1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Marked State/Richochet & Cover?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Flipswitch, Jul 26, 2018.

  1. Flipswitch

    Flipswitch Sepsitorised by Intent
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    2,171
    Hi folks. Rules question I'm not sure on! With Marked State and Richochet, does the attacker still get a black dice if they are in Cover? The text is:

    Both the Attacker and the Defender can add one ) to their Combat Rolls if they are Adjacent to a Blocked or Occupied space that is partially obstructing the Enemy’s Line of Sight.

    I assume no, as they are completely blocked?
     
  2. zlavin

    zlavin Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    647
    The marked State actually say: "Targets affected by this State cannot Benefit from Cover"

    Upss, you mean the attacker. Yes the Attaker will have the extra dice from cover. But I see your point as the text say partially obstructing and in your example it will be totally blocked Line os Sight.
    @-V- help!

    "Both the Attacker and the Defender can add one :): to their Combat Rolls if they are Adjacent to a Blocked or Occupied space that is partially obstructing the Enemy's Line of Sight."
     
    #2 zlavin, Jul 26, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2018
    Flipswitch likes this.
  3. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    2,066
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Well, If I understand you right:

    1) To apply any Cover there must be a Line of Sight. In other words, if you don't use (or need to use) any LoS you don't get any Cover.

    2) If you are selecting a Target due to Marked State you're not using LoS, so there's no Cover for both Attacker and Defender.

    3) If you Attack normally a Marked Target, using LoS, you can benefit from Cover but your Target cannot (due to Marked State).

    4) Ricochet actually nullifies the Cover that your Target may have due to Occupied Spaces (Chars, Obstacles) but not from Blocked Spaces. What we are narrating is that Major Lunah can shoot through the crowd and her prey can't hide from her... So, Major Lunah can benefit from Cover using Ricochet if she's in Cover from her Target.

    From Reference:
    It should be read as "Effects with a :SL:Range ignore the Line of Sight and thus Cover rules".

    :wink:
     
    Flipswitch, Damiel and zlavin like this.
  4. Flipswitch

    Flipswitch Sepsitorised by Intent
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    2,171
    Thanks all :)

    I assume Hannibal passive ability for extra dice also does not work as you are not using LOS on marked targets!
     
    #4 Flipswitch, Jul 27, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2018
  5. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    2,066
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Exactly.
     
    Flipswitch likes this.
  6. Flipswitch

    Flipswitch Sepsitorised by Intent
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    2,171