1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

ITS 9 Question and Answer

Discussion in 'ITS' started by locksmith, Nov 28, 2017.

  1. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    Hunting Party provides objective points based on "Specialist Troop" kills. Specialist Operative is not listed in the definition of what constitutes a "Specialist Troop" for this mission. The reminder explains that the can "accomplish functions" like a Specialist Troop (without stating they are one). Wiki definition for Specialist Operative says they are always considered to be a "Specialist Troop". So, does a Specialist Operative count for this or not?

    I am confused because there is no foreseeable reason to exclude Specialist Operative from the definition of what is a Specialist Troop - so why do they not get a mention? It reads as though it is intentional, but this seems to go against the grain of common belief.
     
  2. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,051
    Likes Received:
    10,284
    As you say, the Specialist Operative Special Skill specifically says that the trooper is a Specialist Troop.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  3. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    And, as I said, seems to be unusually poor rules writing in the ITS document to both; fail to list Specialist Operative as a Specialist Troop, and then provide a "reminder" that describes them functioning "as though they were one" without saying they are one.

    Food for thought when writing season 10 ;)
     
  4. Natsymir

    Natsymir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    70
    How do you interact in close combat with the antennas in The Grid?

    If a trooper wants to strike an antenna in close combat with an anti-material weapon (for example a DA Close Combat Weapon), must he end his order in base to base contact with the antenna, as he would if he entered close combat with a trooper, or can he touch the antenna and move past it, like he could if he was pushing a button on a regular objective?
     
  5. split-infinity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    This came up in our game last night.
    Does not state that destroyed scenery be removed from the table, so can a Destroyed antenna still be Designated?
     
  6. Zamiel

    Zamiel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Designating my Datatracker:

    I understand that the Datatracker must be a model on the game table and is identified at the end of deployment, in Initiative order. May I, having seen the final disposition of troops on both sides, reveal the identity of a marker or trooper Hidden Deployment to designate them as the Datatracker?

    For example, an Hassassin Fiday placed during deployment as an Impersonation Marker, or Oniwaban Shinobu Kitsune placed in Hidden Deployment, after final deployment, is in what looks to me like the perfect position. May I replace the marker with the model/reveal the Hidden Deployment information and state “That’s my Datatracker”?
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,051
    Likes Received:
    10,284
    No, there's nothing in the rules that lets you reveal a trooper during Deployment.
     
  8. Cry of the Wind

    Cry of the Wind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    374
    Possibly dumb question that came up tonight. Everything that I have read suggests that in the mission Supplies, if I declare that my trooper touching a Supply Box that is lying on the ground is going to pick it up (attack short skill) and the move away (move short skill) and my trooper is put into a null state by an ARO against it, the Supply Box (and body if unconscious) would end up at the end of the troopers movement.

    My opponent argued that being in a null state after the resolution of the order meant I could not have picked up the box and it would stay in place while my unconscious trooper would end up where he moved. He gave up and let me move the Supply Box but still seemed to think the box should have stayed. I have found nothing suggesting his viewpoint, ARO section says its all simultaneous and nothing in Supplies seems to suggest otherwise, am I/he going crazy?
     
  9. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,837
    Likes Received:
    7,256
    All effects of successful skills should apply. The pickup and the BS Attack are not Face To Face, so they should not be able to affect each other at all.
     
    Cry of the Wind likes this.
  10. Cry of the Wind

    Cry of the Wind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    374
    I agree and figure that makes sense. Nothing I have read suggest it is any different from any order resolution in the game. Does raise the curious question, is there anything in the game the breaks how orders are resolved? Closest thing I can think of is Smoke Dodge as it kinda resolves during the order instead of after but it is a very special and clearly explained (if not named).
     
  11. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,837
    Likes Received:
    7,256
    Smoke doesn't, it's a Face to Face effect, but with a bit curious pre-conditions.

    Silent weapons, though...
     
    Cry of the Wind likes this.
  12. locksmith

    locksmith comlog active

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    908
    Updated Grid answer, and answers received regarding Posthumans & Hunting Party.
     
    DukeofEarl likes this.
  13. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    386
    I dont follow the hunting party on post human rule. Does the active proxy have to end the game on the glued/stunned individual or just at one point be the same model?
     
  14. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Still looking for an answer to this question. Does someone have an idea ?
     
  15. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,559
    Likes Received:
    4,424
    As Lt, the Posthuman is a troop with several bodies, so ALL of them have to be KO/glued at the end of the game. The point of the question is, I imagine, that if only one body remains (the Mk2) and you want to nominate the Posthuman as Lt, but that body is in Hidden Deployment, you can, but you have to place the TO marker on the table, the same way as if the Mk2 had declared "delay" ARO.

    However, as Datatracker, a single body of the Posthuman troop is selected.
     
  16. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,559
    Likes Received:
    4,424
    There is a provision at the end of the Designate Antenna on the spanish ITS document indicating that damaging the antennas before round 2 or antennas you have not designated yourself, then the antenna does not apply the destructible terrain rules.

    Same as previous answer, if not Designated, then the destructible scenography rules won't be applied. Since you cannot place a D-Charge unless Sabotage/destructible terrain...

    The ITS document explicitely states that a Destroyed antenna cannot be Designated.
     
  17. Valmiir

    Valmiir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    20
    I cannot make sense of this sentence. Are you saying the answer to my question is "yes" or "no"?
     
  18. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,559
    Likes Received:
    4,424
    Can you damage a piece of terrain which does not have a profile? So I think no, you cannot damage antennas before the Antenna is Designated by you AND is your second or third round. You can, however, Designate the antenna on your first turn and plant D-Charges.
     
  19. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    386
    for rescue. If a model has forward deployment or infiltration, can they deploy btb to the exclusion line and so be btb with the difficult terrain?

    This would eliminate the cost of forfeiting the rest of the move action when entering btb with the terrain.

    Is this legal?
     
  20. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,393
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    Another reason why Posthumans are busted, wow.