1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is the intent of the Symbiomate to grant Immunity (Total) against Hacking Programs?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by meikyoushisui, Oct 22, 2020.

  1. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,944
    Likes Received:
    5,673
    Is this shade?
     
  2. meikyoushisui

    meikyoushisui Competitor for Most Ignored User

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    2,825
    Nah, I think back when I wrote this I intended that to mean that I thought that the problem was the phrasing of comms attacks implicitly excluding Hacking Attacks, because the alternative led to a dumb conclusion. A kind of proof by contradiction, I guess.
     
  3. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    2,481
    I'm stressing the relevant parts.

    If you are going to take a Saving Roll because:
    • you suffered a successful attack (because you lost the FtF or the enemy got his normal roll)
    • you are affected by a weapon (there are weapons where you don't roll for success, like Direct Templates)
    • you are affected by a rule (like Combat Jump (Explosion) that is probably the only non attack that forces a Saving roll)
    then you MUST use the Symbiomate.

    What is Spotlight? It is a Comms Attack, so it is an Attack.
    Does it require a Saving Roll? No, so you don't use your Symbiomate.
     
    Mahtamori likes this.
  4. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    10,198
    Likes Received:
    12,763
    That's also an attack and follows all the restrictions on attacks, so camouflaged units are safe from it. See the underline emphasis in the rules quote below.

    After performing the PH Roll and determining the Trooper's final location, the Trooper makes a Direct Template Attack, placing the center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) over the center of their base.​
     
  5. konuhageruke

    konuhageruke Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    670
    I was wandering for a while now. What about biotechvore area? Does it force to use symbiomate with their bonus BTS, can it even be used there?
     
  6. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    2,481
    Is it a (special) rule that forces a Saving Roll? Yes.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation