1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Sensor + Camouflaged State

Discussion in 'Rules' started by paraelix, Feb 11, 2019.

  1. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    985
    Just in case it is possible to clarify -

    Antipodes/K9s have Sensor and the camouflaged state. Does the Sensor zone operate, preventing enemies from re-Camouflaging, while the Antipode is still camouflaged?

    Ie - can a marker use the passive Sensor effect or only a Trooper represented by a model?
     
  2. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    Generally speaking, you have to reveal in order to "prove" that you have the skill - classic example is if you want to use the repeater on a camouflaged model.
     
  3. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    985
    If that is the case... a K9 could simply ARO with change of face, revealing itself, and thereby waste the long skill the enemy declared for re-camoing?
     
  4. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    3,178
    That's specifically called out in the Repeater rules.

    "Repeater + Impersonation or Camouflage and Hiding

    Troopers or pieces of Equipment that have Repeater in addition to any Special Skills that allows them to act as Markers instead of figures (Camouflage and Hiding, Impersonation...) reveal themselves automatically if a friendly Hackerattempts to use their Repeater ability.

    Hackers cannot use a repeater carried by an enemy trooper in a Marker state.

    Repeater and Hidden Deployment

    Troopers with Repeater who are using Hidden Deployment reveal themselves automatically if a friendly Hacker attempts to use their Repeater ability."

    Sensor does not contain the same provisions.

    OTOH Sensor does say:
    " Enemies with the CH: Camouflage or CH: TO CamouflageSpecial Skills cannot regain the Camouflaged or TO Camouflaged state inside the Zone of Control of a trooper with the Sensor Special Skill."

    An Antipodes that is a marker may not qualify for this provision. However, Camouflage and Hiding treats Camouflaged mines/other markers as troopers for the purposes of preventing recamoing. So it's not consistent as to whether a marker would count for the purposes of triggering Sensor's rules.

    Tl:dr I don't know.

    From a purely gameplay POV, I think that it's better that the Antipode needs to be revealed. This is not an issue as the Entire Order to Recamo will trigger a ZOC ARO that the Antipode can use to to reveal themselves and prevent the enemy recamoing.
     
    toadchild and paraelix like this.
  5. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    3,178
    Thinking about this some more. The position I prefer from a gameplay POV (Sensor only works for troopers represented by a model not markers) is the RAWest interpretation. So absent someone saying "yeah nah, actually the get it even while in a Marker state" I'd suggest playing it that way
     
  6. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    4,596
    We already know from other rules interactions that the K-9 will not cease being troopers just because they are in Marker state.

    I can only surmise that this is an interaction that hasn't come up before. RAWest atm is that you simply have to point out that a Camo has Sensor if it is relevant and that this causes the recamo order to fail.
     
  7. Ben Kenobi

    Ben Kenobi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    681
    Why should you have to reveal?
    Have you to reveal a camo marker when you won't to place it outside your deployment zone?
    In Infinity you have to trust your oponent in some situtaions.

    And imo you can't recamo in the ZOC of an Antipode in camo state.

    EDIT: And repeater doesn't work the same way, cause Sensor is passiv and repeater are active in use.
     
    toadchild likes this.
  8. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    590
    There is nothing in the rules saying you have to de-camo (you are not performing any action) so you don't have to

    Regarding the "trust" issue : all 40mm marker in Ariadna have sensor so there is no trust issue
    Versus Pano who now have the Zulu Cobra with Sensor, I imagine you may ask the referee to check
     
  9. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    Yep, sounds good. I shouldn't give off the cuff answers late at night :-)
     
    inane.imp likes this.