Re-camo out of LoS but in hacking area of enemy

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by Choofa, Nov 29, 2017.

  1. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,086
    Ah, yes. Using "roll" there does make it flow better. (Originally, you had said "hit")

    I'm on board with you now. Actually, I was always on board, but the wording tripped me up and I got it stuck in my head. Thanks for knocking it out :).
     
    colbrook likes this.
  2. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,268
    Likes Received:
    8,102
    Stepping back from rules technicalities for a moment, this is a case where it feels inconsistent with the normal flow of the game. Normally, it's not possible to be camouflaged and unconscious at the same time, because anything that could cause you to fall unconscious (ARM/BTS rolls) will make you break camo state. In the same vein, if an opponent reveals to shoot at you while you are attempting to re-camo, that will cancel the skill to regain marker state, even if they miss their shot.

    Any time people have this strong of a negative reaction to a rules interaction it usually means there's a deeper structural inconsistency that they are responding to.

    (I originally posted this in a thread on Sixth Sense, because the discussions were weirdly overlapping)
     
    BLOODGOD likes this.
  3. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    858
    well, you shouldn't be able to declare re-camo if you are in LoF, so how did they attacked you anyway ? because of Hidden Deployment. And they have a specific rule to explain that situation. But because being in ZoC does not prevent (except for sensor) re-camo then they didn't add any text as to what should happen if you are attacked (hacked or jammer) while declaring re-camo. It doesn't straight out waste your Order as you didn't breach any requirement.
     
  4. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,086
    Careful. HD can mean either Hidden Deployment or Hacking Device, and both could apply in this situation. At least, I read it as Hacking Device the first time I read your post.
     
  5. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    858
    true, i changed it :)
     
  6. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,268
    Likes Received:
    8,102
    Yes, exactly, and that causes an inconsistency, which is what I was getting at.
     
  7. n21lv

    n21lv SymbioHate

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    767
    Wait, why is everyone saying that the recamo order isn't wasted? The Wiki example states otherwise:

    So not only recamo fails, but the Ninja also gets an unopposed ARO.
     
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    15,367
    Because Recamo has as a requirement that no one has LOF to the trooper attempting to hide. Revealing a trooper in Hidden Deployment with LOF will cause the camo attempt to fail. Attacking someone does not cause the recamo attempt to fail, because there is no such failure condition. Additionally, the save from the Ninja will occur simultaneously to the camo trooper gaining camo, meaning the cancellation condition for camouflaged will not be able to occur (there are no race conditions in Infinity).

    Please note that the example you quote works on the assumption that ARO is gained from LOF. You cut out that important bit:

    Her opponent knows he has a trooper in Hidden Deployment who would have LoF to the active trooper. However, as the Hidden Deployment trooper is not on the table either as a model or as a Marker, he cannot disrupt the active trooper's declaration of regaining the Camouflaged state.​
     
  9. n21lv

    n21lv SymbioHate

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    767
    Oh. I missed that part somehow. Thanks for noting.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation