1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

ITS11 Questions & Answers

Discussion in 'ITS' started by ijw, Sep 6, 2019.

  1. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    I'd think the difference is really only due to the scavanger rule or, perhaps, some holdover from previous editions. And I guess there's also the "modeling the mini with separate guns or a single combined gun" thing...
     
  2. Hachiman Taro

    Hachiman Taro Inverted gadfly

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    832
    Can a Seed Soldier Forward Observer be nominated as a Liaison Officer?

    Context:

    The Troop does not deploy on the table as a Forward Observer (it deploys as a Seed Embryo without that skill). However, it is a Forward Observer in your army list and Liaison Officer states "At the end of the Deployment Phase, in Initiative order, players must declare which troop possessing the Forward Observer Special Skill from their Army List is their Liaison Officer. The trooper chosen must be always one of the models or Markers deployed on the game table."

    Emphasis added. The emphasised part reads to me that you could nominate a Seed Soldier FO, though the sentence after brings that somewhat into question.
     
    Hecaton and toadchild like this.
  3. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1,638
    Seed Embryo is a skill that grant a STATE to the model, Just like Sapper. These states modify the profile.
     
  4. Hachiman Taro

    Hachiman Taro Inverted gadfly

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    832
    I dont think it's a state as such (but rather an alternate profile of the troop, like the different sujian forms). However Forward Observer does print as a skill on the seed profile on the actual army list, it just doesnt show in the army interface online which is slightly wierd. Presumably theres only one seed profile in army for all the different developed soldier profiles. But I assume then the answer is yes a seed soldier FO can be a Liaison Officer....
     
    #24 Hachiman Taro, Sep 13, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2019
  5. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1,638
  6. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,160
    Likes Received:
    10,476
    This appears to be a bug in Army, there should only be one identical Seed-Embryo profile for all Seed Soldiers.

    Which means that you can't pick the Seed-Embryo as a Liaison Officer in the same way that you can't pick a TAG who's Pilot has the Forward Observer Skill.
     
  7. Hachiman Taro

    Hachiman Taro Inverted gadfly

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    832
    With a Seed Soldier you select the Forward Observer profile for your army list, with a TAG you don't though (is there even an FO pilot?). So they are not quite the same. Hence the original question.
     
  8. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    I think the point is that by choosing the TAG with an FO pilot (I'm with you here... is there even one?), you've chosen an FO profile that doesn't start as an FO profile.
     
  9. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    7,725
    For the sake of completeness, the O-Yoroi pilot is an FO (but obviously couldn't be liason).
     
    Hachiman Taro likes this.
  10. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    Could you deploy the pilot dismounted to then declare her the LO? Seeing how IJW is arguing that you have to deploy your Onyx Malignos without HD, would you have to deploy your O-Yoroi pilot dismounted if there are no other options?
     
  11. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    7,725
    The only trooper with rules allowing them to deploy dismounted is the AI Motorcycle.
     
    DukeofEarl and Sabin76 like this.
  12. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    Hadn't realized. I thought regular bike could be deployed dismounted, but as I'm typing this I think I got it confused with the advocation for it so booty troopers placed in alleys could actually do something if they roll a bike.
     
  13. Gero

    Gero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    50
    For the Mission, Frontline, there is no special condition specifying that the Retreat Rules are not applied I.e: No Quarter.

    On the End of the Mission it reads “the scenario has a limited time frame and will automatically end at the end of the 3rd Game round”, however It does not mention Retreat in any place, does this mean the Mission does not employ the retreat rules?
     
  14. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    There is a difference between the retreat rules in the base game, and "Ends on Retreat" in ITS missions. If the mission doesn't specify anything, it will be using the base retreat rules, I believe.
     
    BLOODGOD, ijw, Hecaton and 1 other person like this.
  15. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,160
    Likes Received:
    10,476
    As Sabin76 says, the missions only specify differences from the normal Retreat! rules. So if a mission doesn't mention Retreat! then you use the standard Retreat! rules.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  16. n21lv

    n21lv SymbioHate

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    690
    @ijw, this has been answered in the FAQ v1.8, so it can be removed from the list.