1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Impetues order and smoke

Discussion in 'Rules' started by eciu, Dec 19, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Teslarod

    Teslarod Trebuchet Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    No he can't as he is unable to declare Skills with attack label, which BS Attack is.
     
    chromedog and xammy like this.
  2. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    That's what I used to think as well.

    @Mahtamori. I like your logic. But I think it's too twisty to get up. We'll see (or we won't).
     
    Ginrei likes this.
  3. Mruczyslaw

    Mruczyslaw AROnaut

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    957
    Cool, but we just agreed that smoke dodge isnt attack. So only spitfire decales attack in my example.
     
  4. xammy

    xammy Keeper of Random Facts and Strong Opinions

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    630
    Smoke Dodge (why did they call it that!?) is an aspect of the ammo type it has nothing to do with the skill you call out as part of an order or ARO.

    It goes "I declare BS attack: throw smoke grenade, or shoot smoke grenade from grenade launcher" OK what does this ammo do? ... well it has a handy ability to block your incoming bullets (dice) if it goes off. Basically applying the benefits of the smoke during the attack instead of after like you would normally get with these kinds of effects.

    It's also targetless, so you can aim it at your friends the ground, the enemy, as long as it can be seen the smoke grenade thrown there.

    It's also nonlethal, so you can throw it on top of neutral/friendly models.

    All of these things are modifiers on a BS attack skill.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  5. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    No they all declare BS Attack (except the guy who declared Dodge and the guy who didn't declare anything).

    One of which is still a BS Attack but not an Attack. Whether this means that an attack was declared and but not performed or whether it wasn't declared as an attack is a separate question.

    (God that's confusing).
     
  6. Mruczyslaw

    Mruczyslaw AROnaut

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    957
    Confusing, aye?:D My point as well tbh xD So, smoke dodge is attack in link team, but it isnt with blinded model?...;D
     
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    7,878
    No. Like I wrote, Fireteam Integrity depends on Skill declaration. It is utterly irrelevant whether the skills in question have the "attack" trait. If in a Duo during an ARO model A declares BS Attack with a Spitfire and model B declares CC Attack with a Shock CCW, both have declared skills that are attacks, but they have declared different skills meaning one of them gets kicked out of the Duo and the team gets cancelled.
     
    inane.imp and chromedog like this.
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    7,878
    Well it wouldn't be the first time twisty logic proves correct, now would it? :)
     
    DukeofEarl and inane.imp like this.
  9. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,436
    Likes Received:
    2,634
  10. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    4,093
    So how are we standing gyus?

    My point being mayby we all have failed to understand CB rules (like we did in case of shock and NWI 2+ W)
     
  11. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    Which time? ;) It's worth noting that that needed official intervention to provide 'clarity'.

    Basically, just continue playing it like this (which is pretty much how everyone was doing it anyway):

    1. Yes, you can use BS Attacks with the Special Dodge effect as part of an Impetuous Order.
    2. No, you can't use BS Attacks with the Special Dodge trait while Stunned.
    And then wait for an FAQ that tells us that 1 is correct but 2 is wrong. Or vice versa.
     
    JacobJ, paraelix, Zewrath and 3 others like this.
  12. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    4,093
    I agree that playimg "as always" is best solution for the moment.

    The whole thread is just a theorycraft if WB were created "less powerfull" and we all just failed to play it correctly ;P
     
  13. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    I tend to argue with people when they say Infinity's rules are too complex and crazy. But this "can throw grenades while blind" is some next level shit.