martial arts, i-khol, and shooting haplass targets.

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by jackfrost, Feb 12, 2018.

  1. Tom McTrouble

    Tom McTrouble Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    559
    So one thing I just thought about is that Natural Born Warrior contains the same wording as MA. If the rules were to set a precedent that you could negate MA without using a CC attack, that's actually pretty horrifying.
     
  2. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    630
    So, to change the conversation about you cannot declare bs attack in btb so cannot declare martial arts and shoot (i am not debating if this is a correct interpretation, just explaining starting point of question).

    Is there any rule that says you cannot walk into btb with a model and declare dodge with martial arts? (This is useful to dodge templates and some long range shots)

    The logic that you cannot be declaring shoot (be outside btb) and btb (to declare martial arts), may be a fair reason to deny shoot+MA, but invalid with dodge as you can dodge while in cc.
     
  3. avanst

    avanst Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9
    If we are giving it the same contexts as cover (which is not an automatic skill but does have requirements as a mechanic) to martial arts. Then even if the active model were to CC attack their victim the reactive player would not suffer negatives because s/he is shooting them before they get to base to base. Or how is this interaction working now?
     
  4. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    Read what I wrote and you will have your answer : condition for activing any of skill related to your action are checked with your mini at the point of its movement you choose for your action. Same apply for your opponent when declaring his ORA

    Classic example of this is penthisilea. Lets take this
    - first action : penthisilea declare move and move base to base with fusilier angus
    - ORA : angus declare shooting penthisilea at the start of her movement with his combi
    - second action : penthisilea declare cc attack against angus (obviously when she is base to base with him)

    Now let's check skills :
    - penthisilea is base to base with angus when she use cc attack so ikhol applies
    - penthisilea is not base to base with angus when angus shoot her so ddo applies
    Final malus : angus take -9 (ikhol 2 / DDO / range)


    Same example but penthisilea shoot with her second action :
    - first action : penthisilea declare move and move base to base with fusilier angus
    - ORA : angus declare shooting penthisilea at the start of her movement with his combi
    - second action : penthisilea declare bs attackwith her combi against angus 1 cm before she reaches him

    Now let's check skills :
    - penthisilea is not base to base with angus when she use bs attack so ikhol doesn't applies (requirements are not fulfilled : she is not base to base and has not reach base to base yet)
    - penthisilea is not base to base with angus when angus shoot her so ddo applies
    Final malus : angus take -3 (DDO / range)

    If you have a different understanding please copy the same examples and explain how it work for you


    We discussed it a page or two before. There is two opinions :
    - all examples regarding MA speak about cc attack so it infers that MA only work with cc attack + ikhol works with dodge only because its specified in the skill
    - examples are not enough to infers that nd faq is needed
     
  5. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Nevermind, found a flaw in whatever I typed.

    Long story short, I think that when it comes to BS Attacks and equivalent, we are specifically told to specify an "attack point" to/from which all modifiers are checked... Including, presumably, anything coming from CC Special Skills under this interpretation.

    So, in my opinion, practically we'll still be only able to combine them with like 3 skill declarations in the entire game.

    Why can't we delete our own posts? :P
     
    #85 Barrogh, Feb 21, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2018
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation