1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Delayed ARO declaration

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Gunmage, Oct 12, 2018.

  1. Gunmage

    Gunmage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    255
    Our community isn't fluent in English, so we have a problem interpreting this FAQ:
    There are two positions:
    1) Since there is a definite article before "ARO", you have to choose which action you are delaying when you declare a delay, i.e. "This trooper delays a BS Attack" or "This trooper delays a Dodge";
    2) You can choose whether you are Dodging or Shooting if/when the marker de-camoes, the "obligatory" part only refers to the fact that if you are delaying, then you must indicate that fact to the opponent at the moment you get this opportunity; i.e. "This trooper delays an action", and then after decamouing of the target "Now he does BS Attack".

    Which one is right?
     
    pakohbadajoz likes this.
  2. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    10,755
    Option 2. You have to say that you are delaying your ARO, but not what the ARO would be.
     
  3. pakohbadajoz

    pakohbadajoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    67
    You never HAVE TO do an ARO.
    You CAN do an ARO IF YOU WANT (and other requirements: LoF, ZoC...).
    You CAN delay your aro IF YOU WANT (and other requirements: SixthSense in ZoC, vs a Camo...).

    ...
    And that FAQ means: "IF you WANT DELAY your aro (in same situation other troops could do it) you must say it.


    I.e.
    - Camo "A" moves in LoF with Camo "B",
    -Camo B delay its ARO (optional).

    01
    -Camo A reveals itself, Camo B can do "all" possibles AROs.
    02
    -Camo A moves again, Camo B loses its ARO.
    <br>Una ranita iba caminando...


    Ps. Sorry my fail.
     
    #3 pakohbadajoz, Oct 12, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018
    Urobros likes this.
  4. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    10,755
    Wrong FAQ...
     
    pakohbadajoz likes this.
  5. Shverter

    Shverter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    FAQ says:
    Q: Is it obligatory to declare that the ARO is delayed when waiting for the second Skill when a troop in Camouflage or Impersonation State is activated?
    A: Yes, it is obligatory.

    So accoring to the information in the original question one needs to specify which ARO he/she is delaying, if we take into consideration the definite article, is it important or not?
     
  6. pakohbadajoz

    pakohbadajoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    67
    +1.

    <br>Una ranita iba caminando...
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    10,755
    No. The definite article in this case is referring to the concept of the ARO as a whole, not to a specific Skill being declared.

    The FAQ is directly related to this:
    • Bear in mind that when reacting to a CH: Camouflage or CH: TO Camouflage Marker, you may delay your ARO declaration until after the Marker declares its second Short Skill.
    And just means that you have to actively say if a trooper is delaying, rather than waiting for the marker to reveal itself and then surprising your opponent with an unexpected ARO.
     
    Urobros and Gunmage like this.
  8. Shverter

    Shverter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I understand and agree.
    My only question is why "the ARO" and not "an ARO"?
     
  9. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    1,758
    Because you have just the one?
     
    inane.imp and ijw like this.
  10. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    10,755
    Indeed. A trooper only has one ARO, so that is 'the ARO' that is being delayed.
     
    inane.imp and chromedog like this.
  11. Shverter

    Shverter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
  12. MindwormGames

    MindwormGames Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    281
    And just to clarify (not that I can imagine a common situation in which you would do this):

    When you delay your ARO, you are delaying your DECLARATION of an ARO, so you can still choose not to declare an ARO even if the marker reveals itself with its second short skill.

    Is that correct?
     
  13. Alphz

    Alphz Kuang Shi Vet. Retired.

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    2,168
    Yep, do nothing is a valid choice even after delaying.
     
    chromedog likes this.