1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Designated Target missions and harming HVT

Discussion in 'ITS' started by Mahtamori, Sep 4, 2018.

  1. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4,885
    Likes Received:
    9,942
    Let's remind ourselves of the context here:
    We're talking about intentionally taking an action with the sole purpose of harming the HVT.
     
  2. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,739
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Who spent the Order causing the harm? You cause the harm, you auto-lose, including Objective Points, as quoted upthread.
     
  3. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,166
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    What about if you merely misjudge a jump length?
     
  4. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,739
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Did you spend the Order? Did your action cause the Civilian to enter a Null state? If so, you’ve auto-lost.
     
  5. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,166
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Read the comment I was replying to again. Your comment isn't applicable.
     
  6. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,739
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    It is, because, regardless of intention or purpose, you’ve caused a Civilian to enter a Null state, and auto-lost. The rule text says nothing of intent or thought behind how the Civilian entered a Null state, merely that one of the players has caused it. Barring (as noted in the rule text) a scenario special rule allowing harm to a Civilian, causing one to enter a Null state is an auto-loss.
     
  7. Alphz

    Alphz Kuang Shi Vet. Retired.

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    I don't think there is a single action in the game which is mandatory AND would cause harm to the hvt. As the player you could always choose to not do an action
     
  8. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,739
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Exactly. If a Civilian (outside of scenario specific special rules) has entered a Null state, you’ve worked hard to make it happen.
     
    Cry of the Wind likes this.
  9. psychoticstorm

    psychoticstorm Aleph's rogue child
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    5,681
    The answers have already been given, don't play dangerous with your HVT, or if you want to take massive gambles, prepare to win or loose big.
     
    A Mão Esquerda and xagroth like this.
  10. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,166
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    No it isn't, because @ijw said the action was taken with the "sole purpose of harming the HVT." That's not necessarily the case.
     
  11. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,739
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Well, the rules care not a whit about the intention behind it, only that it occurred. So, harm/cause to enter a Null state the HVT, auto-lose, including all of your OPs, and two bonus OPs your opponent. Simple as that.
     
  12. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,166
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    The game doesn't define "cause" in this context. If your datatracker synchs the enemy DT and then makes him jump, did your Datatracker "cause" him to die? I think not.
     
  13. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,739
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    How not? Did you expend the Order? Was it your action that caused the harm? The answer to that question is a resounding "yes". Your trooper synced the DT, you expended the Order on the synced DT, and it entered a Null state. EDIT: Again, simple consequences when it's the HVT: auto-lose, including all of your OPs, and bonus of two OPs to your opponent.
     
  14. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,166
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    The game doesn't define "cause" sufficiently for this purpose.
     
  15. n21lv

    n21lv SymbioHate

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    609
    @Hecaton, let me guess, you play Azorius in MTG?
     
  16. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,166
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Honestly my favorite decks were Sligh or mono-red aggro.