1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

LoS rules + Warning! in Fireteams

Discussion in 'Rules' started by McPopson, Jun 23, 2019.

  1. McPopson

    McPopson New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello!
    I had this situation last game, and was hoping someone smarter than me could resolve it :slightly_smiling_face: Situation was like this (please excuse my professional drawing...) :
    [​IMG]
    A and B are two Xeodrones in Haris (there was also Samaritan around, but lets ignore him for the moment as he is not relevant) with red part marking their "backs". C is Yojimbo. What happened was that Yojimbo (C) spent an Order and got into CC with Xeodrone B. Now there are two things I have questions about:

    1) Xeodrone B declares ARO shoot with his heavy pistol. Can Xeodrone A also declare shoot? Xeodrone A has a part of Yojimbo (C) in his front arc and also can draw a unobstructed line from his silhouette to the Yojimbo's and could see more than a 3x3 mm part of it. So theretically, in accordance to the latest FAQ and LoF errata on page 14, he should be able to shoot at Yojimbo too? We ruled that Xeodrone A CAN NOT shoot Yojimbo, but I wanted to be sure, since that LoS errata in FAQ kinda shocked the players around here... :wink:

    2) Following, both Xeodrones are in Haris and only Xeodrone B declared ARO while Xeodrone A choose to forfeit its ARO (since we ruled he can not shoot and Change Facing would put Xeodrone A out of the Haris). In such case, could Xeodrone A perform Warning! after Yojimbo attacked Xeodrone B in CC? We ruled that he can't, because he was a part of Haris from which one member performed ARO. But now when I have re-read rules for Warning! and Fireteam ARO I have strong doubts about this being correct.

    I hope I described situation clear enough (I'm not native english speaker, sorry). I would be very grateful for clarification on this situation from someone more proficient in ItG rules than me :grinning:
     

    Attached Files:

    Ogid likes this.
  2. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    751
    Not smarter, just more experienced :wink:. Nice drawing btw!

    A) Yeah, that LoS FAQ was also surprising to me at first, but it makes sense to prevent some exploits. I'll say that Xeno A meets all the requisites so he can trace LoF and declare the BS ARO.
    B) I'd say that if he didn't ARO in that order, then he is able to use the Warning! rule. Being in a Fireteam doesn't turn the trooper into an asshole that won't altert their comrades that there is a threat near by.
     
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,298
    Likes Received:
    7,870
    Did you nean Warning! or did you mean Alert?

    1) Yes, both Xeodrones have LOF.
    2) Yojimbo doesn't have any Silent weapons. If A didn't have LOF they could declare Change Facing. In order to use Warning, B must survive.

    Remember that being in a Fireteam does NOT mean all members act the same, it means that declarations come with restrictions in exchange for bonuses on rolls and shared movement skills.
     
    #3 Mahtamori, Jun 23, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2019
  4. McPopson

    McPopson New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you both for the answers. I tried to make good picture of the situation, since it would be difficult to explain otherwise :wink: Yes, I ment Warning!. Alert is something completely different, I know that :slightly_smiling_face: So I guess we ruled wrong in both cases and it should be:

    1) Both Xeodrones could shoot as they both have LOF.
    2) Xeodrone B could use Warning! rule since he didn't declare ARO himself (as we assumed he doesn't have LOF).

    @Mahtamori are You sure about that Xeodrone B had to survive? There is nothing about this in Warning! rule, even the example for using it clearly shows that this is not the case. Are you referring to Silent label for weapons?
     
  5. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,298
    Likes Received:
    7,870
    Yes, you are correct, I'm confusing it with the Silent label.
     
  6. Wolf

    Wolf https://watchwolf.net

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    For the sake of clarity to later readers, can you explain why Trooper A does have Line of Fire, please? :smile:
    Thanks.
     
  7. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    1,338
    Read FAQ 1.6 page 14

    If :
    - you are shot in your rear arc
    - but the shooter is (partially or fully) in your 180° front arc (even if there is an obstacle)

    The, you have LoF

    FAQ screen capture :
    FAQ.png
     
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,298
    Likes Received:
    7,870
    This, but with a minor correction; the FAQ does not require the model to be shot at first. In the pictures from the FAQ, the green model will have LOF to the blue model regardless of what the blue model does and regardless if the blue model is turned to face the green model (i.e. it doesn't require reciprocity, either).
     
    inane.imp and daboarder like this.
  9. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,676
    Likes Received:
    8,465
    Basically

    A) There is LoF from any part of A's Silhouette to any part of C's Silhouette.
    B) Some part of C's Silhouette is in the front arc of A
     
    inane.imp likes this.
  10. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    And provided that
    C) at least 3mmx3mm of either Sil is visible from the other Sil
     
    colbrook likes this.
  11. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,676
    Likes Received:
    8,465
    Well yes, otherwise there wouldn't be LoF :)
     
  12. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    See templates. LOF exists from the Blast Focus even in situations where it's less than a 3mm x 3mm area.

    While in this instance context means that the 3mm X 3mm is necessary, I find it better to be explicit when building a list of conditions. :)