1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Fireteam ARO

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Gunmage, Jan 27, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Gunmage

    Gunmage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    255
    Once again my local gaming group has a disagreement on how to interpret the rules. This time, it is about Fireteam AROs.

    The point in question is this:
    As far as we know (English is not our native language), the use of the word "must" (as in, you have to take the action unless it is for some reason impossible) implies that you declare only one single skill for all Fireteam members. But then the rules make a reference to what happens if you don't declare the same ARO with some Fireteam members (the ones declaring a different ARO get kicked off the Fireteam). Thus there are two viewpoints in our group: one, that if anyone in Fireteam declares an ARO, then all other members have to either declare the same skill or no ARO at all, and the other - that that you can intentionally declare different AROs with Fireteam members with minority leaving the Fireteam (because otherwise why would there be rules for dealing with different ARO in fireteam, since you can always just declare no ARO at all). What's the right way?
     
  2. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    4,206
    Likes Received:
    4,926
    The second.

    All members must declare the same ARO or they cease being members of the Fireteam.
     
  3. Gunmage

    Gunmage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    255
    So they can declare different AROs, correct?
     
  4. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    4,206
    Likes Received:
    4,926
    Yes, in doing so they cease being a member of the Fireteam and therefore aren’t bound by Fireteam restrictions anymore.

    Note, that provided that the Fireteam doesn’t break they automatically rejoin it at the start of your active.
     
    Gunmage likes this.
  5. Wolf

    Wolf https://watchwolf.net

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    There are a few points still obviously missing from this info, such as whether or not the different ARO.s also get the Fireteam bonus to Burst, etc. can you fill in whatever further points might be relevant, thanks?
     
  6. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,372
    Likes Received:
    10,860
    See http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Fireteam_Integrity

    In any of the above cases, the trooper stops being part of the Fireteam the moment the Order is declared, or when the case says. Consequently:
    • In the Active Turn, that trooper is not activated by the Fireteam's Order, so is considered inactive for ARO purposes.
    • In the Reactive Turn, that trooper is not is not able to benefit from the advantages of being in a Fireteam.
    All Fireteam bonuses will be based on who is left in the Fireteam. Anyone declaring a different ARO will therefore not get any of the bonuses.
     
    Wolf likes this.
  7. Wolf

    Wolf https://watchwolf.net

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    ^ good answers, thanks :smile: