1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Do I have to answer honestly to what can link with what in the army?

Discussion in 'Spiral Corps' started by 8vius, Oct 22, 2019.

  1. 8vius

    8vius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    14
    Let's say I have a Taagma MSV2 linked with Chaksas and I project it as an HMG Chaksa, if my oponent asks if that's actually linkable to I have to answer honestly??
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    9,977
    Yes, if only to save the opponent time looking it up in the Wiki.
     
    Abrilete and Hecaton like this.
  3. Papa Bey

    Papa Bey Clueless Wonder. Still.

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    536
    Q: "Which one is the fire team leader?"

    A: ???
     
  4. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    5,082
    If there's holoprojector shenanigans, you should tell them what the rules are for the troop you are pretending to be, including if you appear to be violating them.
     
    Wyrmnax, Berjiz and meikyoushisui like this.
  5. 8vius

    8vius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hmmm gotcha, I debate about this, specially in tournament settings, like, if they don't directly ask what would give it away should I tell them? Because it's quite easy sometimes to spot a holoprojector.
     
  6. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    4,780
    Depends on what it is. The big one you have to reveal is hackability/presence of a hacking device.
     
  7. 8vius

    8vius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    14
    Main issue in this case would be the linkable aspect since that is what would give it away considering Taagma's aren't hackable.
     
  8. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    5,082
    This was a lot easier before they added a bunch of additional special cases to all the fireteam rules. It's a lot harder to just know all of them for all armies now.
     
  9. 8vius

    8vius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    14
    Indeed, but if they directly ask there's no choice but to answer. Thanks for the insight, guys!
     
    toadchild likes this.
  10. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,734
    Likes Received:
    4,654
    Is he linked? If yes, the you say "it is linked", remember that being part of a fireteam can't be hidden in any way.
    If not... you answer "chackas don't link, man", because the rules, gear, skills, etc... of a troop under Holoprojector 1 state is private information.

    Now, if the Taagma is disguised as something that does not link, but it's linked, well... shame on you for choosing a poor disguise. The courtesy list lists if a troop can link or not, so if your Taagma is linked, and disguised as a troop that cannot be part of that fireteam... you blew it up before starting the holo shenanigans, so yeah, your saying "this is a linked chaksa" and then follow with "chaksas don't link" makes it pretty obvious that is a disguised guy XD
     
  11. clever handle

    clever handle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    165
    but is it a MSV2 VSR or is it just a 16 point LT / decoy hiding up there? Just because your opponent "knows" one of the three chaksa with flame throwers isn't a chaksa with flame throwers doesn't mean that you've tipped your hand. Expecting to win because you've tricked someone who doesn't have the experience to know better is, well, not a reliable strategy if you hope to be a competitive player...
     
    Abrilete likes this.
  12. Sangarn

    Sangarn TRIUMcorp CEO
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    1,050
    hackability/presence of a hacking device is open info ?
    I thought that this info where revealed only if my opponent does an hacking atk on the model

    EDIT: "However, in Holoprojector L1 state the Hackable Characteristic is considered Open Information when the trooper is inside the Hacking Area of an enemy."
    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Holoprojector#Holoprojector_L1

    so it's not open info.
     
    Nuada Airgetlam likes this.
  13. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    4,780
    Read what you just typed again.
     
  14. Sangarn

    Sangarn TRIUMcorp CEO
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    1,050
    you miss the "EDIT" part it seems ^^
    anyway you don't have to reveal the hacking device unlike what you've said in your earlier post just to clarified
     
  15. SpectralOwl

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    From the wiki, Holoprojector page:
    Q: How do Holoprojectors interact with Hacking?
    A: In Holoprojector L1 state the Hackable Characteristic and any Hacking Devices the trooper has are considered Open Information when the trooper is inside the opponent’s Hacking Area
     
  16. Armihaul

    Armihaul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    645
    about the fireteams info, the info you can tell the enemy should be the same that he could get when checking army and the fireteam list in the wiki. But not forced to point out which miniatures (especially if there are holloed ones), but in a more overall way
     
  17. Aemaru

    Aemaru Well-Known Member
    Aristeia! Warcor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    140
    During deploiement when you field 2 chaksa aux + 1 hmg neuro (tagma). You have two choices :

    - making a fireteam then you have to declare the presence of the fireteam and who is the team leader. But you can declare this at the end of the deploiement and maybe your opponent will have made his deploiement considering the hmg chaksa and not the obvious tagma.

    - not making the fireteam to fool your opponent and then you have nothing else to say : are they linkable ? looking at army the only one linkable are the auxilliar chaksa with the right profil. Did you chose it : yes. but they are not yet in a fireteam. your tagma could be an other trooper not far.