1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Disengage and Maximus

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Roadrunner7431, Dec 24, 2017.

  1. Roadrunner7431

    Roadrunner7431 Well-Known Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    354
    I understand that Maximus has an Agility of a Critical Success. I believe this means that the only way that an Enemy Character could prevent Maximus from disengaging would be to roll a Critical Block which is only available on a green die. The only Character in the Core Set with a Brawn containing a green die is Maximus himself, so if I am correct, the only Enemy Character that could prevent the disengagement would be another Maximus which is possible if your opponent also plays Maximus from his own Core Set. Please correct me if I am wrong.
    In addition, there are three Characters that have switches that allow them to displace themselves. They are Gata, 8-Ball and Hexxer in increasing probability of getting a switch on the basic dice rolls of their Brawn. If I am correct they could activate their switches to displace themselves into an adjacent space to block an anticipated move from Maximus. Also the player activating Maximus does not have to declare the direction of their anticipated move before the Disengage roll but if successful they most move at least one space. Again please correct me if I am wrong. I continue to be fascinated by this elegant game.
     
    precinctomega likes this.
  2. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2,022
    You are 100% right.

    Thank you for playing Aristeia! We are very pleased you like so much.

    :wink:
     
  3. Demandred

    Demandred New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    During the game, the question arose: Can the Miyamoto tactic card "SORA-DO" (Nullify one of the opponents`s dice) cancel the Critical Success of Maximus agility?
     
  4. Roadrunner7431

    Roadrunner7431 Well-Known Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    354
    Under the "Frequently Asked Questions" section of the Reference Guide it states that a Critical Block result on a green die can nullify the Critical Success of Maximus' agility and that the automatic results count as one die. So along that line of thinking I would allow a Tactic card that nullifies one of the opponent's dice to cancel the Critical Success of Maximus. Also it seems in keeping with the designer's intent that Tactics cards should produce powerful and sometimes unexpected results. Of course, if the Maximus player produced a "NO!" Tactics card then Maximus could proceed.
     
    -V- likes this.
  5. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2,022