1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Strategic Deployment

Discussion in 'Foreign Company' started by Sicaris, Mar 29, 2019.

  1. Sicaris

    Sicaris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    13
    Does the strategic deployment rule allow you to hold the entire fireteam as your reserve? If so that changes the value of it a lot.
     
  2. DukeofEarl

    DukeofEarl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    1,171
    No. That came about from people misunderstanding what Bostria said in a video. If I recall correctly he said it let's the fireteam deploy with him. Given the rule text that obviously meant official deployment location, not timing.
     
    Golem2God and Robock like this.
  3. AdmiralJCJF

    AdmiralJCJF Heart of the Hyperpower
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    3,831
    Yeah, naah.

    @Bostria either made a small error, or just didn't describe it very well, because all it does is:

    » During the Deployment Phase, the owner of this Special Skill first, and then the rest of the Fireteam, can be deployed as if they have the Forward Deployment Level 1 Special Skill.
    » In those scenarios or when applying tournament rules which provide the Forward Deployment Level 1 Special Skill to any member of the Fireteam, the owner of Strategic Deployment, and the rest of the Fireteam, can be deployed as if they have the Forward Deployment Level 2 Special Skill.
     
    Golem2God likes this.
  4. Guardian

    Guardian Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    354
    How can you then first deploy hannibal (with FD2), if you have a bolt that has FD1 giving the whole team FD2?
     
  5. AdmiralJCJF

    AdmiralJCJF Heart of the Hyperpower
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    3,831
    It's implied that he can deploy with FD2, even 'though he goes down first.

    Which is a little strange, but ok.
     
  6. Sicaris

    Sicaris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    13
    So if you hold Hannibal as your reserve you lose the benefit of the ability? It (and the whole army) seems rather lackluster...
     
  7. AdmiralJCJF

    AdmiralJCJF Heart of the Hyperpower
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    3,831
    You do.

    And I love it for entirely setting and background reasons, but can see few mechanical reasons to prefer it over other armies.
     
  8. Guardian

    Guardian Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    354
    It looks like most of your army can start up the board. This sounds like MRRF fluff :D
     
    Golem2God likes this.