Possessed TAG + coordinated orders

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by Leviathan, Mar 11, 2018.

  1. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,081
    Likes Received:
    15,389
    Oh dear, the sentence structure of that rules blurb. It's painful to see.

    First, add it to your group.
    Then, don't count its order if you have more than ten.
    Last, don't add it to your group if you have ten or more.
     
    inane.imp likes this.
  2. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    I'm not certain that you don't automatically gain an Order when you add it to the group out of sequence (the 'and it also provides the Order').

    Can we agree that the intent is that the AI Beacon is added to the group in any event but the order is only generated if you have 10 or less Troopers (ie the Combat Group can go above 10 but the orders generated are capped at 10)?

    This is to avoid having a limbo where the Trooper is neither in your opponents Combat Group nor (maybe, possibly but I'm really not certain) in yours but is still on the table and active.

    Edit: rereading it I'm fairly certain the subject of the third sentence is 'the Order' not 'an AI Beacon' as follows:

    If so, then my 'Can we just agree' above is actually RAW.
     
    #22 inane.imp, Mar 15, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2018
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,081
    Likes Received:
    15,389
    @inane.imp I'm not talking about the order, I'm talking about the trooper itself being added to the group.

    The rules are, I think, redundantly clear that the order itself is only added if generated during Tactical Phase
     
  4. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    That's precisely the issue, the subject of the various sentences (arguably) is not the same:

    And I'm not certain they are that clear; they're certainly clear that the AI Beacon generates the order during subsequent Tactical Phases but it's quite possible to read that the AI Beacon moves during the Resolution of the order in which Minesweeper was used and simultaneously provide an Order to the gaining player. I don't think that's RAI... but honestly, I no longer really know with these sorts of things. IE.

    First, add the AI Beacon to your group and it provides an Order to the pool.
    Then, in subsequent Tactical phases do count the Order (unless you have more than 10).
    Otherwise (ie. you have more than 10) don't add the Order to your pool.


    Personally, I think it should be played as the blue text only, but the read text is supported by the rules (assuming that you treat that specific line as over-riding the usual way Orders are generated, which personally I don't think is true).
     
  5. Leviathan

    Leviathan Hungry Caliban

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    970
    I'd like to see the Possessed rules get a similar treatment as its currently worded very differently
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation