How exactly is Climb supposed to work?

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por Teslarod, 2 May 2018.

Etiquetas:
  1. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    "reach a level surface" is poor terminology.

    Plain English to "reach" something is to touch it.

    You and IJW are saying that movement is measured until it the model is "fully supported by a level surface" not merely "reaching a level surface".
     
  2. Wolf

    Wolf https://youtube.com/@StudioWatchwolf

    Registrado:
    30 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    835
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    970
    I. After the 3rd Teachings were upon the land and the Fireteams of the ‘Sphere were likewise known, there came a time when the Children of Lusquiños did not know his will and whether they should Climb in one way or another.

    II. Thus being without agreement in their games they were rent asunder, and saw with terror that even the Priest of the Temple of Fluff and the Priest of the Temple of Rules could not agree; and the sound of rolling dice was stilled.

    III. And some said the Lord Lusquiños had deserted them, that surely the Division of the Eastern Armies was proof of this, and that if even His Priests could not agree then all hope was lost and they might just as well play Forty-Kay.

    IV. So the Priest of Fluff reasoned with them saying “Are we not your guides unto the ends of each Game, be it even in Retreat?” But the people retorted angrily “Would that it were so Kostas; but we do not even know which teachings are thine!”

    V. So with a stern voice, he said “Verily, ye may trust that thine Homeboys Kostas and Woodsy do indeed know what time it is. And as proof of this I shall set my Red Text of Authority upon the Forum and it shall be as a token of covenant for the Children of Lusquiños.

    VI. And seeing his Red Text the Children rejoiced, saying “Who knew that it mattered if a ruling be one thing or another as long as we all agree?” and for a time they were happy - knowing the Will of the The Lord once again.
     
    #42 Wolf, 4 May 2018
    Última edición: 5 May 2018
    Sanjuro, n21lv, Skjarr y 5 otros les gusta esto.
  3. psychoticstorm

    psychoticstorm Aleph's rogue child
    Moderator

    Registrado:
    4 Mar 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.816
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    12.491
    @inane.imp

    As far as I remember the graphic is indeed supposed to represent a wall that cannot support a base at its top.

    I cannot find it on first glance but somewhere in the rules it says a model cannot be in a place that cannot support its base, so the model must have sufficient movement to end up with its full base on the ledge of the wall.
     
  4. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    Yes, because it doesn't say that measurement stops when you reach the surface, it says movement stops when you reach the surface: 'his movement ends for that Order'.

    I don't think it makes sense for the trooper to stop their movement while still on the wall, because as previously pointed out this would make it impossible to ever get onto the horizontal surface.
     
  5. zapp

    zapp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    27 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    723
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.312
    I'm glad to see that we were not the only ones to be confused by this ruling. This came up in one of the very first Icestorm games where all buildings are 2,5" tall and have 0,5" lip, so you could not reach the top with a 4" move.
    Since then, we just play it that you can climb up to 3", and vault over a lip thats smaller than your siluette, so you have the 1" move left that lets you reach the level surface.
     
  6. Tom McTrouble

    Tom McTrouble Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    3 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    564
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    559
    I can understand if this is the ruling, but if it is such, @inane.imp is right in that the "reach" section of that should be made to read more clearly. I don't think you can draw the conclusion by citing measurement vs movement. You forfeit all of your move when you hit a condition that stops your movement. Difficult Terrain's examples even spell out that interaction. If your movement remaining becomes 0", no amount of measuring changes that.
     
    A Hecaton le gusta esto.
  7. Sanjuro

    Sanjuro Active Member

    Registrado:
    28 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    55
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    34
    If the dev team cant remember how they were supposed to play a basic rule on scenery made by cb make then the old wolf is right
     
    #47 Sanjuro, 4 May 2018
    Última edición: 13 May 2018
  8. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Registrado:
    5 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    884
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.292
    I honestly didn't think people used full order Climb that much haha
     
  9. Tom McTrouble

    Tom McTrouble Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    3 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    564
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    559
    I don't know that they do, but it is important for distinguishing when a climb is appropriate and when a jump is appropriate.
     
