1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Objective room, combat jump, and ai beacons

Discussion in 'Rules' started by kinginyellow, Jun 9, 2019.

  1. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,680
    Likes Received:
    4,153
    No. The roof is there but it can't physically support any models because it's infinitely far away. If you could reach it you could AD onto it.
     
  2. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    3,269
    That doesn't follow.
     
  3. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,680
    Likes Received:
    4,153
    If you can't physically place the models on it then it can't physically support them.
     
  4. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    3,269
    The terrain improperly represents what's supposed to be on the board, however, so abstracting it is acceptable. There's always some degree of fudging with respect to terrain.

    With any other piece of terrain, it wouldn't be cool to say "hey this has a roof so you can't shoot into it but the roof isn't modeled so you can't put a trooper on it.
     
  5. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    5,990
    Tell you what, if you model an infinitely high roof, you can deploy on it :)
     
  6. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    3,269
    If I go to a tournament and the roof isn't modeled infinitely high, what do I do? The TO clearly isn't providing proper terrain for the event.
     
  7. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    1,441
    Unless the building has a domed roof, of course.
     
  8. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    1,441
    Or you could just accept the decision of the TO to represent infinite height through the lack of a usable roof, but hey, you do you.
     
  9. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    3,269
    Well I could accept the practical limitation of not being able to have structures of infinity size in real life, but then we're left with how to represent things on the roof. We can do this through abstraction or "fudging."
     
  10. Mcgreag

    Mcgreag Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    36
    Could I climb infinite (or as far as I have orders for of course) high up on the walls on the inside of the objective room? Use a Climb+ unit to claim the room while being outside of weapon ranges?
     
  11. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    1,441
    You have a place to put that mini outside of weapons range?
     
  12. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    7,520
    Uhm, no you cannot AD into the Objective Room. Read the freaking ITS10 rules, specifically the "Landing Assistance" rule for this season.


    And Mahtamori quoted that exact rule about 5 posts above yours.
     
  13. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    3,269
    Sure. So it's got a roof, which means you can land on top of it. My point is that it can't be both enclosed and have no roof.
     
  14. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    7,520
    Whether it has a roof or not, the Objective Room is explicitly named as something you cannot land inside.
     
  15. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1,521
    Why is that relevant? ZoC is not infinitely high.
     
    A Mão Esquerda likes this.
  16. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    3,269
    Through repeaters they could interact with things on the board while being invulnerable to conventional attacks. You could also put AI beacons up there.

    @Section9 the issue is that it says you can't land inside it *because* it has a roof.
     
  17. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,978
    Likes Received:
    6,042
    Why do you assume the roof is flat and has no crap or visibility zones on it? How do you place the model so that its base is fully supported?

    Why do you assume enclosed means it's even got a roof? Infinitely high walls, by definition of infinity (not the game), means there is no possibility of anything going over them, as such the condition for the space to be fully enclosed are fulfilled.

    And no, you can't land inside an objective room because it ticks at least one of the following three:
    1. It has a roof
    2. It has a partial roof
    3. It is an objective room
    edit 4. It is enclosed, without regard for windows or doors
     
    #57 Mahtamori, Jun 12, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
  18. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    3,269
    @Mahtamori You can have a free-standing wall, like I have around my garden. Doesn't make my garden indoors.
     
  19. ChoTimberwolf

    ChoTimberwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    281
    You really really really want to combat jump into objective rooms, don't you?
     
    A Mão Esquerda likes this.
  20. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,978
    Likes Received:
    6,042
    First and foremost, your garden is not covered by the game rules. Second of all, you may still not land in an objective room because it is, by definition, enclosed - regardless of how you've modelled it. Third of all, you may not land on it, because the roof is infinitely far away and you no way of placing the model on a roof that is physically not modelled and infinitely outside your reach.