1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Kiuutan Imposters

Discussion in 'Tohaa' started by Cothel, Mar 13, 2019.

  1. RobertShepherd

    RobertShepherd Brisk antipodean

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    I've run Kaeltar with bombs in two out of three games with the Kiuutan so far. It's a major headache because you can't reserve drop them if you put bombs on them. Basically, the tactic is viable on paper but extremely challenging to execute in practice even if you take two Kiuutans in spiral and put a bomb on each, which I did.

    I'm hoping it's a learning curve thing, though. Also, in fairness, the scenario I ran the two Kiuutans in was Acquisition, which has thick deployment zones that keep them from getting the most out of their inferior impersonation.
     
  2. DustGod

    DustGod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    205
    Why is that?
    Also Can you infiltrate, Hidden deploy etc with mates?
    Just trying to find out what you can and can't do with mates attached...
     
  3. East of Irem

    East of Irem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    76
    The kaeltar and mates are deployed simultaneously (just like other deployables such as that mine you've laid). So if you hold back a trooper after the kaeltar has deployed the mates/bombs will already be on the table.
     
    Cothel likes this.
  4. Hiereth

    Hiereth AI Artichoke

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    340
    Assuming bombs follow the same rules as mates like they usually do for placement we cannot place bombs nor mates on the imposter. Source being the new rules pdf..
     
  5. borings

    borings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    388
    I think you might be able to deploy far upfield and not be in impersonation state to be able to carry a bomb/mate tho.
     
  6. Hiereth

    Hiereth AI Artichoke

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    340
    As long as your not in impersonation I'm sure, just weird to yank that away.
     
  7. borings

    borings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    388
    After release of full rules, still feel like the profile for vanilla is a do nothing troop. Basically a gao tarsos with no weapon options or ability to be a specialist.
     
  8. ChoTimberwolf

    ChoTimberwolf Artichoken Friend

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    357
    so just read the new rules pamphlet you cant put bombs or mate on an impersionation marker
     
    Zsolt likes this.
  9. borings

    borings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    388
    Oh yeah i agree
     
  10. entropolous

    entropolous Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    25
    On the bright side they can deploy in the enemy deployment zone.
     
    Abrilete and ChoTimberwolf like this.
  11. Hiereth

    Hiereth AI Artichoke

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    340
    Yes! Luckily Carlos was wrong once again
     
    Zsolt and Abrilete like this.
  12. RobertShepherd

    RobertShepherd Brisk antipodean

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    Per the wiki at time of writing, putting a bomb on a Kiuutan is totally legal, putting a mate is not.
     
  13. Scactha

    Scactha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    22
    Correct. Differing from Mates it doesn´t include the Model clause:
    Mate adds
    I tried this guy in vanilla last night. With me going second and he burned 4-5 orders before going down. The Hyperdynamics L1 was quite useful vs Fury Warbands who had to delegate its removal to more Bursty troops. Unfortunately did I miss that he could´ve deployed with Bombs. Isolating that HMG Grey in a 5 man link had been neat. Further I noticed that deploying Impersonators is a whole chapter by itself which I hadn´t thought through. It´ll be very interesting going forward.
     
    Abrilete and RobertShepherd like this.
  14. n21lv

    n21lv SymbioHate

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    609
    Just wanted to note that the idea of putting a Bomb onto a marker-state Kiuutan is no longer valid with the release of the FAQ 1.6, which errata-ed that interaction.

    However, I think it (deploying the Kiuutan without the IMP-2 state, but with a Bomb assigned) is still quite a viable strategy to disable or at least temporarily block certain annoying pieces such as Apsara+Dakini Core, Intruder, Djanbazan etc. Most of the time you can estimate where these pieces will be deployed by reading the 'signals' from other, already deployed troops. I mean stuff like, when playing against Nomads, a Daktari and a Jaguar positioned next to each other are signalling that an Intruder is about to be deployed somewhere nearby.
     
    #74 n21lv, May 16, 2019
    Last edited: May 16, 2019
    Abrilete and melkiach like this.
  15. wendigo

    wendigo Nomad Artichoke

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    478
    Played a game with Tohaa this week, trying out some of the new units. I went first and deployed both a Grief Operative and a Kiuutan prone on rooftops right outside the enemy DZ. My opponent didn't know any better and dropped a Brigada/Alguacil core (Corregidor) on a nearby rooftop. I deployed the Kaeltar in reserve and slapped a bomb on the Kiuutan. First order of the game, I activated the bomb and isolated the Brigada ML, dropping him out of the link and making my turn much easier. That Brigada was still a bitch to bring down, but at least he wasn't getting fireteam bonuses in any of our engagements.

    30pts is pretty steep for this trick especially in Tohaa. I would imagine it's even more valuable when going second, as they play "unpin the fireteam" instead of moving forwards. I don't know how often I'll use it, but just because you have a Kiuutan in your list doesn't mean you have to deploy him without impersonation. Consider me a fan.