1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Moving through overlapping Dazers

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Hachiman Taro, Sep 19, 2019.

  1. Hachiman Taro

    Hachiman Taro Inverted gadfly

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    829
    If two Dazer's Very Difficult Terrain areas overlap and a Trooper without multiterrain moves inside one into contact with the edge of the other, does it immediately end the Troopers movement?

    In other words, are two overlapping Dazer's Very Difficult Terrain areas still two seperate Terrain areas or effectively one big one?
     
    Hecaton, Xeurian and theradrussian like this.
  2. Hachiman Taro

    Hachiman Taro Inverted gadfly

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    829
    Anyone? Bueller? Bueller?
     
  3. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    1,382
    I mean, I know how I'd play it (they just make one big zone), but I have nothing to show that being the way it's supposed to be played...
     
  4. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5,791
    Likes Received:
    9,121
    Yeah, that's where I am, too.

    @ijw ?
     
    bladerunner_35 likes this.
  5. WarHound

    WarHound Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    124
    I know a particularly janky player in our meta who tried to pass it of to me thusly:

    Have two dazers deployed next to each other, or close enough that their zones overlap their perimeters almost 25mm of each other. This way, the enemy has to waste 2 orders getting in and out every time.

    1) Reach edge, stop.
    2) move, reach 2nd edge, stop.

    This to me seems rather exploitative (given how the zone's rules are not stackable, so no other changes occur), so I wouldn't play it that way.

    But, just bear in mind some people may rule it this way.
     
  6. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,054
    Likes Received:
    7,588
    My gut instinct says "read it literally and don't over-analyse it" to which I read that each zone is an individual zone and they do not combine even if they have the same effect.
     
    siri likes this.
  7. Bohrdog

    Bohrdog Santathematics

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    236
    I would say they don't stack so the overlap is still just Very Difficult Terrain and not the edge of the zone.
     
    DukeofEarl likes this.