1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Stealth, movement and ARO

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Russ, Jan 3, 2018.

  1. Russ

    Russ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Rules question...

    I have a model with stealth that starts the turn out of LoF. She declares move as the first part of her order, and moves into LoF of an enemy model. Does the enemy get an ARO?

    Rules state

    "A trooper with Stealth that declares a Short Movement
    Skill or Cautious Movement within the Zone of Control
    of one or more enemies but outside their LoF does not
    grant AROs to those enemies, even if he reaches base
    contact with them."

    Since I declared the Short Movement outside LoF, it sounds like no, enemy doesn't get to ARO. Is that right?
     
  2. Russ

    Russ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmmm...to complicate things:

    How about if she's a marker in camo, not a model - can I declare Discover as ARO when she moves into LoF as the first part of her order?
     
  3. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    4,598
    No, the enemy will get an ARO since he has LoF to your model. The Stealth part you are refering to is tied to Zone of Control ARO, where if an enemy unit moves but my troop cannot see it I still have to (can) declare ARO, like change face.
    ARO rules state that as soon as you can generate an ARO during a short order, you generate the ARO during the whole order (I'm talking from memory here instead of my usual quote of the rules, however).

    If a marker moves into LoF of an enemy model as part of his first short order, the enemy model has to declare either Discover, change face, dodge, or Delay (or inaction, if you feel suicidal enough XD).
     
  4. gamma ray

    gamma ray Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    801
    You may of started outside LoF, but as you entered or ended in LoF, the opposing unit will get to ARO.

    Yes.
     
  5. Russ

    Russ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you.
     
  6. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,964
    Likes Received:
    8,978
    Nit-picking time :)

    You do not declare "Move" and then move the model.

    You declare "This trooper will move here via this path" then check to see how far along the declared path you get.

    So if any part of the Trooper's movement is in LoF then you have declared a skill within LoF.