    A macfergusson le gusta esto.
  10. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.268
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.102
    For the sake of simplicity, I've always played it that a model with a 4" move can climb up a 4" wall and effectively gets a base displacement for free. While it may not be technically within the rules, it's easy to measure and quick to resolve.
     
  11. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Registrado:
    5 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    2.556
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.509
    I, personally, do not see any other way to play it. I would be appalled to find someone who has an issue with this.
     
  12. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    809
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    630
    There is an example that shows the horizon-vertical transition does not cost any movement. And as brought up before on this forum before, examples are rules.

    I agree that this example only works if the top part is not large enough to hold the base, but the transition of horizontal-vertical doesnt show to be extra distance that counts.

    Grafico-Trepar1.jpg
     
  13. psychoticstorm

    psychoticstorm Aleph's rogue child
    Moderator

    Registrado:
    4 Mar 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.816
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    12.491
    The model with a 4" movement needs to have a 3" wall to do that.
     
  14. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Registrado:
    5 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    884
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.292
    In a real game, that's probably how it works out for most part. I guess this would be easier if everyone agreed to only make terrain that is 3" or less, or more than 4" ;)
     
  15. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    3" high buildings. 30mm Narrow doorways, 60mm Wide doors. 30mm wide ledges. 45mm wide bridges. Parapets that are 0mm (no cover), 5mm (total cover for S0), 14mm (cover for <S4), or 20mm (cover for <S6).

    Parapets are 3mm wide so their tops are inarguably a valid location for Smoke / Spec Fire placement.
     
  16. Wolf

    Wolf https://youtube.com/@StudioWatchwolf

    Registrado:
    30 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    835
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    970
    Ok, so is the following all correct please?

    1) when Climb-ing, the only horizontal movement usually allowed is that which brings the model’s base onto a surface wide enough to fully support it.
    2) a non-vertical surface may be traversed however if it is narrower than the model’s base, but the distance travelled across that surface is still measured
    2a) units may not move ‘through’ narrow scenery such as roof parapets *
    2b) after such traversal, vertical movement may be resumed in either direction

    ie. in a way that is perhaps unexpectedly unlike Vault-ing somewhat similar obstacles on flat ground?
     
    #56 Wolf, 5 May 2018
    Última edición: 5 May 2018
  17. Hachiman Taro

    Hachiman Taro Inverted gadfly

    Registrado:
    16 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    1.093
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.016
    It is within the rules though, because there's literally a diagram in the rules that demonstrates that's how it's done.

    IMHO the RAW text is often technically incorrect to the intent (or what gives a non ridiculous result) in the rulebook, but the intent and the literal rules instruction is very clear in the diagram.
     
    A inane.imp le gusta esto.
  18. Wolf

    Wolf https://youtube.com/@StudioWatchwolf

    Registrado:
    30 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    835
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    970
    Strictly speaking, this entails a certain amount of latitude, but it’s so minor that (as someone else said) no-one could reasonably object.

    Nor would anyone want to, because it makes sense and is simple to apply. Then the Vault exception could be applied, and it still makes sense; again, if politely ignoring requisite latitude.

    I’m not sure if the Vault application is truly an 'available reading’ (legitimate interpretation for meaning given language, grammar and context) but I know plenty of people play that way (I do myself in two different locales).

    I understand it was a clarification devised in the Warcor channel; can any Warcor confirm that?
     
    #58 Wolf, 5 May 2018
    Última edición: 5 May 2018
  19. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    That sounds unworkable.
     
    A MikeTheScrivener le gusta esto.
  20. Wolf

    Wolf https://youtube.com/@StudioWatchwolf

    Registrado:
    30 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    835
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    970
    [redacted]
     
    #60 Wolf, 5 May 2018
    Última edición: 6 May 2018
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation