11
    As I´d like to take full advantage of my Smart Rocket Launcher I have a few questions regarding the Targeted state:

    1. is it possible to put an unconcious trooper into the Targeted State?
    2. Is it possible to put an abandoned Motorcycle into the Targeted State?
    3. Is it possible to put a discovered Mine into the Targeted State?
    4. Is it possible to put a G:Synchonised REM into the Targeted State? (even after their "master" died?)
    5. Is it possible to put a TinBot into the Targeted State?
    6. Is it possible to Spotlight an active (deployed) enemy repeater in order to put it into the Targeted State?

    Thanks a lot for helping me!
     
  2. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,742
    Likes Received:
    4,660
    Targeted:
    Activation
    • The trooper suffered the effect of a piece of scenery or a Special Scenario Rule or condition capable of causing this state.
    Effects
    • Troopers declaring a BS Attack or a Hacking Attack against a Targeted trooper may apply a +3 MOD to their relevant Attribute.
    • This MOD is cumulative with all other MODs for Range, Cover, CH: Camouflage, etc., with the exception of the Guided Trait, whose MODs already factor this in.
    • If a trooper in the Targeted state is chosen as the target of Speculative Fire, then the -6 MOD usually applied to that type of Attack is ignored. However, the +3 MOD is still applied.
    • Troopers in the Targeted state can be chosen as targets of Attacks using BS Weapons with the Guided Trait, applying the full advantages of this Trait.
    • This state does not affect Automatic Special Skills or Automatic Equipment.
    Cancellation
    • The Targeted state is automatically cancelled at the end of the Player Turn during which it was caused.

    So,
    1.- Yes
    2.- No, it's equipment
    3.- No, it's equipment
    4.- Yes, it's like an unconscious trooper
    5.- No, it's a marker state and not a figure. Imagine it's equipment without physical presence on the table.
    6.- No, it's Equipment.
     
  3. multor

    multor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thank you for pointing out the obvious to me.
    I really appreciate this clarification, even if it hinders my plans to some degree... ;-)
    Making a mental note: "Equipment = No Targeted State"

    So, if I hit a trageted trooper and he ends up unconcious, he is still in the Targeted State (until end of turn), correct?
     
    xagroth likes this.
  4. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,742
    Likes Received:
    4,660
    Yes, the only way to cancel Targeted is for the turn to end... being totally dead means being taken out of the table, so if you wanna Guide some Missiles to the other player's army transport... its between him and you! XD.

    Remember there is no way to apply targeted state while you are AROing, but all Artillery Observers carry a Flash Pulse for ARO duty, and stunned enemies are like fish in a barrel (also, no way to remove Stunned but for the current turn to end).

    ITS addendum: on The Grid and her sister missions, the Designated state (whose only use is to allow that player to attack that element and or give points at the end of the game) persists, but the Targeted does not.
     
    multor likes this.
  5. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    6,042
    Likes Received:
    12,335
    Minor correction - all those items can be in Targeted state, it's just that as they aren't troopers the Effects of Targeted state won't do anything.
     
    Wolf, daboarder and ChoTimberwolf like this.
  6. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,742
    Likes Received:
    4,660
    Which means, in practical use? At this moment, I mean, not counting the possible future when CB might decide a Targeted piece of Equipment might have some effect applied.
     
    ChoTimberwolf likes this.
  7. multor

    multor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    11
    @ijw: I get you point, but raising it causes some further questions, if you want to follow up:
    a) Can you think of an example of equipment changing status in Reactive Turn, turnign this difference into something meaningful?
    b) Can you think of a reason, why a TO-Camomarker can be Sat-Locked and targeted by Guided Missiles, but a fat Chopper standing in the middle of a gigantic base cannot? If you say, that´s counter-intuitive, I´ll accept this as an answer.

    @xagroth: Yeah, I realized with some amusement, that I can put a Designated Target into the Targeted State providing a bonus to the trooper choosing the Targeted Designated Target as the target of a BS-attack. :-D
    (I did that on purpose! This is no meant to to be an offense or criticism. It´s just mildly amusing.)

    The Flash Pulse is not to be frowned at. It can shred your opponent´s turn plans into funny little pieces without doing actual harm!
     
  8. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,742
    Likes Received:
    4,660
    I mention this because a tactic I use in the Grid sometimes, with a guided missile launcher: use a FO specialist to place an antenna in the Targeted state, which you can use on Turn 1... but the antenna is not Targeted on turn 2, when you can destroy it. So...that was the why of my detailed explanation there XD
     
  9. multor

    multor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    11
    @xargoth: Does that work? An antenna is not a trooper afaik, or is it?
    I can see why the Guided Missiles are nerfed. I like to use them anyway.
    I´d like to target Sniffers and/or Repeaters as well. In my test run on Unmasking last Friday, I scared the hell out of my opponent when I placed sniffers and repeaters (via Pitcher) close to the Consoles in turn one.
     
  10. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,742
    Likes Received:
    4,660
    The Grid ITS mission explicitly states that you can use Forward Observer rules to Designate the antenna (and the way it's written in spanish suggests it is in addition to the Targeted State).

    Repeater-seeding with 2-3 hackers can be a powerful deterrent, specially on missions with Limited Insertion where most factions deploy heavy infantry and TAGs. Once they move... Force them to Reset as the second short order, with the threat of becoming IMM1 or Isolated!
     
    multor likes this.
  11. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    6,042
    Likes Received:
    12,335
    There isn't, I'm pointing out that you got the right answer via the wrong reason. As this is the rules sub-forum, it's important to get the reason right as well as the answer.
     
  12. ChoTimberwolf

    ChoTimberwolf Artichoken Friend

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    400
    http://infinitythewiki.com/de/Spotlight here its written that repeaters can't decalre reset, which means you can use spotlight against them? But in the targeted section only troopers can be put in the targeted state? Does that mean you can use spotlight against repeaters but it has no effect?


    Ah sorry was explained shouldn't post that early xD
     
  13. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    5,003
    If you look at Guided ammo it doesn't require the target to be a trooper to fire.
     
  14. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    Then another one: all those items except tinbots. Those are basically like, say, Albedo markers - something to remind this trooper has something on his profile.
     
  15. Gunmage

    Gunmage General Contact Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    279
    Since we already have this thread on Targeted state - if I want to Speculative Fire on a Targeted unit, do I get the bonuses only if the center (origin point) of the template is on the Targeted model, just as I only get the penalties from CH skills if I Speculative Fire on CH model keeping the center of the template on it?
     
  16. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,572
    Likes Received:
    5,315
    no, you dont have to centre on the "targeted state model" the targeted state model only needs to be declared as the primary target (the model against whom criticals resolve automatically)

    NB secondary targets must still roll a critical to beat the crit, they jsut dont take the auto wound ect
     
  17. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    I always wondered - is there anything in the rules to support this besides "tactical advice" box that may or may not be an artifact and that is inconsistent with how everything else template-related works?
     
  18. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    6,042
    Likes Received:
    12,335
    It's not an artifact.
     
  19. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    Good to know.
    Although this still makes me wonder why it wasn't included into standardized rule description form, and what is the purpose of forcing people to offset their template in order to ignore particular MODs, rather than making it into a property of Speculative Fire, kinda like descriptions of some other special attacks do.

    I mean, it sure affects spacing game in some situations, making tight formations a little bit less vulnerable under very specific circumstances, but I'm not sure that was the intended purpose of this rule. It's just a bit weird as such.