Ah, yes. Using "roll" there does make it flow better. (Originally, you had said "hit") I'm on board with you now. Actually, I was always on board, but the wording tripped me up and I got it stuck in my head. Thanks for knocking it out :).
Stepping back from rules technicalities for a moment, this is a case where it feels inconsistent with the normal flow of the game. Normally, it's not possible to be camouflaged and unconscious at the same time, because anything that could cause you to fall unconscious (ARM/BTS rolls) will make you break camo state. In the same vein, if an opponent reveals to shoot at you while you are attempting to re-camo, that will cancel the skill to regain marker state, even if they miss their shot. Any time people have this strong of a negative reaction to a rules interaction it usually means there's a deeper structural inconsistency that they are responding to. (I originally posted this in a thread on Sixth Sense, because the discussions were weirdly overlapping)
well, you shouldn't be able to declare re-camo if you are in LoF, so how did they attacked you anyway ? because of Hidden Deployment. And they have a specific rule to explain that situation. But because being in ZoC does not prevent (except for sensor) re-camo then they didn't add any text as to what should happen if you are attacked (hacked or jammer) while declaring re-camo. It doesn't straight out waste your Order as you didn't breach any requirement.
Careful. HD can mean either Hidden Deployment or Hacking Device, and both could apply in this situation. At least, I read it as Hacking Device the first time I read your post.
Wait, why is everyone saying that the recamo order isn't wasted? The Wiki example states otherwise: So not only recamo fails, but the Ninja also gets an unopposed ARO.
Because Recamo has as a requirement that no one has LOF to the trooper attempting to hide. Revealing a trooper in Hidden Deployment with LOF will cause the camo attempt to fail. Attacking someone does not cause the recamo attempt to fail, because there is no such failure condition. Additionally, the save from the Ninja will occur simultaneously to the camo trooper gaining camo, meaning the cancellation condition for camouflaged will not be able to occur (there are no race conditions in Infinity). Please note that the example you quote works on the assumption that ARO is gained from LOF. You cut out that important bit: Her opponent knows he has a trooper in Hidden Deployment who would have LoF to the active trooper. However, as the Hidden Deployment trooper is not on the table either as a model or as a Marker, he cannot disrupt the active trooper's declaration of regaining the Camouflaged state.