1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

ITS 9 Question and Answer

Discussion in 'ITS' started by locksmith, Nov 28, 2017.

  1. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,549
    Likes Received:
    4,420
    And what if you don't? Does the scenario play differently, because now you can Designate destroyed Antennas? That seems to be the conclusion that can be drawn.
     
  2. tyrannosaurus69

    tyrannosaurus69 Flatlined console cowboy

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    204
    @Bobman here's the offending paragraph that was removed from the newest version of the ITS rules, hence the confusion. I took this photo from my Treason book.

    20171205_081357_001.jpg
     
    Belgrim and Bobman like this.
  3. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    4,727
    I know you like to read things very literally, but I would play it that destroyed objectives can't be interacted with, and cite that bullet point as grounds.
     
  4. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,549
    Likes Received:
    4,420
    I agree that's how it should be played, but I wouldn't feel comfortable citing that bullet point. Part of the problem is there was a lack of awareness of the clause in Disabled about how scenery items stop functioning when in that state, and so I don't rely on logic to figure out how these scenarios actually work... it doesn't get you anywhere.
     
  5. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    1,157
    Question regarding the killing state (in scenario where the datracker have to kill the HVT)

    My datatracker make the designated target fall unconscious, another of mine trooper perform coup de grace (or shoot it, CC it...) on the designated target and kill it. Do I pass the objective for killing the designated target with my datatracker ?

    Same question with the opposite situation (a trooper make it fall unconscious then the dataracker coup de grace it)
     
  6. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,661
    Likes Received:
    4,513
    If you check, for example, Decapitation, you can see that the word "kill" is used consistently both refering to enemy Lts and the designated target. So you can use the same answer that was given if anyone asked about it regarding Lts (do they need to be removed from the table, or just unconscious?).

    I'd say its sending the Designated Target to Unconscious (or Dead if he suffers more wounds) what selects the scoring trooper, so it would be the first case counting as "killed with your datatracker".
     
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,053
    Likes Received:
    7,575
    A trooper isn't dead until it enters Dead State. If your Datatracker doesn't score an unsaved wound on the Designated Target during the order in which the Designated Target enters Dead State, then you do not score the extra points.
     
  8. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    10,440
    To expand on Xagroth's post, Killing is either putting the trooper into Dead state or it being Unconscious at the end of the game.

    So if the HVT ends up Dead, the Data Tracker would need to be the trooper that put it into Dead state.

    But if the HVT ends the game Unconscious, the Data Tracker would only need to have put them in the Unconscious state.
     
    cobraprime, Arkhos94 and xagroth like this.
  9. Reece

    Reece EI Aspect
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    323
    In Looting and Sabotaging, can you get bonuses from Fireteam members (coordinated orders, friendly models, etc) for CC attacks if the other models are in BtB? I know they're not "engaged", but you're making a CC attack without being engaged already.
     
  10. dlfleetw

    dlfleetw Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    296
    If you can use MA on them (answer 14) then why can't you get burst bonus?

    Short answer. Yes you do.

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
    toadchild and Reece like this.
  11. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    Scenery rules and missions like The Grid

    As per the scenery rules in N3, is it the intention for the an enemy trooper standing out of LOF but within a circular impact template range to completely nullify the ability to fire at Antennas with weapons such as Smart Missiles.
     
  12. dlfleetw

    dlfleetw Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    296
    Smart weapons are the only ones that this "missed" rule is actually effecting as they have to fire in blast mode.

    In your scenario, you can get that model in the targeted state and wail away at them and as long as you hit you get the antenna every time regardless of the troopers dodge roll.

    That goes along with the can the antennas enter the targeted state (seems like that is the actual issue) We should get an answer for that.

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
  13. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    From what I understand the antennas and targeted state is already case closed, they're not troopers so they aren't subject to it.

    Again, point is not that you could get around a poorly written interaction, the point is you shouldn't have to "get around it" in the first place. As I've pointed out it's an asinine distinction between being able to hit the antenna only if you target the trooper.

    It's something that if I was playing a new player if it ever came up I would 100% pretend the rule didn't exist, because I'd come across as a huge ass if I tried to explain to them that for convoluted reasons they weren't allowed to shoot the objective. It's the kind of "so sorry but you can't do that explanation" that'd potentially put them off playing Infinity which is the last thing I'd want to do.
     
  14. dlfleetw

    dlfleetw Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    296
    Mods being based on the target (Antenna, gets no cover, no mods) doesn't particularly matter until a Camo, ODD etc model is standing next to a scenery item and that is where it skews/becomes an issue.

    Targeting the model and whacking the antenna you are subject to the mods but the other way around you are circumventing shooting mods models pay points for.


    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
  15. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    That's not a viable answer when that ODD model could try standing further than 0.79 inches away from the objective to maintain their mods. That's not a big ask.

    On the other hand on the board I played on today there were 4 Antennas that wound up in such a position where a model could sit around a corner of a building yet be within that 0.79 inches and prevent templates from being used on those antenna. Can you imagine me mid game going to my new opponent and saying "uh, so actually no you can't shoot that one, that one, that one, or that one with the remote you bought today. Why? Because I have dudes standing around the corner. Yes, no, really. Yes, that's a thing you're not allowed to hurt my models so you're not allowed to do that."

    Seriously. Walk yourself through that conversation with a new player and think about whether you get out of it with any sort of face left.
     
  16. dlfleetw

    dlfleetw Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    296
    From a smart missile launcher...

    It is not a big ask to consider the other viable Antimaterial BS weapons that have hit mods etc. When building a list for the Grid.

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
  17. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    Seriously, walk yourself through that conversation with a new player and tell me you aren't thinking wow this is dumb in your head, or that he's not starting to think you're being a WAAC in his head.

    That's a pretty good indication of that rule isn't working properly.
     
    chromedog and Reece like this.
  18. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,549
    Likes Received:
    4,420
    I could say the same thing about not being able to put scenery pieces in the Targeted state... in the end Infinity can't model "reality" perfectly. There must be sacrifices made to make it a good game.
     
  19. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    Sure, this isn't one of those things though. It's a pretty easy tidy up of the rules to exempt mission objective structures from that one line of scenery rules. You could add one line of text to a FAQ or the next ITS book on your lunch break.
     
  20. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,053
    Likes Received:
    7,575
    Can a Designated Target dodge speculative fire shots? (Decapitation)