1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

How I envision a redone CC...

Discussion in 'Access Guide to the Human Sphere' started by Sabin76, Aug 6, 2019.

  1. Nenyx

    Nenyx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    748
    That was on the same roof (so in engage range), and basically a sniper's nest. And the position i chose was in sight for the ninja. So had i used an order to reveal my Mk.2, the ninja would have engaged. I had only around 1/3 chances to disable the ninja. I would have just wasted orders for nothing. Better consider it a loss and focus on something else. I guess (don't quite remember) i just smoked my way to the objectives with good old Machaon. No need to force an unfavorable situation.
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,277
    Likes Received:
    7,837
    Well, sure, if you're missing a Sensor-equipped unit or if there's another unit able to ARO the Mk2, but what I'm saying is that the Mk2 has fairly good odds of killing the Ninja or otherwise disabling it for the remainder of the turn which is probably going to be worth it considering how much of an investment a sniper Ninja is.
    It's more of a comment directed at @Section9 than you, though, as it's meant to illustrate how impotent CC ability is in ARO unless you're already in melee, so it's not much of a bubble.
     
  3. Nenyx

    Nenyx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    748
    Even if you have a sensor, it is probably not in sight of a sniper (or it should have been already killed) so you're going to use at least 3 orders to do that (1 for engage, 1 for moving the sensor on sight and 1 for the triangulated fire). And that is with a unit in position to engage. It may be worth it, depending on the board, the objectives, the general state of the game ... But it's still at least 3 orders so one may prefer not to do it even with good odds.
     
  4. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,277
    Likes Received:
    7,837
    *shrug* I'd do it if I had a chance any day of the week to a TO sniper. Then again, I don't play Aleph so I have much lower access to smoke and no access to it on specialists. Unless I'm playing IA, in which case I generally have to deal with the sniper before I do anything at all.
     
    Nenyx likes this.
  5. Teslarod

    Teslarod Trebuchet Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    2,599
    I really like how CC works right now although it's probably the mechanically hardest part of the game to utilize properly.

    And definitely swingy outside of Stealth FAQ exploits.
     
  6. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5,919
    Likes Received:
    9,332
    Agreed. CC should NOT cost much, not with the opportunity costs of getting into CC usually being so high.



    Sure, it's not anywhere near as solid as most people think it is. But as Nenyx said, just being within Engage range of that Ninja made that Posthuman Proxy too risky to activate. Very few people are going to voluntarily get within 8" of a Ninja.
     
    Abrilete likes this.
  7. Agorapocalypse

    Agorapocalypse Namurr and Nahab are girlfriends

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    244
    Just want to comment on 2 older things said in the thread.
    1st: engage most definitely be allowed to go around a corner, otherwise it becomes useless. If i have to spend an order to walk into los first, then im just gonna shoot the enemy with my second short skill. And if they arent facing me, then i can use my stealth anyways, or just shoot them in the back. Or still cc them cause i move 4, they dodge change facing, and i move into cc. Then we are locked in.

    2nd: as for the morlock argument, that sounds more like you have an issue with a unit costing less than a line trooper, ava 4+ and have some niche lethal upper hand. Which is everybodys issue with 5 point warbands, but theres so many ways to deal with them.
     
    Abrilete likes this.
  8. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    1,601
    We're talking Assault here, I assume?
     
  9. Agorapocalypse

    Agorapocalypse Namurr and Nahab are girlfriends

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    244
    Sorry, i meant assault. It was late last night when i posted.
     
  10. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    1,500
    I guess I should be clear that my idea was written with keeping CC and MA costs the same as now. If those were reduced to be more in line with the deterrent nature of many "CC specialists", current CC would be better.