1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

REM: remote presence & remote pilot - noob

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Romansky, Dec 25, 2021.

1. Romansky

Romansky Shadowrunner

Hej,

im sure it‘s only me and there could be a correlation to my heavy winy head and my red eyes …

As i tried to explain REM and according rules to a new player, using the infinity rule book, i found it really counter intuitive :)

Im a noob to Infinity too, so i would ask you to check my understanding of REM -

BASIC:

1. REM is a special type of trooper

// is this always coming along with the ability „remote presence“? What is remote presence?

2. A REM can only be played as long as you control another trooper with the according skill:
    „Remote Pilot“ - those are:
    Hacker / TAG / PILOT / Rem Driver?

3. Anyway a REM can use regular orders and execute actions on their own (as long 2 is true)

EXTENDED:

4. A rem driver is as special ability of another trooper which can buff a rem - any example?

5. Some troopers are mounted on intelligent rides (for example a motorbike), so when they are dismounted they act a as pilot and a rem…

i really dont find the parts in wiki or rulebook where This rem-Stuff is well and easily explained…

thanks and merry xmas, for whom it may apply!

2. solkan

solkan Well-Known Member

Correct.

Incorrect. There used to be restrictions concerning what you had in your army to field remotes, but those got removed.

Note that there is still the annoyingly appendixed Special Restrictions chart: https://infinitythewiki.com/Restrictions_Chart
    TAGs cannot go Prone or declare Cautious Movement.
    Troopers mounted on a Motorcycle cannot go Prone, declare Cautious Movement, Climb, use ladders, Jump upward, or benefit from Partial Cover MODs.
    Remotes cannot declare Cautious Movement or be nominated as a new Lieutenant.