1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Get hyped, nerds, for [August Releases]

Discussion in 'News' started by Solar, Jun 25, 2018.

  1. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,761
    Likes Received:
    4,247
    TBH the real fix is call Strategos 1 'Lieutenant 2', Strategos 2 'Lieutenant 3' and Strategos 3 'Lieutenant 4'.
     
    Robock likes this.
  2. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    4,597
    this way you can have both! And the HMG one can use the Lt's order herself without being the Lt, so... extra order for her.

    The HRL also is linkable, as mentioned in another post. The only real limit Aleph has in toys is SWC, as usual.
     
  3. theradrussian

    theradrussian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    661
    @Ginrei let me help you out.

    LT: Lieutenant. A commissioned officer (barring field promotion which ain't a thing in infinity)

    NCO: Non-commissioned officer. Quite literally speaking translates to SGT or other rank that does not have a commissioned posting (aka: no officer school).

    Since these two can't be the same at once, because an NCO can't be a commissioned officer, why would you add it to the Strategos skill that states it only comes into effect when the model with the ability is used as the LT.
     
  4. SmaggTheSmug

    SmaggTheSmug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    691
    NCO being part of Strategos wouldn't work because Strategos requires the trooper to be a Lieutenant and NCO to not be a Lieutenant.
    It would be like putting Chain of Command and Lieutenant on the very same profile.
     
  5. Rey

    Rey Crabbots lead the way

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    164
    or putting CoC on an AD trooper. :grinning:
     
    Berjiz, Stiopa and theradrussian like this.
  6. theradrussian

    theradrussian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    661
    *Singh cries sadly in the corner where he is left as no one brings him* :D
     
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,470
    Likes Received:
    8,046
    No, because you can make CoC work by deploying the AD trooper using the AD rules. Kirpal is in no way shape or form guaranteed to be off the table when your LT dies. You're referring to good old Skornergy where there is value in both, but the synergy you need to make it efficient just isn't there. Different kind of problem, but a problem nevertheless.

    --

    However, I do want to note that it wouldn't make anti-sense to have this as Strategos 0, provided it didn't share the same requirements as Strategos 1-3. This wouldn't be the first time that a levelled skill has different requirements on different levels or where a levelled skills later levels completely made the earlier levels obsolete. No one is arguing that AD3 is sometimes useful if you have AD4 and AD1 doesn't have the same requirements as AD2 or AD4.
    So anyone dissing this idea that it could have been first level of Strategos; don't.
     
    Ginrei likes this.
  8. Solar

    Solar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2,582
    Likes Received:
    4,251
    It's absolutely fine as it is, NCO is cool
     
  9. Tongfa

    Tongfa proudly selling out since 1991

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    266
    Would be interesting to know whether or not NCO reveals who your lieutenant is. Assume so tbh, as NCO seems to act like a Lieutenant order which forces you to reveal who your Lt is.
     
  10. Ben Kenobi

    Ben Kenobi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    1,272
    I don't think, that you must reveal, who's your Lt. You reveal your Lt always indirectly, when you use the order on him.
     
    xagroth and theradrussian like this.
  11. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,761
    Likes Received:
    4,247
    It'll depend on how NCO is actually written because using your Lieutenant order "broadcasts who your Lieutenant is" and is for "his use only".

    It could easily be that the Lieutenant spends the order and the NCO activates or that the Special Lieutenant order is converted into an Irregular order for the NCO's exclusive use.
     
    Solar and ijw like this.
  12. Phayton

    Phayton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    35
    I am wondering if the Yadu NCO can use the Lieutenant Order as a linkleader of a fireteam?
     
  13. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,761
    Likes Received:
    4,247
    ;)
     
    xagroth, tdc, Solar and 1 other person like this.
  14. Ben Kenobi

    Ben Kenobi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    1,272
    Thats your opinion, but I don't think so. You make suggestions, who are not written in the rules.
     
  15. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,283
    Likes Received:
    10,701
    Without the rules text, opinion is all anyone can give.

    That would require the higher levels of LT not being reserved for other stuff. ;-)
     
  16. Ginrei

    Ginrei Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    427
    I've already countered these arguments. I understand the NCO and Lt are different things. But there is NOTHING stopping NCO being given a different name and different meaning while retaining the exact same function.

    The current requirement of being the Lt to use Strategos isn't relevant even though yourself, @SmaggTheSmug, and others have brought it up. That requirement isn't actually necessary in the rules at all. Maybe @Mahtamori can please confirm this for me. If we remove the requirement of being the Lt from Strategos and only put the Strategos skill on Lt Profiles it functions the same. This also eliminates cases like the Skiavoros paying for a skill on profiles it can't use.

    Now by adding NCO(under a different name for fluff reasons) as Strategos lvl0, that skill can be placed on non Lt profiles without complication. Infinity already functions like this. Haris skills are only on select profiles. So are Xvisors, MSV3, hacking devices, the list is long. I'm not suggesting anything that doesn't already exist in this game.

    @ijw I still have to disagree on NCO's real world meaning making it easier to remember the rule compared to Strategos lvl0. They are identical in that both are a single rule that require memorization of their use within Infinity. The connection NCO has to the real world doesn't change the fact its function within Infinity must be learned. Real word definitions don't directly translate into applicable rules within Infinity. So I don't agree the meaning of NCO helps any more than pairing two like skills together both affecting the Lt order. They both have a single trigger for memory recall.

    Without seeing NCO in the actual rules themselves, having one less page/link and one term instead of two is more than enough for me to say which is better. So whether it ends up being a single written word less or not doesn't interest me.
     
  17. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,283
    Likes Received:
    10,701
    Again, we'll have to agree to disagree. What you've listed as counters is personal opinion, which other people don't share.
     
  18. tdc

    tdc ALEPH Fragment
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    !!!!!

    I wonder if/when we'll see that!
     
    Robock likes this.
  19. Solar

    Solar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2,582
    Likes Received:
    4,251
    It is definitely in the character of this forum that our reaction to cool new profiles is to argue about the laying out of rules minutiae in respect of a new rule we've not even actually seen yet...
     
  20. Benkei

    Benkei Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    1,580
    No video today? Is the week over? It would be a battle report anyway, isn't it?