1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Event ITS X differences in scoring between English/Spanish

Discussion in 'ITS' started by Wizzy, May 3, 2019.

  1. Wizzy

    Wizzy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hello the Sphere :grinning:

    My questions concerns the narrative event ITS X Pdf (and maybe the Season 10 ITS Rules pdf, depending on the answer to question 1) https://assets.infinitythegame.net/...xenotech/en/v1.0/narrative_event_xenotech.pdf

    I am not a Spanish or English native speaker, except if there are nuances of language that I do not understand, but in translating into French (In reading the other thread, I checked this pdf), (perhaps) I have found these differences :


    1/ canceled

    2
    / Chapter 2, p8 (v.eng), Concerning the Rule: Xenotech, Effects.
    In the Spanish version adds the following a fifth Effect:
    "-Al final de la Orden en la que el Xenotech ha situado con éxito el Marcador de Multiscanner de manera automática éste sustituye su opción (Civil) por la opción (Operativo Especialista). Igualmente, se cancela automáticamente el estado Sincronizado."

    Wich Translates to:
    "-At the end of the Order in which the Xenotech has successfully placed the Multi scanner Marker, it automatically replaces his option (Civil) with the option (Specialist Operative). Likewise, the Synchronized status is automatically cancelled."

    In English version, not written in the pdf, p8

    I think it's an oblivion in English version, right ?


    3/ canceled


    4/ Chapter 3, p10 (v.eng), Concerning the Rule: Hack Xenoantenna.

    In the Spanish version, there is a difference on the 3rd effect of this rule, in the Spanish reads:
    "Un jugador puede Hackear una XenoAntena que haya sido Hackeadapreviamente por su adversario, empleando el mismo procedimiento. En ese caso, deja de contar como Hackeada para el enemigo."

    Which translates to:
    " A Hacked Xenoantenna can be Hacked again by the other player, applying the same procedure. In such a situation, the Xenoantenna.no longer considered to be Hacked by the adversary."

    While the English version pdf of this event only reads:
    "A Hacked XenoAntenna can be Hacked again by the other player, applying the same procedure."

    In result, the English version suggests a rule as for the FrostByte ITS mission, p38, where both players can connect the same console. over-interpretation ? Is the Spanish version is ok or the English version is ok ?


    What do you think? Thanks :-)
     
    #1 Wizzy, May 3, 2019
    Last edited: May 6, 2019
    RobertShepherd likes this.
  2. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    4,880
    well for the first one, how do you propose a xenotech not in civevac state even declares a skill?

    also, could you add the translations, its hard to figure out where the lack of overlap is if you are just stating the 2 rules in their native texts
     
    #2 daboarder, May 3, 2019
    Last edited: May 3, 2019
    chromedog and RobertShepherd like this.
  3. Wizzy

    Wizzy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi,

    I have rewritten below, the text of the rule concerned (and others questions also, in first message), but I think we will cancel this questions 1/3.

    The sense of my question was not about Civevac, but more about the clarity. My fault. The Spanish version is more precise, I find, and avoid for a beginner to want to place the multiscanner at less than 4", to declare iddle after.

    1/ Chapter 1, p5 (v.eng), Rule: Place Multiscanner (also valid in ITS X Rules pdf).
    The English pdf reads:
    PLACE MULTISCANNER
    REQUIREMENTS
    Only Xenotechs in CivEvac state can declare this Skill.

    The Spanish pdf reads:
    SITUAR MULTISCANNER
    REQUISITOS
    » Sólo los Xenotechs pueden declarar esta Habilidad.
    » El Xenotech debe encontrarse a un mínimo de 10 cm de su Zona de Despliegue.

    Which google translates to:
    PLACE MULTISCANNER
    REQUIREMENTS
    Only Xenotechs state can declare this Skill.
    The Xenotech must be at least 4" from its Deployment Area

    For the sake of clarity (The Spanish version seems more precise to me), I think the rule should be written like that:
    PLACE MULTISCANNER
    REQUIREMENTS
    Only Xenotechs in CivEvac state can declare this Skill.
    The Xenotech must be at least 4" from its Deployment Area
     
    daboarder likes this.
  4. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    4,880
    @HellLois can you look into this? That change into a specialist profile in particular is fairly significant