Please, save your nitpicking for some other discussion board and try reading the rules more thoughtfully instead. BS Attack in Infinity consists of BS Attack Declaration and its Resolution in the Effects step of the Order Expenditure Sequence. During the attack declaration you determine whether it will be a Face to Face roll or not. Any effects of any special ammo involved in the attack are only checked in the Effects step of the Order Expenditure Sequence. Since you don't know the outcome of the Attack before rolls are made and you apply all MODs (including FtF MODs from Smoke, C&H etc.) in the Resolution step of the Order Expenditure Sequence, 'Affected by an Attack' can only mean one thing.