1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Facing of Model Breaking Camo in ARO

Discussion in 'Rules' started by fkaos, Jun 7, 2019.

  1. fkaos

    fkaos Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    30
    Had a game last night where I had a sniper as a TO camo token that was covering my opponent's Speculo. To deal with it he ran up a Dat on the other side of the sniper and I ARO'd to shoot. When I went to place my sniper I could not cover both the Dat and Speculo without facing away from the entire board.

    What i then wanted to do was to face the Speculo and leave the Dat behind me trusting that I would knock it out in this order, but is it legal to place my model without LoF to the Dat who caused my ARO?

    As I see it the arguements are:
    1. The camo token has 360 LoF, so saw the Dat at some point during the order so can shoot even if the deployed model's LoF does not cover the Dat.
    or
    2. Once the model is revealed it must have LoF to the enemy that generated the ARO (assuming it was an ARO that required LoF).
     
  2. Tom McTrouble

    Tom McTrouble Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    522
    The TO camo state is immediately cancelled as soon as you declare BS attack. You can place their facing however you want per the cancellation clause (even if is not facing the person that generated the ARO). However, the game then checks (after the cancellation of the state) whether BS attack was a legal declaration and if your model doesn't have LoF to anywhere the DAT was, it doesn't meet the requirements for that declaration and Idles instead.


     
    chromedog and toadchild like this.
  3. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    4,230
    If you want to shoot the Daturazi you need it to be in your front arc. If you just want to reveal the model, you do not have to face the model that generated the ARO.
     
    FatherKnowsBest likes this.
  4. fkaos

    fkaos Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    30
    I get where you are coming from, but do either of you have backup from the rules to say that the 360 LoF from being a camo token is retroactively canceled? Most things in this game only change at the end of an order, retroactive things are very rare.

    Or just something in the camo skill/state that says you have to deploy to have LoF to your target would work too?
     
    Wolf likes this.
  5. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,673
    Likes Received:
    6,427
    Revealing camo is explicitly one of those rare retroactive instances, rather than happening at the resolution step of the order.
     
    chromedog and Wolf like this.
  6. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    See the very last bullet point of both the Camouflaged and TO Camouflaged states cancellation lists:
    • The cancellation of the TO Camouflaged state is applied to the whole declared Order. So, if a Camouflaged trooper declares a Move + BS Attack Order, he will be considered discovered all along his Movement, even if the BS Attack would be performed at the end of that Movement.
    It’s calling out some of the active turn consequence because that’s the more interesting case, but it’s still relevant to the reactive player.
     
    Robock, chromedog and Wolf like this.