1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

FAQ 1.7 online

Discussion in 'News' started by Ben Kenobi, Jul 11, 2019.

  1. Ben Kenobi

    Ben Kenobi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    1,272
  2. ThananRollice

    ThananRollice Your Friendly Neighborhood Locust

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    RIP Patsy + Kamau HMG + Varuna Div. Machinist link
     
    Zewrath and A Mão Esquerda like this.
  3. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    6,019
    Likes Received:
    9,445
    Showed up sooner than I expected!

    Edit: Also, I thought we were on FAQ1.4, but this is FAQ v1.7?



    Now, on to some commentary:

    Can Special Lieutenant Orders be used by anyone other than the trooper who generated them in the Order Count step of the Tactical Phase?
    • No, unless a rule specifies otherwise. For example, a trooper with NCO can use Lieutenant Orders without having generated them, but a trooper with Executive Order cannot use Lieutenant Orders that were generated by another trooper.
    Well, that is a little disappointing, but expected.


    If the Lieutenant is in a Null State and that Lieutenant has not spent his Special Lieutenant Order, can a trooper with NCO use that Special Lieutenant Order?
    • Yes. The NCO trooper can use the Special Lieutenant Order, considering it as another Regular Order of their Combat Group.
    Makes sense.


    How many times can a trooper activate the Stratuscloud state per game?
    • Once. Once the trooper’s Statuscloud state has been cancelled, that trooper cannot activate the state again.
    So if you have multiple Draal Saboteurs each one can pop a Stratuscloud. And found a typo (bold+italics).




    The Stratuscloud piece of Equipment is Disposable (1). If it is reloaded (for example via Baggage or a Panoply), can the trooper activate the Stratuscloud state again?
    • No. Once the trooper’s Statuscloud state has been cancelled, that trooper cannot activate the state again.
    If reloading serves no purpose, then why is Stratuscloud Disposable?!?


    Patsy Garnett
    • Patsy Garnett’s Fireteam notes change to:
      • Special Fireteam. Wildcard trooper: Patsy Garnett can join any Fireteam of this Sectorial Army. Patsy counts as an Orc Troop for Fireteam composition.
    I haz a sad now. Patsy+Kamau+Machinist was an absolute standard in my Varuna listbuilding!
     
    Berjiz, eciu, xagroth and 2 others like this.
  4. Brother Smoke

    Brother Smoke Bureau Trimurti Representative

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    My guess is because they originally wanted to simplify the "once and only once" thing but forgot about reloading :joy:
     
    eciu, xagroth, Abrilete and 1 other person like this.
  5. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    8,718
    Because if they put single use someone goes "Why no just give it Disposable (1) and forbid reloading."

    Also possibly they were taking a cue from X-Wing where some limited use items are reloadable, and some not, but all use the same mechanic for tracking uses.
     
  6. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    751
    I'm quite happy with this new FAQ. I've seen most of the latest hot questions in the Rules Forums solved there; even the ARM/BTS Normal roll of Total immunity made it! XDD

    So kudos for CB and the FAQ team
    [​IMG]
     
  7. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2,607
    I think another neat FAQ had the "Guts" rule amended so the Spanish version now mirrors the English version, despite how many people played the opposite
     
  8. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    751
    It's an odd design choice but it kind of make sense. The big problem with Stratuscloud was this cancelation clause:
    That literaly forbids any other activation from any other model in that army, the FAQ clarifies that really mean this:
    Now that is clear we have the disposable (1) thing.
    Here they had 2 choices:
    • Put Disposable (1) + Cancelation clause in the state: This is the fool proof approach, the unloaded state reminding the player he used the ability.
    • Don't put Disposable (1) + Cancelation clause: It's more congruent with the rules we have (every other disposable can be used again if reloaded), but it could lead to this: Didn't you activated Stratuscloud the last turn? I think I didn't. Are you sure?
    So I can see why they decided that. I mean, you can use a baggage bot to cancel the unload state and use the equipment again, but the cancelation clause will trigger and the state will fail to activate; so there is no point in doing that, and the unload marker will remind you that you have already used it.
     
  9. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    8,718
    It was exactly 3 months after the last one too, which is a great start at sticking to their own timetable.
     
    oldGregg, BLOODGOD, xagroth and 7 others like this.
  10. ChoTimberwolf

    ChoTimberwolf Artichoken Friend

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    396
    Spiral corp counts as human? Really? So neema is an alien in tohaa but a human in spiral got it
     
    oldGregg likes this.
  11. Marduck

    Marduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1,066
    Probably just mean you can duisguised as a human and not look out of place among them ...
     
  12. ChoTimberwolf

    ChoTimberwolf Artichoken Friend

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    396
    Actually means the kiiutan works differently between tohaa and spiral corps against all other fraction and is actually less efective in spiral against combined...
     
    LaughinGod likes this.
  13. ThananRollice

    ThananRollice Your Friendly Neighborhood Locust

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    I never picked up on the difference. Care to expand?
     
  14. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,281
    Likes Received:
    10,697
    The Spanish version let you turn to face if you passed the Guts Roll.
     
  15. ThananRollice

    ThananRollice Your Friendly Neighborhood Locust

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    Wow, so does that mean that if you are shot out of line of fire, you have to voluntarily fail your guts check to be able to spin to face?
     
  16. ThananRollice

    ThananRollice Your Friendly Neighborhood Locust

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    Also, can you confirm whether or not the Patsy + Kamau HMG + Varuna Div. Machinist link is now broken? I'd really appreciate it.
     
  17. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    8,718
    Kiiutan has Inferior Imp, so doesn't it work the same against aliens and humans?
     
    toadchild, Hecaton, Xeurian and 2 others like this.
  18. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    8,718
    It's gone, it would be an ORC Haris as per the errata so the Machinist can't join.
     
    ijw and A Mão Esquerda like this.
  19. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,281
    Likes Received:
    10,697
    You have to actually move, i.e. there has to be better Cover within 2". However if you didn't get an ARO or didn't declare one, the Warning! rule lets you automatically turn to face if you survive.
     
  20. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    270
    You can also pass a Change Facing as your ARO (if you're shot within 8)
    or
    You can pass a Dodge (if you were hit by a template)
    or
    Use the Warning rule if you did not declare an ARO (if you're shot out of 8)

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Change_Facing
    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Warning
     
    Xeurian, ThananRollice and ijw like this.