1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Tactics cards

Discussion in 'Rules' started by prophet of doom, Nov 30, 2017.

  1. prophet of doom

    prophet of doom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    278
    Two things which are not clear to me regarding the tactics cards:

    1. what is the order of players using them? E.g. who plays the first card before and after dice have been rolled?
    2. Is it allowed to use more than one tactics card in one activation? Is there a limit? If not, things seem to be able to get out of hand.
     
  2. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,113
    Likes Received:
    10,431
    1. The Underdog chooses who plays Tactics cards first in a Roll. See p11 Face to Face Rolls and also the back cover of the Quick Reference booklet.
    2. The only limit on spending Tactics is how many you have available to spend, and whether they can be spent at that point.
     
  3. prophet of doom

    prophet of doom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    278
    gracias, Wartrader!
     
  4. konuhageruke

    konuhageruke Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    514
    Ok. But are they spent one per one, or all of the possible ones on one side and then all on another?
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,113
    Likes Received:
    10,431
    The Underdog chooses which player plays their Tactics first. As there is nothing in the rules that would let the Tactics be played one by one, the first player will need to play all the Tactics they want to, and then he other player will play all the Tactics they want to.
     
    precinctomega likes this.
  6. zlavin

    zlavin Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    647
    But only if both players know that they want to play a tactic nomatter what the other do.
    Tactics can be played in response of tactics (NO!). So i can say at first that a dont have intention of playing a tactic but use tactics in response of what my enemy does.
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,113
    Likes Received:
    10,431
    Yes, but that's because NO! has specific timing on it. You wouldn't then be able to play other Tactics unless they also said 'after the opponent plays a Tactic' or similar wording.
     
  8. zlavin

    zlavin Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    647
    ?
    I can play a tactic that add a dice to a roll in response of you using a similar tactic.
     
  9. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,113
    Likes Received:
    10,431
    To expand, I believe it will go like this in full detail:
    1. Underdog says who will play Tactics first.
    2. That player will play any Tactics they wish to play.
    3. NO! cards can be played at this point to cancel a played Tactic, including a NO! being cancelled by another NO!
    4. The other player will play any Tactics they wish to play.
    5. NO! cards can again be played.
     
  10. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,113
    Likes Received:
    10,431
    No, what would let you do that? The Underdog is choosing which player uses their Tactics.
     
  11. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,113
    Likes Received:
    10,431
    Paging @-V- and @Palanka as there appears to be a difference between the English wording for Face to Face Rolls and the Spanish wording for Tirada Enfrentada. :frowning:
     
  12. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,963
    Ok, we'll check it!

    Thanks!
     
  13. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,113
    Likes Received:
    10,431
    Although it could also be me misunderstanding the English version...
     
  14. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,963
    We'll answer anyway.

    :wink:
     
    volgo and ijw like this.
  15. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,963
    Ok. We'll FAQ soon and give an explanation.

    Thank you both for posting it!

    :wink:
     
    Hecaton, volgo and zlavin like this.
  16. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,542
    Likes Received:
    4,416
    Another question about Tactics cards - perhaps I'm missing something in the rules that delineates this, but when you run out of them do you re-shuffle your deck and re-draw, or is that it?
     
  17. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,963
    When you run out of Tactics that's all. You'll have no more Tactics available.
     
    Hecaton likes this.
  18. konuhageruke

    konuhageruke Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    514
    Sorry to dig this up, but what is the final decision? I can't find it in faq.
     
  19. zlavin

    zlavin Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    647
  20. konuhageruke

    konuhageruke Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    514
    I knew I saw something like that.
    That also is 100% oposite to what was described here :)