1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Forming Fireteams: a Summary

Discussion in 'Rules' started by ijw, Mar 26, 2018.

  1. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,054
    Likes Received:
    10,289
    Added!
     
    xagroth and cazboab like this.
  2. n21lv

    n21lv SymbioHate

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    672
    I have a related question. Say, I deploy Veel Suuton, a veteran of the Tohaa Kotail detachment, who engages his Holoprojector in order to disguise himself as a mere uninteresting Kamael. Since Kamaels are able to join a Triad, can I create a Triad with a Kotail being part of it, as he pretends to be a troop who has the necessary skill?
    There are examples in the Wiki (http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Holoprojector#Holoprojector_L1_and_Fireteam_Example:) that make me think this is possible, but I am still a bit confused.

    Bonus question: what happens to the Triad when Kotail exposes himself or enters a Null state? Does it break completely or continues to exist as a Duo?

    EDIT: Got this answered. I was confused because the Wiki example mentioned a Hafza joining a Core team of Janissaries. I was looking at her vanilla profile which doesn't have the Fireteam skill and thought Kotails could do the same. Sadly, they cannot.
     
    #22 n21lv, Apr 2, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2018
  3. meikyoushisui

    meikyoushisui Competitor for Most Ignored User

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    1,666
    Not sure I like this example since it's the only case in the game where the base profile has Haris yet still can't form a Haris with itself due to Sectorial Army List restrictions. It should be labeled "Fireteam: Haris (Xeodrons)" on their profile.
     
  4. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,054
    Likes Received:
    10,289
    Erm, that's exactly why I used it as an example - the Haris Special Skill by itself is not enough to be able to form a Haris, you also have to follow the Sectorial list.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  5. psychoticstorm

    psychoticstorm Aleph's rogue child
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    5,734
  6. BingBong

    BingBong VanCity Daddio
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    149
    So following this logic, in StarCo you can have an all-riot grrrl haris link, but not core as u need one of the characters. The fireteam options are listed as "Haris, special" and under the special rules there are rules for a special Haris and a special core.
    You can also run an all brigada core team but only up to the max AVA of 4. To get 5 members you need a character, but losing that character doesn't negate reforming the link, as they have "core" as a fireteam option.

    ...right?
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,054
    Likes Received:
    10,289
    All correct.
     
    chromedog and BingBong like this.
  8. psychoticstorm

    psychoticstorm Aleph's rogue child
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    5,734
    To get to full 5 member Mobile brigada core link you need 3 brigadas Senior Massacre and a dactari, you cannot form that link team otherwise if massacre or daktari dies and the link breaks it cannot reform to 3+1 of the survivors you can form a 3 member core team though.
     
  9. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    1,303
    Or if you have a spare Mobile Brigada you can link him in with your remaining 3 to make a 4 man Mobile Brigada Fireteam:Core (since they are AVA 4, and have Core as well as Special Fireteams). At which point you wouldn't be able to include whichever unit had survived between the Daktari or Massacre, it would just be regular Mobile Brigada Fireteam at that point.

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/List_of_Fireteams#StarCo
     
  10. psychoticstorm

    psychoticstorm Aleph's rogue child
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    5,734
    Yes, if you include a spare MB that can be done.
     
  11. spears

    spears Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    351
    I'm sure I saw an answer for this but cant find it.
    Does teampro allow you to form a bounty hunter fireteam duo in Ikari co?
     
  12. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    508
    teampro allows vanilla faction (with no access to fireteam) to still get a Duo. Ikari is a sectorial, not a vanilla faction, and its list of fireteam is already defined. TeamPro is not needed to form Duo in ikari, and doesn't grant ikari additional Duo options. But it does allow fireteam to last a bit longer with its other effect.
     
    chromedog, xagroth and Mahtamori like this.
  13. spears

    spears Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    351
    So is the follow on that duo on the bounty hunter here is a typo/unuseable.
     
  14. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    508
    yes it is unusable in Ikari. the Regular Order variant of ABH were given to ISS where they were allowed to form a Duo type fireteam, and they had the skill because you need at least one fireteam member with the skill. As mentioned in the summary, Duo is both a type and a skill. In Ikari it looks like they kept the Duo skill from their existence in ISS. The Ikary list doesn't allow them to form the Duo type fireteam and TeamPro rule is for generic armies only :
    Moreover, TeamPro allows the use of Fireteam: Duo in Generic Armies.
     
  15. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    7,269
    I'm assuming the three CSU Duo is intended to be StarCo only for the same reasons? They have the skill in ISS & NCA but they're not on the sectorial chart
     
  16. DFW Ike

    DFW Ike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    218
    So, is this a rule change that is overwriting the Wiki as well as Infinity Army?

    Its not a confusing reminder if they can NEVER form a Fireteam in that list: both the Wiki and army are flat out wrong. Army already hides the Fireteam skills in some armies but not others, so it is easily implied that they can use the skill. CB's contractor needs to update these entries to hide this skill when its not applicable.

    Someone else ALSO needs update the Fireteam: Duo page on the Wiki to match this ruling. Currently it just states that you just need to be part of a Sectorial Army List, and the "List of fire teams" page is never mentioned on that rule, or the Sectorial Army List page which is linked. A player who has never seen this thread cannot follow this ruling since it contradicts both the Wiki and Army.

    I have no idea how we're supposed to notify CB about this critical issue.
     
  17. Space Ranger

    Space Ranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    1,951
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Can anyone tell me if CSU can Fireteam: Duo in ISS? according to the PDF, CSU are not even in the sectoral let alone a fireteam. They are also not showing a Duo in Neoterra.
     
  18. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    1,303
    Yes, CSU options for Army vs Wiki vs PDF seem to be out of synch.
     
  19. GeraldIstar

    GeraldIstar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    For Tunguska:
    Is it valid fireteam with securitate+grenzer+ 1 interventor? I'm sure that not, but some other players think different.
     
  20. Brother Smoke

    Brother Smoke Contractor for Bureau Aegis

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    935
    It's not, an interventor can join a grenzer fireteam, but having a securitate in there means the link is a securitate one, not a grenzer one
     
    ijw likes this.