1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

N4 - Prone Cover

Discussion in 'Rules' started by OrphanOfToast, Sep 26, 2020.

  1. OrphanOfToast

    OrphanOfToast Heated Bread

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    69
    I looked a bit through the rule book but might have missed it:

    If you are prone and higher than another unit do you still get cover or is that gone in N4?
     
  2. Arkaon1125

    Arkaon1125 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    48
    I think yes, since your silhouette is X (aka your base) , your silhu is partially obstructed, so yes you have Cover.
     
    OrphanOfToast likes this.
  3. TriggerPuller9000

    TriggerPuller9000 Poverty Orde Wingate

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    429
    To clarify, you don't need to be prone at all - if so much as the model's tippy toe is obscured, it counts as cover.
     
    OrphanOfToast likes this.
  4. CabalTrainee

    CabalTrainee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    740
    There is an example on page 47
    upload_2020-9-26_19-34-42.png
     
    OrphanOfToast likes this.
  5. OrphanOfToast

    OrphanOfToast Heated Bread

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    69
    Awesome, I figured I’d missed it somewhere. Thank you!
     
  6. bladerunner_35

    bladerunner_35 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    250
    I’m going to highjack the thread because I am not 100 % clear on how cover works in N4.

    The basic is fine but when does “elevated scenery” cease to be elevated.

    1.
    A model on the ground is firing on another model on a roof. The silhouette of the model on the roof is higher than the other model’s silhouette. Partial cover because part if the silhouette is obstructed. Doesn’t matter if the model on the roof is in contact with a parapet because the whole building is considered scenery. No prob.

    2.
    A model on the ground is firing on another model on a roof. The silhouette of the model on the roof is NOT higher than the other model’s silhouette and there is no parapet. No obstruction. No cover. No problem.

    3.
    A model on the ground firing on another model on a roof. The silhouette of the model on the roof is NOT higher than the other model’s silhouette and there IS a parapet but the model isn’t touching the parapet. What gives?

    Has the issue of what exactly the roof of a building counts as been clarified in N4?

    Is there something about elevated terrain that I cannot find in the rulebook?

    4.
    Two models on two different roofs are firing on one another. Both roofs are at the same level and have parapets. One model is in contact with the parapet and one isn’t. To me it seems clear that the one not in contact with the parapet doesn’t have cover but I can’t really find it in the rules where this is explained.

    What happens if one model is on the second story? The model on higher elevation will of course get cover but the one below? If part of its silhouette is obstructed but it isn’t in contact with the parapet?

    Hopefully I’m not making this more complicated than it has to be. It seems it should be really simple but I can’t find any help in the rulebook.
     
  7. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,745
    Likes Received:
    14,057
    If the model isn't touching the parapet it can't claim cover from it. If the roof isn't blocking LoF from the attacker (which it isn't in this case) then it won't provide cover.
    As above, if it isn't in silhouette contact with the parapet then the parapet can't provide cover.
     
    toadchild likes this.
  8. bladerunner_35

    bladerunner_35 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    250
    Right but in the example in the book you can claim cover just from being on a roof (if your silhouette is obstructed). Parapet or not.

    I don’t get when the parapet is part of the equation and when the roof is counted as scenery?
     
  9. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,745
    Likes Received:
    14,057
    You don't get the cover from being on the roof, you get it because the roof is blocking LoF to part of your silhouette.

    Cover needs two things:
    1) Silhouette Contact
    2) Block LoF

    In your examples 3 and 4 above the roof isn't blocking LoF to the trooper, and it isn't in contact with the parapet, so neither can grant cover.
     
  10. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,745
    Likes Received:
    14,057
    Quick example
    lof.png
    In the diagram above the roof isn't blocking LoF due to the height of the large silhouette, and the parapet doesn't provide cover because there is no contact. The trooper on the building does not have cover.
     
  11. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit SecUnit

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    1,942
    It's the old question of whether the roof and parapet are separate pieces of scenery, or whether the whole building is one piece of scenery. If the latter, then the trooper would be touching one part of the building and also have LoF partially blocked by part of the building.

    I think probably everyone agrees they're separate pieces of scenery. There may be borderline cases where it's questionable whether a particular structure is one single piece of scenery or multiple separate parts. But this seems like the far end of the spectrum where it's most clear that they have to be separate. Hence no cover.

    That said I don't think we'll find it in the rules, since the rules don't say much at all about scenery and table design.
     
    toadchild likes this.
  12. bladerunner_35

    bladerunner_35 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    250
    Thanks man. I get it now! Appreciate you taking the time to help.

    I can live with this as a patch but find it odd that they just won’t come out and define roofs one way or the other.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation