1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Dodge

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Aikas, Dec 8, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Aikas

    Aikas New Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys, just a quick question because we start arguing with players from another zone that use Dodge different as us:

    First active half order: move
    ARO: dodge
    Second active half order: move
    Dodge ARO can be done still or is wasted because is not a face to face roll?
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,720
    Likes Received:
    9,608
    You can Dodge against non-attacks. It's in the FAQ.

    N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
    Q: Can you declare a Dodge ARO even if the Order generating that reaction does not include an Attack?
    A: Yes.
    Related Pages: Dodge, ARO
     
    chromedog and Xeurian like this.
  3. Papa Bey

    Papa Bey Clueless Wonder. Still.

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    562
    Otherwise, how could you ever use Dodge?
     
    Xeurian likes this.
  4. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    488
    This is not what @Aikas asked though.

    What they’re asking is if the Dodge ends up not being a FtF roll, do you still proceed with the resolution of the skill.

    There is no mentions of Normal Roll in the description of dodge. However, the reason why you still proceed with the skill is explained in.

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Face_to_Face_Rolls

    You can see on this page, in the red box, the following text.

    "For actions to be resolved with a Face to Face Roll, both troops must affect each other directly. If either action does not affect the outcome of the other, use Normal Rolls instead."

    So you will proceed with your Dodge (even if it is not a FtF roll) and move 2 inches (plus kinematica) if you succeed.
     
    n21lv, Aikas and chromedog like this.
  5. Aikas

    Aikas New Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much!
     
  6. Tartaron

    Tartaron New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The rule is very clear about it.
    » Allows the user to make a Face to Face Roll to evade one or more simultaneous enemy Attacks.

    If there is no attack there is no dodge.
    Or else it would be a way to get a free move during reactive turn when a mini is not targeted
     
  7. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    488
    But you -can- dodge even without being the target of an attack, and you -can- use it to get a free move in the reactive turn.

    You do not need to be the target of an attack to declare a Dodge.
     
  8. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,617
    Likes Received:
    10,263
    As quoted above:

    N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
    Q: Can you declare a Dodge ARO even if the Order generating that reaction does not include an Attack?
    A: Yes.
     
    chromedog, Xeurian and Diphoration like this.
  9. Tartaron

    Tartaron New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you can declare a dodge, but the moment that mini is not selected as target it becomes null so you don't dodge
     
  10. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    488
    Could you point out where in the rule it says that a skill is cancelled if the target becomes null? What does that even mean? If you can declare a skill without being the target of an attack, you can execute the same skill with the same conditions.

    Let me requote this for you:
    "For actions to be resolved with a Face to Face Roll, both troops must affect each other directly. If either action does not affect the outcome of the other, use Normal Rolls instead."
    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Face_to_Face_Rolls

    - - - - -

    Change Facing works in a similar way, the skill would not make any sense if you couldn't do it without being the target of an attack as the purpose of the skill is to turn around to face the potential danger.

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Change_Facing

    - - - - -

    If we go by your logic, you could move around behind people without ever getting them to turn around and face you.
     
    Florian Hanke and chromedog like this.
  11. Tartaron

    Tartaron New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly, just as you quote
    Let me requote this for you:
    "For actions to be resolved with a Face to Face Roll, both troops must affect each other directly. If either action does not affect the outcome of the other, use Normal Rolls instead."

    Both troops must affect each other.

    What happens is this:

    Player A in active turn declares a move
    Player B declares dodge with figure 1 and shoot with figure 2
    Player A declares he shoots figure 2 ignoring figure 1
    As figure 1 is not affected by the attack he doesn't get to make a face to face roll so the dodge won't happen
     
  12. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    488
    "use Normal Rolls instead"

    So instead of rolling a Face to Face, you roll a Normal Rolls.

    A Normal Roll is simply a Roll that compared with the adequate stats. In this case, your PH.

    If you succeed your Normal Roll, you succeed your Dodge.

    You then get to move 2 inches in the case of Dodge.

    Or turn around in the case of Change Facing.
     
  13. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    1,414
    @Tartaron I think there’s a very important point that you’re missing:
    • The Dodge skill text is terribly written. When N3 came out, the arguments it caused were a mess. :(
    • No attack is required to declare or resolve a Dodge
    • When a trooper declare Dodge, that roll opposes any attacks against the trooper. As they try to demonstrate in the dodge examples, that roll can be against attacks that roll or attacks that don’t roll dice. For example, ARO Dodge in the trigger area of a mine is a PH-3 normal roll vs. the mine.
    And, yes, really, for ever (1st through N3, and undoubtedly continuing into N4), ARO Dodge when you can see the active trooper and it’s not shooting you has been free movement if you pass your Dodge roll.