1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Maximus - Get behind me!

Discussion in 'Rules' started by DalaiDan, Jan 8, 2018.

  1. DalaiDan

    DalaiDan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    What order is Maximus "Get behind me!" skill used when resolving damage. For example:

    Mushashi attacks Gata who is adjacent to a friendly Maximus
    In the Results step of the Face to Face roll Mushashi does 9 Damage.
    Normally Gata takes 2 Damage and the rest is ignored.

    Is this damage ignored before you use "Get behind me!" with Maximus i.e. you can make Maximus take the 2 Damage and no-one dies.

    Or does all the damage have to be allocated first i.e. Gata take 2 Damage, Maximus takes 7 and they both die?
     
  2. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    As Gata takes only 2:4: so Maximus can take 0, 1 or 2:4:
    I want to use the opportunity for: ...And as Gata takes only 2:4: Miyamoto may displace himself until 2 times (tipical question).

    :wink:
     
  3. Cilionelle

    Cilionelle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    If Gata takes 1 and Maximus takes 1, can Miyamoto still displace himself 2 spaces?
     
  4. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Of course he can. Miyamoto does 2:4:to Gata and he may displace twice. But Gata does not die because Maximus takes one :4:.
     
  5. precinctomega

    precinctomega Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    21
    What's this "2:4" mean?

    Again, I've obviously been playing this wrong. Mushashi's massive damage is reduced to 2, because he aimed at Gata? Wow, I'd been assuming that with damage 9 I was just stuck piling it all on Gata, and Maximus was all "F*** that!"

    Sent from my CUBOT CHEETAH 2 using Tapatalk
     
  6. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    You should be able to see a red tear drop (Damage icon) instead of ":4", so you can read "2 Damage".
     
  7. precinctomega

    precinctomega Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ok. I'm using Tapatalk and I'm not seeing any of the symbols. Just a bunch of colons.

    Sent from my CUBOT CHEETAH 2 using Tapatalk
     
  8. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    And you got logged using Tapatalk? We're trying to find out where it can be the issue. Are you using a smartphone? Logged with Tapatalk? Using web browser? Which?

    Thank you very much.

    :wink:
     
  9. thundergod

    thundergod New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    whoa. Mind blown.
     
  10. Cilionelle

    Cilionelle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    The other impact in that case is Mushashi's 'Displace yourself' switch, which goes from rivalling Gata (from scoring zone to scoring zone on a good hit) to being a little helpful occasionally. (Okay, so I'm exaggerating slightly, but after playing it where each uncancelled success equals damage, it changes the dynamic a lot.)
     
  11. Plebian

    Plebian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    581
    Holy smokes.
     
  12. precinctomega

    precinctomega Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yeah, logged in with Tapatalk on an Android smart phone.

    R.

    Sent from my CUBOT CHEETAH 2 using Tapatalk
     
  13. Tipzntrix

    Tipzntrix Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    26
    A couple questions:

    Major's Lunah's Suppressing Fire triggers :4: tokens one at a time on the :1::3: switch. If Lunah rolls :1::1::1::3::3::3: against Gata, does Maximus have to take 2 of the 3 :4: to save her since they are separate applications?

    Gata activates Pain Suppressants and gets 6 :D: tokens. Flavor-wise this is kind of weird, but if Gata ends her turn adjacent to Maximus, Maximus should be able to take the :4: instead of Gata. It's unclear whether each :D: token deals its damage one at a time or altogether. The wiki says that the character suffers 1 :4: for each :D: and then removes all :D: tokens. Does Maximus only have to take 1 :4: here to save Gata or does he need to take 5 :4:?
     
  14. Eightballz

    Eightballz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    129
    Your first question is the same as in the original post. Maximus takes each :4: individually and only the one that would actually be inflicted on the opponent.

    If, for example, Gata gets 3 :4: from an attack from Lunah, Maximus only has to take one :4:. Because Gata would be dead after two :4: already. See above first answer:
    The second question is also exciting. No idea. Is every:D: a damage event or resolve all in a row? I would say all at the same time. More damage than two :4: goes nowhere. Therefore Maximus only has to take one :4:.
     
  15. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    You're right, because:
    :wink:
     
  16. Tipzntrix

    Tipzntrix Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    26
    This isn't an attack though. Suppressing Fire triggers switches one at a time, dealing 1 :4: at a time. See: [​IMG]

    So if you're dealing them one at a time, shouldn't they all be dealt?
     
  17. Eightballz

    Eightballz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    129
    Yes. Youre right.
    Reference is saying:

    You cannot activate a Switch until the Effects of the last one have been applied.
    [...]
    • Each player has only one chance per Roll to activate all their Switches, one after the other.

    So Maximus has to take them one after the other.
     
    -V- and precinctomega like this.
  18. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Well, as this answer has been used to build a 'malevolent' combo, we're reviewing and it will be changed in next official FAQs we're working on at this moment.

    Thank you, and sorry about the incovenience.
     
  19. Phlyk

    Phlyk Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    268
    That would be a shame. Soaking an almost unreasonable amount of damage is the best reason to play Maximus. I wouldn't mind this being nerfed so much if his Switch had a better use defensively. Right now, there is almost no point in activating it off of Brawn or Defence.
     
  20. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    You'll have to decide how many :4:Maximus will take, before the reduction due to :T:. But, Maximus will be able to soak as many :4:as he wants. So he'll be able to sacrifice for his ally.