1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Oberon's "Desire" tactic + Taowu's discarding interaction

Discussion in 'Legendary Bahadurs' started by Chikahiro, Feb 18, 2020.

  1. Chikahiro

    Chikahiro Well-Known Member
    Aristeia! Warcor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    288
    So, Kipahuligan and I had a match yesterday, and there was debate regarding the interaction of Desire and the switch for Paralyzing Terror. From his post on Discord:
    I can see his point. But I'm looking at it as if the card is virtually there. So I don't think I can make him discard it, nor can he choose to.

    Thoughts?
     
    AdmiralJCJF likes this.
  2. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    It allows you to play the card as IF it was there, implying that it isn't under any other circumstances, except for the moment you play the card.
     
  3. Chikahiro

    Chikahiro Well-Known Member
    Aristeia! Warcor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    288
    So, the question is: is discarding a card considered a way of playing a card (generally)?
     
  4. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    I don’t see anything in the rules that could back such an interpretation. They are written as two completely different things and the rules is a permissive ruleset, which means you’re only allowed to do what is written. As written only playing the card is permitted.
     
  5. Chikahiro

    Chikahiro Well-Known Member
    Aristeia! Warcor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    288
    So, playing a card means, "I'm putting this down to gain the effect of the card" only. Gotcha.
     
  6. AdmiralJCJF

    AdmiralJCJF Heart of the Hyperpower
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    4,275
    Yeah, I'd tend to agree that it's not actually in your hand to be discarded in that way.
     
    Zewrath likes this.