JUMP AND LOF 15:16]JoshPosh: What value do you get out of a rodok ML? Bs 12 mim-3 is ok. But it’s a ML so you’re risking getting shot by all the MSV snipers. [15:54]Ian James Wood: You don’t have to jump into LoF of multiple snipers. [15:55]JoshPosh: I meant as an ARO piece [15:57]Ian James Wood: To be honest, that’s not its strong point. But even there it’s going to be on roughly even odds which isn’t great for the attacker. [16:03]JoshPosh: Ok but what is it’s strong point? Feels like it’s pretty unlikely you’re going to get good plunging fire outside of 24”. The spitfire is the same cost and seems better for that purpose. [16:19]Ian James Wood: It’s obviously table-dependent, but a 3.5” vertical jump on a rooftop can get you LoF a long way into the enemy deployment zone. Or to someone hiding prone on a rooftop. 17:47]Cthulhu, just call me frank: Right you can double up on the height of the building with SJ, you still only go half the value of SJ up because you need the rest to go down again right? [18:02]Ian James Wood: Yes, but Rodoks jump 7” so that’s 3.5” up and down, plus 40 mm of Silhouette. COHERENCY CHECK [10:57]Teslarod: initial paragraph already says that coherency can be between Reference Trooper and a piece of equipment [11:37]Ian James Wood: As this is something where I’m currently pushing for a rewrite, and I’m being blind… Could you point out where it says Coherency can be between a Reference Trooper and a piece of equipment? 11:38]Teslarod: it doesn't, but the initial paragraph says that Coherency can be for equipment 11:39]Ian James Wood: It says it can be because of equipment. 11:44]Ian James Wood: Anyway, I’m pushing for the very first mention of ‘linked Troopers’ to be ‘linked Troopers or game elements (“Troopers” from now on)’. 11:44]Teslarod: I'd suggest NOT using the term linked altogether [11:47]Ian James Wood: I’d have to check stuff, but I think I suggested changing the text in Deployment Phase Coherency checks, rather than in the intro para. FORWARD OBSERVER 11:11]Inane.Imp: Honestly. Yeah, checks out. I'd argue that you get limited by the fact its an entire order skill youre nesting, which implies that the resulting BS Attack is also a Long Skill. [11:16]Ian James Wood: I can’t give a definitive answer on this, as FAQs for previous editions have been a bit contradictory, but what you’re suggesting directly contradicts the example for Coordinated Orders. However, in a BS Attack part of a Coordinated Order, none of the participants could declare Speculative Attack or Intuitive Attack, since these Skills are different than a BS Attack. [11:16]Inane.Imp: No it doesn't. As I said, you dont declare FO: you declare BS Attack and use FO. 11:17]Ian James Wood: Your reading means that you don’t declare Intuitive Attack or Speculative Attack either. Just BS Attack. 11:19]Inane.Imp: The push back Im getting. 11:23]Ian James Wood: OK, I’ll rephrase it. Are you saying that ‘different than a BS Attack’ is referring to Short Skill vs Long Skill? There’s a valid reading that they are different due to declaring a different Skill, rather than Short/Long. 11:35]Ian James Wood: I’d guess that it’s future proofing. To be honest, I don’t know the purpose of the BS Attack or CC Attack Labels, and have suggested several times that they be removed. [11:36]Iskandar - Minelayer(10): So in your opinion coordinated BS Attack and FO yes or no? [11:37]Ian James Wood: I don’t know. It’s had FAQs both ways at different times. [11:41]callumander: Does discover benefit from marksmanship? 11:41]Ian James Wood: No. The user may only benefit from this Special Skill when he declares a BS Attack. PERIPHERAL 19:25]nighthawkmk2: If a Sirius bot peripheral becomes disconnected does its repeater turn off? [19:27]Ian James Wood: Yes. Automatic Special Skills and Automatic Equipment have no effect while in this state, with the exception of the Peripheral Special Skill.
ARO [05:00]Antipodean Bolt: You can declare a predictive ARO. But it's technically out of sequence [06:33]Ian James Wood: Nope. AROs are either generated or not. If you get an ARO you can declare a Skill and hope that the Requirements get fulfilled, but you can't declare an ARO that hasn't been generated.
