1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Forming Fireteams: a Summary

Discussion in 'Rules' started by ijw, Mar 26, 2018.

  1. ev0k

    ev0k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    440
    Can the rudras totally replace yadus in a yadu FT so tgat the FT still remains a Yadu FT with actually no yadus (as a general example, not presuming this kind of ft really exist)
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    9,307
    Yes
     
    ev0k likes this.
  3. ev0k

    ev0k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    440
    Thx
    Just to be clear i assume here that rudras are "can join a yadu ft" and not "count as yadus for ft composition". Is the above mentioned ft still correct ?
     
  4. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    9,307
    There's no real difference between those two things
     
  5. ev0k

    ev0k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    440
    So if i have Troop X "can join FT of troop Y", i can make a troop Y FT with 100% troop X, because it's basically the same thing as "counting as troop Y for ft composition" ?
    (Sorry to insist but we have a big discussion about that on the french forum)
     
  6. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,362
    Likes Received:
    10,840
    As long as it doesn't list a limit (like the Invincible Army where it's one of each per Fireteam), yes.
     
    inane.imp and ev0k like this.
  7. EvilJester

    EvilJester New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    So would this is a valid Fireteam: CORE in Dahshat?

    Dahshat Company
    ──────────────────────────────────────────────────

    [​IMG]5
    BOUNTY HUNTER Submachine Gun, Akrylat-Kanone / Breaker Pistol, Knife. (0 | 12)
    BOUNTY HUNTER Submachine Gun, Akrylat-Kanone / Breaker Pistol, Knife. (0 | 12)
    BOUNTY HUNTER Submachine Gun, Akrylat-Kanone / Breaker Pistol, Knife. (0 | 12)
    BOUNTY HUNTER Submachine Gun, Akrylat-Kanone / Breaker Pistol, Knife. (0 | 12)
    RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1.5 | 20)

    1.5 SWC | 68 Points

    Open in Infinity Army

    Can 4 Wildcard Bounty Hunters count as a Zuyong Invincible Fireteam: CORE to allow the Rui Shi to join the Fireteam as well? Or do I need to have at least 1 Zuyong Invincible?
     
    AdmiralJCJF likes this.
  8. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    9,307
    You've got 5 troopers who can all legally join a Zhuyong Core, so that's a valid Fireteam.
     
    ev0k and EvilJester like this.
  9. ev0k

    ev0k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    440
    Thx for your clear answer
     
  10. Antares

    Antares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    182
    That's poorly written rules if you ask me. Without looking here, I'd never ever think of this as a legal link because "join" is not "count as" in my book and I thought I need at least 1 Zuyong to have the Core as described in the sectorial chart. There should be a description of how Wildcard works in the new rules pdf imo cause I'm really struggling to understand why bounty hunters can now form a link without either having Fireteam Core mentioned in the chart or counting as Zuyong for fireteam purposes. I think people will get this wrong more often than not.

    Ijw said it was a translation error in 3rd Offensive, so they made the same mistake in Daedalus, too?
     
  11. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,362
    Likes Received:
    10,840
    The Daedalus' Falls charts all use the correct 'can be part of' wording, instead of 'can join'.
     
    volgo and colbrook like this.
  12. emperorsaistone

    emperorsaistone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    586
    About forming Duos in an Generic Army...can only models from the same unit link or would fireteam options from their respective Sectorials be valid too?

    If it has to be the same unit, could a Namurr link with a Ghulam, because she counts as a Ghulam for Fireteams?
     
  13. Antares

    Antares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    182
    Maybe my english isn't good enough to get this right but in the pdf I'm looking at it says "join" instead of "can be part of" (at least for Dashat), but both mean the same anyway which is "count as"? Really sorry for my confusion here, but if someone asks me why my Rui-Shi + 4x ABH Core is a legal Fireteam if it's not clearly written in the rules, telling him "look it up, someone said it in the forums!" is not a valid argument in my gaming group.
     
    Space Ranger and EvilJester like this.
  14. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    9,307
    When you form a Fireteam you nominate a leader then decide who is joining the chosen type of Fireteam.

    1) There is no stipulation that the leader needs to be of the base troop type
    2) There is no stipulation you must have a minimum of one baseline trooper in a Fireteam.

    So forming a Zhuyong Fireteam in Dashat can go like this:

    "I'm forming a Zhuyong Fireteam: Core, this ABH will be the leader and these 3 ABHs and this Rui Shi will join him"

    You then check coherency and that all members are eligible to join/be part of the Fireteam.
     
    #194 colbrook, Mar 29, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2019
  15. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    9,307
    Only the same troop type, Special Duos and Wildcards are unique to their Sectorials.
     
    DukeofEarl likes this.
  16. emperorsaistone

    emperorsaistone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    586
    Meh...so no Duo for Namurr...
     
  17. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    9,307
    Not unless you're playing a campaign and they kept the ability to increase AVA.
     
  18. Antares

    Antares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    182
    Thanks for explaining, my discontent about the official wording stays, though.
    From the wiki:

    - A Fireteam can only be composed of those troopers where it is indicated that they are able to compose Fireteams.

    In the sectorial chart it is indicated that Zuyong can compose a Fireteam: Core, whereas ABHs can "only" join any Fireteam in the sectorial. Now that I know that this weighs out to be practically the same and ABHs can also compose a Fireteam pretending to be Zuyong, okay, whatever.

    But why so complicated, CB?

    Edit: I should take screenshots of this thread just to make sure ppl believe me when the discussion arises (and it will)
     
  19. Ceilican

    Ceilican Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    220
    I'm trying to get my head around Wildcard still. Wildcard will let you "count as" any troop for the purpose of forming a fireteam, but doesn't grant any fireteam skills, right? So, someone in the team will still need to have the "Duo" or "Haris" skill, right?

    So, in QK we can make a Duo of Shaytaniya and Azrail. An Odalisque can replace the Azrail, and it's legal because the remote has the Duo Skill, but the Odalisque cannot replace the Remote because then nobody has the Duo Skill, right?
     
  20. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,362
    Likes Received:
    10,840
    Correct.
     
    Xeurian likes this.