1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help with alephe steel phalanx

Discussion in 'Nomads' started by wartorn, Aug 20, 2018.

1. wartorn

wartorn New Member

ok today i played a game vrs the alephe steel phalanx box OMG i got destroyed ODD is insane grant it I was playing a new tungusta list. Now i am very new to the game and even newer to posting forums we have played 200 point games alot never against Aleph and definitly i have never seen ODD in earlier games. were do igo what do i do to combat this. truly a tungusta Nomad noob

2. loricus

loricus Satellite Druid

Templates and mines do well. As usual shoot on your active turn and try to get guys out of cover. If they're in cover and linked you need some way of improving your odds, like a Fireteam and/or getting them out of their range. What you really don't want is 2 to 3 Burst with a BS disadvantage.

3. helsbecter

helsbecter Ultrademocratic subSenator, #dominion Module

Riot Grrls wreck ODD units. They are strong against anything Steel Phalanx can throw at them. I'd recommend the spitfire to exterminate Myrmidons.

4. loricus

loricus Satellite Druid

Tunguska :p

5. Civilized Barbarian

Civilized Barbarian Praxis' Lead R&D Janitor

A couple ideas (assuming Tunguska only):

Put a Grenzer or two into a Securitate link and go hunting. The MSV1 equipment will get rid of the ODD defense, and some of the profiles have flamethrowers (template weapons) so you can entirely ignore rolling if you get too close. It'll be a big obvious assassination target for your opponent though.

Suicidal Zondnautica or Hollow Man to close the distance quickly and put a template weapon into the fireteam. Use the Speed/smoke/superjump to come at them from a weird direction. Tunguska lacks the typical Nomad board control that would handle this problem so you'll need to get aggressive and hope for the best.