Period 20/10/2025 -> 12/11/2025. Private Information https://discord.com/channels/118301609146056709/617207022965882913/1435651532707332147 [16:23]CyberJunkInTheTrunk: if someone's combat group 2 has only HD or AD (private info) troops on it, is it public info that Group 2 exists? [16:23]CyberJunkInTheTrunk: Someone assorted this sort of strongly yesterday but I didn't find anything that implied it was [16:26]Ian James Wood: It's not on the list of Private Information, so is Open. Paroles of Prophet [22:13]Ian James Wood: Important edit: these are arguments from first principles, this is not an FAQ! So. Strategos, Open and Private Information, etc. Part one, because apparently the text is too long. First, there are some outstanding issues when it comes to Open and Private Information. The Open and Private Info section says that Private Info becomes Open Info when 'a specific game event forces you to disclose it'. But the Private Information Label talks about when 'it is used'. We also have to remember that, by default, Open and Private Information applies to information about your Army List. It doesn't automatically apply to all actions and effects that happen during the game. Which is why, for example, there is text saying that Order Pools and the expenditure of Orders is Open Information. Because this information is not part of your Army List. We can safely discard the Private Information Label's version, as it breaks the game if you apply it consistently. The only practical definition of 'use' for an Automatic Skill is if you apply its Effects. Which would mean that, for example, you would have to reveal who is using the Lieutenant Skill when you use the Effects of the Skill. Such as generating a Lieutenant Order, or possibly even having a Lieutenant during the Loss of Lieutenant check. So simply using an Automatic Skill with the Private Information Label won't reveal the Private Information, it has to be forced by a game event. My personal take on this is that, for example, you don't need to reveal Chain of Command when the Trooper takes over as Lieutenant as that's also Private Information, but you do need to reveal it when making use of CoC to act as a Specialist Troop. Edited to add lost formatting. And part two... Next, Automatic Skills in general. These are not actions that happen during an Order, you don't declare them in the way that you do a Basic Short Skill, Short Skill, Long Skill, or ARO Skill. They're either on or off. However there are some situations that force you to say whether a specific Automatic Skill is being used, even if this would reveal Private Information. This mainly comes down to Skills that change how AROs are generated such as Stealth, or that apply MODs such as Mimetism. So you have to say if the Active Trooper is using Stealth, and if you shoot at a HoloMasked Trooper you have to reveal that they don't have Mimetism when MODs are calculated. But there are also a lot of Automatic Skills that are 'owned' by a Trooper without affecting that Trooper, like Strategos, Counterintelligence, or most of Inspiring Leadership. These Automatic Skills have army-level or game-level effects. I think any attempt to tie these to a specific Trooper when their Effects are used is going to break the game really quickly. For example 'this specific Hidden Deployment Trooper, who is deployed here (points at spot X) is using Counterintelligence' or 'I'm holding back an extra Trooper during deployment, and no there isn't a Strategos Trooper on the table yet'. In conclusion... I recommend that you do not need to reveal who has 'used' Strategos. You will need to say which of your Troopers who is in Model form and is on the table have Strategos, as that is Open Information from your Army List. And in the case of Saladin plus HoloMasked Troopers disguised as Saladin, all of the Saladins on the table 'have' Strategos as far as your opponent is concerned. Edited to add lost formatting. And related, do you need to say which Automatic Skill was used to deploy outside your Deployment Zone? Because that's another of the really horrible implications of having to announce all uses of Automatic Skills and tie the uses to a specific Trooper. 'This Camo Marker used Infiltration, while this other one used Forward Deployment (+4") and this third one used Forward Deployment (+8")'. BS Attack (-x) https://discord.com/channels/118301609146056709/617207022965882913/1433658304172789780 [04:22]Knarfy: I mean I can't think of a single other weapon entry that just has a '-X' with no other indication as to what, so it wouldn't really be an exception to anything [04:26]Ian James Wood: It's directly equivalent to 'BS Attack (-3)' etc. If you're using the Skill/weapon/equipment, the MOD applies to the enemy in FtF Rolls. Anyway, I'll look at adding PARA CCW (-X) as an example on the wiki. Line of fire https://discord.com/channels/118301609146056709/617207022965882913/1433419997572759664 12:43]Mal'Nebiros: I'd read it as meaning the intent is that a curved building can be thought of as lots of infinitely short lines forming the curve and the tangent of where your base touches it is what matters [12:44]Ian James Wood: I'd like to get it rewritten (or an FAQ added) that the point you're in contact with has to be blocking LoF, but I think it's going to be an uphill struggle. Vitapack https://discord.com/channels/118301609146056709/617207022965882913/1433131307839389707 17:22]Soil: Hey, just want to latch on here and be sure if I understand it correctly. So, I can use the Vitapack the same order I picked it up? So far the people I've played with said I can pick it up in one order and use it earliest in the next order. However, your discussion seems to contradict this. Is this the common understanding, that the (nicely done) image is a correct explanation? Thanks! 17:23]Soil: Yeah, nice. I thought that would be the case, but I failed to express this outcome as well. Thanks for the clarification 17:32]Ian James Wood: Yes, you can use it in the same Order that you pick it up. This is even covered in the example. What's debatable is whether you can pick it up 'later on' in your movement path than when you were in contact with the target.